My Not-So-Grownup Christmas Bucket List

With Brady due so close to Thanksgiving, Nate and I knew – from the beginning – that the holidays were going to be very different this year.

But we quickly learned just how different… We’ve had several different doctors highly recommend that we not shuttle Brady to the usual, family Christmas parties due to its being smack-dab in the middle of flu and cold season.  They warned us that if Brady were to come down with the flu, he would automatically be tested for meningitis (which would mean a needle stuck into his spine as part of the testing).  Realizing that our little baby would go through so much, should he get sick, made the decision an easy one for us to make.

We aren’t willing to risk it, even if the chances might be low that he would contract something.  Therefore, we will be spending Christmas at home this year.

And honestly, the more we talked to new parents, the more we realized just how important the first few weeks are for recovery, rest, and bonding with the baby.  So due to that – and the fact that we’re going to delay his vaccinations until he’s a tiny bit older –  we’ve decided to ask for no visitors in the hospital or at the house – other than family – until Brady is the recommended 6-8 weeks old.  (This will also give this new mama plenty of privacy and time to figure out the not-so-easy adventure of breastfeeding).

We’ve already received a few comments about how ‘silly’ and ‘overprotective’ we’re being. And that did upset me at first, because I didn’t want to come across as one of ‘those’ helicopter moms.  But Nate, my family, and a few close friends quickly reminded me that there will always be opinions thrown at me.  At the end of the day, we have to do what we feel is best for our child.

So a quiet, holiday season at home it is!

We did decide to invite my immediate family over for Christmas Day (since we’ll miss out on my family’s party on Christmas Eve).  And Nate’s brother is hosting a get-together for his immediate family just two days after Christmas, and we have decided to go to that (as long as Brady doesn’t decide to hold off too far into December).  This way, we will have time with our family over the Christmas holiday, which was very important to both me and Nate.  Otherwise, our Christmas holiday will be low-key and spent at home with visits only from family (which I’ll probably really appreciate after going through labor and then the following amazing – but sleepless – nights).  🙂

Anyway, to ensure that we don’t miss out on Christmas as we spend lots of quality time with our precious newborn, I’ve put together a Christmas Bucket List, of sorts.  If we’re too tired to do anything but one thing on this list, then the items will all be replaced with activities such as ‘sleep’, ‘nap’, and ‘ be lazy’.  😉  BUT I wanted a list of fun, holiday activities handy, should we have the energy and desire to do them!    As you’ll notice, most of the items on the list are quick and super simple.  (Some might seem kind of silly too, but I’ve decided to embrace my inner-child and to just have fun with the childish crafts… and coloring)!

Christmas 2013! 058

I think that including some of these activities into our December will help us feel as though we did have a special, baby’s first Christmas.  But, with or without this list, I imagine that this will be THE most magical Christmas yet!  After all, for the first time ever, we’ll be celebrating as a family of… three!

Awwww, SO excited!!!!!!!

What are some holiday traditions that you’re especially looking forward to this year? 


My Not-So-Grownup Christmas Bucket List

  • Decorate a gingerbread house (We already bought a kit with all the supplies included and it’s prebaked for easy-peasy fun)
  • Sip on hot chocolate and drive around the neighborhood to look at Christmas lights
  • Put up the Christmas tree
  • Make paper snowflakes
  • Watch Christmas movies (not limited to – but definitely including  – Elf, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Home Alone, The Santa Clause, It’s a Wonderful Life)
  • Have a picnic in front of the Christmas tree
  • Listen to Christmas music while picking out baby announcements
  • Wrap gifts while listening to Christmas music
  • Have a baby’s first Christmas photo-shoot
  • Eat French Toast and hot chocolate for dinner
  • Play games by the light of the Christmas tree
  • Color a Christmas picture
  • Paint fingernails a festive color
  • Bake something festive together
  • Read the Christmas story from the Bible together

 

6 thoughts on “My Not-So-Grownup Christmas Bucket List”

  1. What a good list! I feel cozy just reading it! 🙂

    Also, I think the staying in idea is great and totally not overprotective…as a mom with experience with that meningitis testing 😦 My second son got a cold when he was just under two months old (so much harder to keep the germs away when they have an older sibling!). He got a fever with it and because he was under 60 days old, it was an automatic 48 hour hospital stay…and yes, spinal tap included. I am such a germaphobe mom, but anytime someone criticizes me for it, I pull that story out and they can’t argue! You gotta do what’s best for you and the baby. Luckily, as the firstborn Brady won’t have an older brother or sister germing him up 🙂 Enjoy your time inside as a family of three! Some of my greatest memories with my first are of those first few weeks, just snuggling inside with daddy.

  2. I love this- and think you have the right idea with limiting visits to family only…I WISH I had done that. Things were so crazy those first few weeks and I totally got stressed out trying to entertain while also trying to figure out breastfeeding. I hope all is well and you guys are at home starting on that Christmas list (and if you don’t for a while- NO GUILT! This will be a fun Christmas no matter what cause Brady is here!). I think your French Toast for dinner sounds AMAZING- and you can eat it in front of the tree..2 birds 1 stone!

Leave a Reply

