The Home Stretch!

I’m happy to report that I finished reading my second baby book.  It was a very good book, but I think that the sudden I’ve-got-this confidence was more due to pressure that I’d placed on myself than the information I’d gleaned.  Somehow reading a minimum of three books just seems like a prerequisite for becoming a mother (so I have one more to go).  Anything less than that would be like trying to bake cupcakes with only half of the recipe.

Gosh, I could go for a cupcake… 

But in all seriousness, I’m slightly clueless when it comes to babies, as I haven’t been around them much in my lifetime.  So I’m pretty sure that the doctor will ask me if I’ve read at least three books before he agrees to let me take my baby Brady home (even if it will be quite apparent just how loving that home will be). Being asked to read three books at least happened in my dreams.  So, you know, one can never be too prepared!  After all, dreams do come true sometimes…

Oh, and the nursery is almost finished, which will be another huge accomplishment!  It makes me happy just to go into the room, so most of the baby book was read in that room.  It’s just so cozy, and fresh… and clean compared to the rest of the house.  😉  Sometimes I like to sit on the rocking chair and forget that my bedroom looks as though a tornado ran through it.

Pics coming soon, by the way!  (Of the nursery, I mean…not of my tornado-stricken bedroom). 

However, that being said, the kitchen pantry has been completely cleaned out and tidied, the finished basement was scrubbed and organized, and one can now walk into the walk-in closet.  So even if I have enough cleaning left to keep Mary Poppins busy, should she welcome me with a visit, I have made quite a bit of progress.  At this point in the game, I set myself a time-limit (usually one – two hours) and whatever doesn’t get done in that time frame will just be waiting for me tomorrow… or next year.  😉

AND I nearly have all of the baby supplies that I need.  (It really is amazing as to how many things a little baby needs in the course of his first few months).  🙂  Nate and I have done a pretty good job, I think, of breaking down the list into ‘must buy now’ items and ‘this can wait a few months’ items, thanks to the advice of close friends who have multiple children… and therefore, lots of experience.

Anyway, I’m not quite sure how it happened, but there are only six weeks left until my due date.  What, what!?! 

I’m definitely starting to feel very pregnant these days, mainly because of how tired I feel.  Like right now, I’m resting on my couch after a long (but very good) day of teaching piano lessons, and I can hardly think straight.  In fact, considering how long it took me to write just the three sentences of this paragraph, I’m fairly certain that it would be more accurate to state that I’m not thinking straight.  Who knew that growing a baby could make one’s brain so fuzzy.

me

Wait, what were we talking about again?

Oh, yeah!  CUPCAKES!  🙂


 

Okay, who’s up for a fun little challenge?  🙂  My due date is November 26th (the day before Thanksgiving)…  I keep thinking that I’ll go a little late (although – honestly -my nightly Braxton Hicks contractions are getting much stronger)…  But my mom was a week early for me, my brother, AND my sister.  And the doctors haven’t yet made any predictions.  Any guesses as to when Brady will be born? 

Pick a date, leave it in the comments, and we’ll see who picked the closest date to Brady’s birthday!!  🙂

18 thoughts on “The Home Stretch!”

  1. Just because I don’t want what happened to my mom to happen to me (I was a month late, and yes I’m still apologizing for that), I’m going to say that it will be the day before your due date.

    Also, I don’t know if you meant the play on words, but stretch is definitely something I’ve felt lately!

    1. Good guess! I’ll mark you down for the 25th! 🙂

      AND I totally didn’t catch the play on words, but – now that you point it out – it IS so fitting!! Ha, ha. I’m definitely feeling it too, my friend! 🙂

  2. 28th for sure!

    You didn’t ask for my opinion but I’m giving it anyway so I hope you don’t mind 😉 I believe 110% that Nate’s your caregiving and parenting instincts will completely lead you two through everything with Brady. Any anxiety probably comes from feeling like other people will be watching and judging. But I know, once you’re alone with him and “comfortable” at home, you’ll be just fine. Truly. You’ll figure it out and learn on the fly and be pros in no time. Nothing to worry about!

    1. That’s Nate’s guess too, because the 28th is also HIS birthday! 🙂

      And thank you so much for sharing your opinion!! 🙂 I have to remind myself of that sometimes… That the love and nurturing instinct will kick in when Brady comes home with us. Most days, I feel as though I need to have all the answers up front, but you’re right! I’m putting that pressure on myself, oftentimes worrying that it will look to others that I don’t have it all figured out yet. But the truth of the matter is that no one can have it figured out from the start! 🙂 And at least I’m mostly surrounded by super supportive people who will let me learn… and who will offer advice and assistance when I really do need it.
      Thank you, Girl, for always being so encouraging!!

  3. I was going to say the 28th, but I see Janelle grabbed that date. So let’s say the 29th! I’m hoping you get to enjoy Thanksgiving with family and not in labor, haha! My little sister was born on Christmas Eve and that year we all had Christmas dinner in the hospital. The pictures are actually kind of adorable. But hopefully you’ll get to enjoy a nice big piece of pie before heading to the hospital! 😉

    You and Nate are going to be such great parents. You are going to love Brady so much and when you have a concern, you’ll seek help (Hello Google & Mom & Mommy friends). You got this. Really and truly. 🙂

    1. The 29th would be a good date! (I already told Nate that if I haven’t had the baby yet by the day after Thanksgiving – and if I’m not in labor – I want to drive to the little mall that’s not far away, JUST to take a picture and say that I went Black Friday shopping. Ha, ha!!). 😉
      And I know, Thanksgiving could be VERY different this year, for sure! 🙂 Nate and I already decided that Christmas will be as well, since Brady will only be about a month old by that point. It’s smack-dab in the middle of flu and cold season, so doctors are warning us to avoid the normal Christmas activities with our families. At first, I was the teeniest, tiniest bit disappointed about that. But I think we came up with a good plan where we can at least do a little something with our immediate families… and then Christmas Day will be mostly snuggling and watching Christmas movies. 🙂
      So both holidays will be very different this year, but I think they’ll also be pretty amazing too!
      And thank goodness for Google, Mom, and Mommy friends!!!!! 🙂 Thank you so much for the encouragement, Girl! 🙂

  4. You and Nate are going to be the BEST parents EVER! Mine and Alyson’s guess is Dec. 1. But we really hope you don’t go that long!

    1. Thank you, Sylvia!!
      And good guess! That’s kind of where my guess is leaning too, to be honest. I don’t know why I keep thinking that I’ll go late, but I do! (Then again, I thought that Brady was going to be a girl – before we had the confirming ultrasound – so what do I know? Ha, ha)!! But December 1st is a good guess! We’ll see!!! 🙂

    1. Ooh, November 23rd would be an awesome date to have Brady. By then, I’ll be on my piano-teaching maternity leave AND we should have all the supplies organized and purchased. AND I would have already had my parenting prep class… but we’d probably be back home by Thanksgiving.
      Yeah, the 23rd would be a good date! 🙂

  5. “So I’m pretty sure that the doctor will ask me if I’ve read at least three books before he agrees to let me take my baby Brady home (even if it will be quite apparent just how loving that home will be).” <— that made me LOL!! I make rules like that for myself, too!! It makes me feel better and more in control, even though I know that usually not the case! Oh well!

    Okay… due date guess!!! I'm going to guess November 27th, in the wee morning hours. it shall be a happy Thanksgiving! My second guess is Black Friday!! In the evening, after you go shopping, because I know you totally will if you can!

    1. I’m SO glad that I’m not the only one who creates rules like “I have to read three books.” Ha, ha!!
      And good guesses!! I can’t wait to find out what day he’ll decide to make his appearance!!! 🙂

    1. Ooh, another vote for an early labor!! 🙂 I think I’ll go late (but I also originally thought that Brady would be a girl. Ha, ha). 😉 But I kind of hope you’re right! Ha, ha. It would be nice to go early… AND then I’d probably be back home by Thanksgiving. 🙂
      We’ll see!!!

    1. THAT would be quite nice, I have to say! I’d wake up on the 26th, feeling a little anxious… and ta-da, baby decides to arrive that day, as predicted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

