Bad Kitty!

As of today, I am officially on maternity leave, as my decision to take 6 weeks off from piano teaching slowly morphed into 12 weeks.  😉  (I chatted with a few friends from my previous job, just to get a feel for what’s normal maternity leave; and they said they were given 6 weeks… with the option of 6 additional weeks if they opted to file for FMLA).  So I decided to go for the full 12 weeks and to just enjoy being home with my baby and to take advantage of the extra rest it will provide me.  As my friend Sylvia said, “You’re in a unique position, giving you the opportunity to take that time if you want it.  So why not take it?” 

Who am I to argue with such logic??  🙂

I feel really good about the decision, not only because it will give me more recovery time but also because it will hopefully provide me with a bit more time to rest before baby.  I’ve been so busy that sometimes (as silly as this sounds) I forget that – technically – I could go into labor any day and that we really are only weeks (possibly even days) from meeting our baby boy.  I sometimes forget that this belly o’ mine isn’t an accessory that I’ll be carrying around forever.  🙂  There’s really a baby in there, and he’ll be here before I know it!

I’ve been so focused on getting things done (prepping freezer meals, teaching piano, tidying the house, finishing the nursery, and washing baby clothes) that I haven’t really had that chance to settle down and remember that this is all leading up to an actual, precious baby!  On one hand, that might be a good thing, because I’ve been too busy to feel the least bit nervous.  🙂  But on the other hand, I really need to make sure I’m ready.

‘Cause, you know, I should probably pack my hospital bag ASAP!!  (Oh, and my labor and delivery class is this Saturday, so that’s pretty important too)!!  AGAIN, sometimes I forget that labor could start at any day, because being pregnant just feels like a part of life.  Then I remember that soon I won’t be feeling little kicks in my belly anymore…  I’ll be holding a baby in my arms!

Soooo, it’s a good thing that I’ll now have a bit more free time to finish up what I need to… and then hopefully get some chillaxin’ in.

Up to this point, I’ve tried to get a little bit done every day, which means baby things have slowly begun to show up around the house.  A carseat is now securely fastened onto the backseat of the Jeep.  A highchair has appeared at the kitchen table.  (I know we won’t need it for awhile, but it makes me happy to see it).  🙂  A baby swing found its way into the corner of a room.  The crib was fitted with sheets and a cozy quilt.

Little by little, Nate and I have installed, assembled, and displayed.

The two fur-babies of the family, however, have quickly made it very clear that – as usual – they think they run the house.  And they also seem to think that everything we put together is… for them.  So let’s just say that they haven’t really helped to move things along up to this point, despite our best efforts to teach them that furry paws on baby things =  naughty.

Stitchy is the worst culprit of them all…

The minute I set something up, he has to test it out.  And then I have to take a picture…  And then he promptly gets a quick spritz of water, which – hopefully – says something along the lines of, “This is for baby, and you are not allowed to touch this.”

He got a spritz of water AND a very stern scolding, when I found him testing out the baby crib.  This is major taboo, and normally the nursery door is closed shut to keep it from happening at all.  But I left the door open, while I folded baby outfits.  And apparently he decided to hop on into the crib for the first time.

Really, he just doesn’t learn until he’s been sprayed at least once… or twice.  He seems to think that he’s the official tester of all things baby.  (And while I’d like to think that he’s doing a safety-check, I’m pretty sure that he’s testing it for comfort levels).  So, while I’m putting together baby things and getting them all organized, I also have to keep an eye out for this fuzz-ball, so that he learns – very quickly – that he isn’t allowed to crawl into these specific items.

He really is learning…  It just takes him a little while.

And as for Highstreet, he’s just his usual dare-devil self and giving me a heart-attack most days.

“Look, I can balance on the upstairs railing!”

So it’s getting there, bad kitties or not.  But they’re sure keeping us on our toes… and maybe preparing us for a mischievous little boy.  😉

Tomorrow’s goal is to pack the hospital bag, so here’s to hoping that one of the cats doesn’t try to sneak in and become a castaway!!

13 thoughts on “Bad Kitty!

  1. While I was looking for ideas for the hospital bag, did you know you can order one pre-made? I don’t know if it’s worth it for me, knowing I will want things around me that I’m familiar with, but I thought it was interesting.

    Also, did the baby items pass the cat comfort level test? It sounds legit to me…. We haven’t had anything big come into the house yet, but it will be interesting to see the dogs’ reactions considering they, too, believe they own everything.

    • Oh, wow, I didn’t realize that you could buy a pre-made hospital bag. It’s kind of a good idea… There comes a point, when you just don’t care and start to throw things together. 😉 Hmmm, not that I’m speaking from experience or anything. Ha, ha.
      I finally did finish my bag yesterday though! I figured that if I forgot anything, I’m only 20 minutes from home and another family member can run that item down to me. 🙂
      The baby items most definitely passed the cat comfort level test. 😉 ESPECIALLY the crib… although Stitch also seemed to really like the carseat too.
      Pets are too silly… and adorable! 🙂

  2. I definitely agree with your friend, Sylvia! If you are able… why not take that extra time?! You will love it! 🙂 I’m so glad you are taking that extra time so you can have some rest and downtime. And you know, get your hospital bag packed, haha! That’s definitely important! 🙂

    Oh Stitchy… cracking me up! Our dog thinks anything that comes into our house is his as well. Especially anything soft. He can have two beds in the room and if we lay a blanket on the floor to sit on, he NEEDS to be on it. Pets are hilarious sometimes. But oh my, Highstreet… that’d give me a heart attack! I’m glad he is so good on his feet. 🙂

    • I am very happy to report that my hospital bag has been packed! Finally! Ha, ha!! 🙂 I just have a few more things to do around the house, but – after that – I can look forward to more low-key days… I’m looking forward to going for leisurely walks and just trying to focus on mental and physical rest (with a bit of low-key exercise thrown in). 🙂
      Yes, Highstreet gives me a heart-attack every time he jumps up on that railing! I feel like rushing over to him, but – instead – I tiptoe and speak in hushed tones… because I don’t want him to fall over. Ha, ha!
      Pets are so silly! Gotta love them!!!! 🙂

  3. So funny… I LOVE that you have the high chair out! That’s so something I would do 🙂 And your kitty! I’m dying. Aren’t pets so goofy? As for your hospital bag, definitely pack any and all tools you think you might need. I had aroma therapy, massagers, a heating pad, a picture of the baby to focus on, a swimsuit in case I wanted to go in the water, granola bars, emergen-c packets for energy, Apple sauce packets… Hmm. I’m trying to think what else? The only “tool” we used was the electric heating pad. That thing was on me the entire time and I used it after birth. And, snacks are essential. My hubs and doula snuck me snacks throughout the labor to provide energy. I totally did not want to eat or drink anything, but I think it helped. Also!! I brought cookies and a coffee cake for the nurses. We had cookies and the coffee cake baked and just threw them in the freezer in a Tupperware. They were perfectly delicious and a nice way to butter up the staff. The last thing is comfy clothes. I lived in stretchy maternity pants, nursing tanks and a cardigan. Okay! Enough overloading 🙂 I’ll let you know if I think of anything else!

    • Thank you for sharing some of the things you packed in your hospital bag!! I didn’t think of applesauce packets, but – the moment I read it on your comment – I knew how amazing that sounded! I also think that a picture of the baby’s ultrasound is a good idea… I’m still trying to figure out what I want to bring as a focal point object, but I’m thinking I might use that!
      AND I love the idea of bringing cookies for the nurses! I’m going to totally do that, although I haven’t decided yet what the treat will be. But I think that buttering them up (AND showing them appreciation) is such a great idea!! 🙂
      And I totally went with comfy, stretchy maternity pants, a nursing tank, and a cardigan for my recovery outfit too!!! 🙂

  4. Ooooohhhhhhh my goodness. If Flo were still alive, I could NOT let her see that picture of Highstreet balancing on the stair railing. She would attempt it, I’m certain. And she totally would have been one to test out baby stuff – for quality control purposes, of course. (Umm, no – more like comfort and MY HOUSE MY STUFF purposes.) I love cats.

    • Hey, I like that… I’ll go with that… The cats are already in love with Brady, so that’s why they are obsessed with his things!!! 🙂
      And thank you! 🙂

  5. First of all, I think it is totally absurd that 6 weeks is standard time off for women post partum.
    I have no idea how ladies manage that.
    Here, 12 months is standard. Your employer must hold your job for 2 years (so you have the option for more leave) but you are only subsidized by the government for 12 months. I even think we should subsidize for 2 years.

    Second of all, your cats are adorable.

    • I agree with you 100%! My friend and I were talking about that the other day… Standards in the U.S. oftentimes will not allow a puppy or kitten to leave its mother before 8 weeks… but a human baby only needs 6 weeks apparently. Hmmm, priority issues, maybe??
      I have so many friends who are broken up inside, because they’ve had to delivery their 6-week old infant to a day-care, or else they’d lose their jobs. It’s so wrong, and it needs to change!!
      Secondly, thank you! I’d tell the cats, but it might go to their heads. They’re already quite proud of themselves… 😉

Leave a Reply

