Celebrating Nate’s Birthday… 13 days early

In years past, Nate’s birthday has kind of slid by under the radar, seeing as how it always falls directly before or after Thanksgiving.  In fact, last year, it fell on Thanksgiving.  So as special as my husband is to me, and despite how much I adore and love him, I’m often shopping for his birthday gift the day before his birthday.  *Insert sheepish grin*

It’s just that previously, I’ve worked a full-time job, and his birthday always fell right before Quarter End (the pull-out-your-hair stressful season). And then there were the pies and side dishes I had to whip together for family get-togethers.  Oh, and Black Friday shopping had to be accounted for too.  😉  (In other words, the end of November is usually insanely busy without a birthday thrown in for good measure).  And although I’m always sure to make him his favorite meal and dessert of his choice, I do feel as though his special day isn’t as special as it should be.

Nate has never complained, but I did know that I wanted this year to be different.  Then I found out that my due date was two days before his birthday…

“Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas, Nate!  You get a baby this year!!”

Actually, if you ask me (or him) that’s a pretty amazing gift, but I still wanted to do something to celebrate his special day.

So despite the fact that his birthday isn’t until November 28th, I decided to ‘kidnap’ him this past weekend for a yummy lunch, Christmas shopping (so that we wouldn’t miss our usual tradition this year with the baby coming), and a movie of his choice.  (AND I’m happy to report that I’ve already picked him up a few birthday gifts… but he can’t open them until his actual birthday).  🙂

Every year, Nate and I go Christmas shopping together to buy a new Christmas decoration for the house.  (If you watched my vlog the other day, then you know that I also already squeezed in Christmas shopping with my sister)!   🙂  This year – Nate and I both agreed that we had to buy a tree skirt.  We’ve been married 6 years, and we’ve yet to have a tree skirt under our tree.  Shameful, I know.  Ha, ha.  So we checked that one off of our list right away, so that this year’s tree wouldn’t have to face Christmas half-dressed.

We also bought a gingerbread house kit!  I’ve been putting together a Christmas bucket list of festive, fun things that we can do, even with a newborn arriving in the next week or so.  And this pre-baked, all-inclusive kit will be an easy way for us to have a fun evening of cookie decorating without it being too time-consuming or too much work.

Throughout the course of the day, we found a Christmas ornament with baby’s name on it (although – to be honest – we didn’t buy it)…

…we enjoyed a delicious lunch out….

… AND I splurged on a decaf, gingerbread Starbucks latte, served in a red holiday cup.  (Oh, how I love those holiday cups!  Somehow, hot chocolate and latte’s just taste that much more delicious in them)!  🙂

Nate picked out a movie, and we finished our date at the theater.

I’m SO glad that we had this special day-long date to celebrate his special day, even if we celebrated it early.  AND it was good practice, since we’ll have two birthdays to celebrate next November (Nate’s and Brady’s)!!

Hmmm, maybe next year I’ll have to throw a joint birthday party for my big guy and my little guy!  Although given my track-record of not always being on top of November birthdays, maybe I should start planning now?!?  🙂

7 thoughts on “Celebrating Nate’s Birthday… 13 days early”

  1. My dad’s birthday is just 6 days before Christmas, so he feels Nate’s pain at having to share it with the holidays. Sounds like you had a wonderful time celebrating! My friend’s son was born on her husband’s birthday and they have a little joint party every year. It’s so cute!

    1. I think a joint party is a really cute idea!! 🙂
      AND – wow – sharing a birthday with Christmas is probably even harder than sharing it with Thanksgiving! (My mom’s birthday is just 2 weeks ‘after’ Christmas, and we’re all a little broke by that point. Ha, ha). It’s definitely not easy when you’re a holiday baby!

  2. I love this & wish I would have thought of this!!! Elliot was born the day before my husband’s birthday…I completely forgot that it was his birthday until the evening time when I saw the date written on the board in our room…I looked at it and thought, “why does that date seem so familiar…” and then the lightbulb went off..lol. I basically wished him a “happy birthday” gave him a kiss and then it was back to being a FTM. He def missed out on his Bday this year, but next year I’ll be sure to celebrate him properly!

    1. You’ve probably done a lot better in year’s past when it came to celebrating your husband’s birthday than I did celebrating my husband’s! And you had a perfectly good excuse to forget this year’s, that’s for sure!! 🙂 I had a lot of birthdays to make up, so I wasn’t about to let this year’s sneak by me. 😉 Ha, ha!
      Still, I’m with you on that I want to celebrate properly next year too!! Joint birthdays are always a cute thing!! 🙂

    1. Hmmmm, I know, it was a tough food decision for me at the time! I’m not going to lie, I was totally jealous of his fries, so he kindly shared a few with me! 🙂 I’m surprised I went with the shrimp scampi, because I am SUCH a burger girl these days!! YUM! But my pasta was pretty delicious, so I wasn’t disappointed in the least with my order.
      And I’ll tell Nate that you wished him the happy, early birthday! 🙂

  3. That pasta has my mouth watering, haha! You guys’ meals look exactly like what Christopher and I would order. Burger and fries for him and pasta for me. 😉 So glad you guys were able to take time to celebrate together before Brady arrives! 🙂

Leave a Reply

