Just a Really Fun Day

I haven’t done so well at completing the fun activities from my Christmas bucket list…  🙂

Although we did put up a lovely Christmas tree, have been watching countless Christmas movies, wrapped the gifts, and are always listening to Christmas music.  Soooo, there you go, maybe I’m not doing so badly after all!  And I haven’t given up yet when it comes to a few of the other ideas, as Christmas isn’t until Thursday… which means I still have two full days to cram in a bunch of holiday-ish moments.

And I’ll bet that one can fit in quite a few of such moments in two full days if they really set their mind to it! 

(Oh, and can you believe that my baby Brady will be a whole month old on Christmas Day???  I know, time is just flying by)!

Anyway, I’d say that today was a really good start to my holiday week!  Brady had a rough night but settled in around 6:30am, when Nate gently took him out of his swing and let him sleep on his chest.  I decided to take advantage of the free time, while my two favorite guys chillaxed in bed, and hopped into the shower.

By 9am, I had showered, dressed, did my makeup and hair, wrapped the Christmas presents, and painted my toes.  I felt so empowered, because it has been weeks since I had been so productive in such a short amount of time.  I am woman, hear me roar!  

I even had a little bit of extra time to enjoy a bowl of steaming oatmeal and to browse my Food Network magazine.

This has probably been the biggest adjustment for me since becoming a mom…  The slowing down.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m still quite busy and have very little free time.  But still, I’m used to a fast-paced, hectic schedule that sends me all over the map and leaves me multi-tasking to the best of my ability.  Since having Brady, I spend my days at home nursing him, changing diapers, and watching daytime television while he cuddles in my arms.  (My current faves are The Price is Right, House Hunters, and Ellen).  🙂 

I almost had to give myself permission to spend that time sitting on the couch and cradling my little guy (without feeling guilty), when I was so used to running around like a chicken without a head.

So I did.  I did give myself permission!  🙂  I’ll be back to working part-time soon enough, and Brady will be running around the house before I know it too.  For these first few weeks, I’m okay with spending so much quality time at home resting with my newborn.  (Besides, I’ve had so little sleep lately that I truly do appreciate the down-time at home).

But tired or not, I definitely want to make sure that I enjoy this Christmas week, even if we don’t plan to attend family Christmas parties this year (since Brady is so young).

After such a productive morning at home, Brady and I decided to crash at my mom’s house for some cookie decorating and visiting for the afternoon. (Also, my mom and dad have a Jacuzzi tub, and they had invited me over to take a nice hot bath). 😉

My sister Sarah had whipped together a batch of delicious sugar cookies, which we decorated with colored sugar crystals and jimmies.

And my mom took very good care of my little baby, while I soaked in the Jacuzzi tub.

(Can I just say that there’s nothing like a hot bath to make a new mom feel brand new? Soooo relaxing and refreshing)!

Honestly, it just felt really good to get out of the house and to spend time relaxing with two of my favorite ladies.  My sister and I always end up being silly and laughing a ton, when we get together… and it feels so wonderful.

I can’t wait to see what the next few days bring. I think they’re going to be pretty amazing too!! 🙂

Oh, and happy 4 weeks to my baby Brady!  You are getting big SO fast!!
 
(photo credits: my sister Sarah)

 

 

5 thoughts on “Just a Really Fun Day

  1. I had such a great time!! Brady makes me so ridiculously happy. And look at us, keeping up with our tradition of Christmas cookie decorating, even 4 weeks after Brady was just born!! So excited to see you all on Christmas!!! 😀

  2. Aww, I’m so glad you got to spend some time with your mom and sister since you won’t be attending the big family Christmas this week. You and Sarah look like you definitely had fun together! And I’m so glad your mom was able to watch Brady while you took a nice hot bath. That sounds lovely! Merry Christmas, friend!

Leave a Reply

