The Waiting Game

This pregnancy has been so unbelievably smooth and uncomplicated that I was thrown for a loop a few weeks ago, when the doctor began to suggest that Brady was going to be a big baby.  I mean, that’s not even a complication or something to be alarmed about!  But considering how easy these past months really have been (with just the typical pregnancy discomforts thrown in for good measure), I somehow convinced myself that baby Brady would be a tiny little guy.  (Not that having a small baby means that the labor and delivery will be easy, but – somehow – I had convinced myself of that, so expecting a big baby was slightly traumatizing for me)!  Ha, ha.

(A special ‘thank you’ to everyone who assured me that a big baby doesn’t necessarily mean an especially difficult delivery or recovery)!  🙂

However, when my doctor was concerned at how big I was measuring this past week, I began to feel just a tiny bit uneasy.  Now she wasn’t just talking about Brady being on the large side.  She was talking about me having too much amniotic fluid, which – she said – could be nothing… Or could be the result of a medical complication in the mother or even a birth defect in the baby.

So she scheduled me for an emergency ultra-sound…

Nate and I kept saying that this was maybe just a blessing in disguise, because it gave us the opportunity to ‘see’ our baby once more before he was born.  And honestly, the peace that has been with me this entire pregnancy really did continue, much to my surprise.  I just really knew that it was going to all be okay…  But still, that doesn’t mean I wasn’t feeling a little nervous.

As usual, baby Brady cooperated for the ultrasound, waving his chubby little hands around and waving at us.  🙂  The technician agreed with my doctor’s prediction that this is going to be a big baby, pointing out his chunky cheeks and thick arms.  In fact, she thinks he’s already 8 1/2 lbs, and he’s still 2 weeks away from his due date!!!

Nate was all like, “YEAH, that’s my football player!”

And I was all like, “Yeah, easy for you to say, because you don’t have to push out the football player.”  😉

The important thing is that Brady looked healthy and had a strong heartbeat!  However, I do have too much amniotic fluid, which can cause some serious complications if not carefully watched.  So I was instantly placed on a High Risk Pregnancy list, diagnosed with Polyhydramnios, and ushered upstairs for a non-stress test.

By this point, I was pretty nervous and wondering what had just happened to my stress-free pregnancy.  Honestly, I’ve always known that one shouldn’t face labor with the idea that everything will go according to plan, because it rarely does.  Apparently, however, pregnancy is the same way.  Things can change pretty quickly, and you just have to stay calm, pray, and put your trust in the able doctors around you!

The stress test, thankfully, had a good result too.

But still, the doctor on call said they won’t take any chances (because of those complications that could still arise), so I have to go back on Monday for another ultrasound and stress test… followed by my routine checkup on Tuesday.

I’m beginning to change my mind about going late…  It may have taken my stomach a good while to get going, but – at this point – I can’t help but think that I’ll go into labor early (or AT LEAST by my due date)!  I’m definitely carrying around a full watermelon at this point… 😉

We shall see!

 

10 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. I’m so glad that you have wonderful medical professionals working around you during this time! Praying that all the tests come out okay. Hopefully Brady will come soon and you won’t have to carry the watermelon around for too long!

    • I just saw pics of your baby on your blog, and he is ADORABLE! It made me that much more excited to meet my little guy! 🙂
      (AND thank you for sharing your sister-in-law’s story! I always did associate large babies with a difficult labor, and I’m slowly finding out that this is not always the case. Each labor really is different and unique! And so it really encourages me that I don’t have to be nervous, just because I’m being told that Brady will be on the large side). 🙂
      Thank you sooo much!

  2. I can’t believe it will be AT MOST a couple weeks and Brady will be here (who knows maybe sooner!!)! It’s gonna be amazing- so excited for you 🙂 I had SOOOO many ultrasounds that last month because of amniotic fluid concerns (being too low)…in the end I was happy that they had such a close eye on little Elliot that last month and eventually made the call to get him out (4 days past due). I think you have the right idea- stay calm, pray, and trust the Doctors. Everything will work out just as God plans. That was a HUGE thing for me to trust- no matter what… God’s plan will prevail.

    • I know, right?!? Where did these 9 months go?? 🙂 I can’t believe how quickly a pregnancy really does fly by!
      And I agree, it’s better that the doctors be cautious and keep a close eye on things!
      In the end, thank goodness for God’s plan and knowing that He has everything under control!! 🙂

  3. You are toooooo cute for words!! And I looooove chubby babies so I hope Brady is really chubby – but for your sake I hope that chubbiness comes on after he’s born. Delayed chubbiness, so to speak. 🙂 I’m so glad the stress test had a good result. Come on, November 23!! (That was my pick right? I need to go back and check.)

    • Chubby babies ARE pretty cute! 🙂 So I like the ‘delayed chubbiness’ idea a LOT… Ha, ha!
      Although I know the doctors are all over this and if Brady can’t fit on his way out, then they promised that they won’t make me wait too long for a C-section. 🙂 So I’m in VERY good hands, and the doctors will make sure that we’re both kept safe and healthy. It’s amazing how much these doctors have to know… It’s not as simple as just ‘delivering a baby’ sometimes! It really makes me appreciate these doctors and nurses so much!
      And YES, you did pick the 23rd of November! I think you’ll be pretty close! I was convinced – at first – that I’d go late, but now I’m definitely thinking that I’ll be going early!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

