We’re Preggo and We Know It

Being pregnant at the same time as my friend Liz has been an amazing experience.  In many ways, I truly embraced my pregnancy the moment she told me that she too was expecting a baby.  The whole experience just suddenly felt a lot less overwhelming, when I realized that I now had a preggo buddy to share the ups and downs of pregnancy with.  There’s just something priceless about having a friend to call, when you’ve just had a hilarious or difficult pregnancy moment.

“Wait, what?  Someone just stuck their finger into your belly button, while they were feeling your stomach?  No way??  Well, guess what just happened to me…” 

I’m not even kidding.  It really helps to have that someone to swap stories with on an almost daily basis.  AND it helps to realize that you’re not the only one who’s living off of apple cider donuts, pizza, and bacon … while doing your absolute best to get back on track with the veggie consumption and exercise!  (Because let’s face it, the women you read about in magazines are all drinking kale smoothies and sporting special, tummy-support belts so that they can run well into their third trimester.  It’s kind of nice to have someone in your corner to encourage you to do better, all the while understanding how difficult the daily struggle really is).

Liz is exactly 8 weeks behind me and expecting her second child, while I’m – obviously – expecting my first.

She’s having a girl…

…and I’m having a boy.

And sometimes I let my imagination take flight; and I dream of birthday parties, sliding at the nearby golf course in the winter, hay rides in the fall, movie nights, and crafts for little hands.

A whole new generation of friends will begin in the next few months!

But thankfully Liz has been living in the moment and suggested that we do a maternity photo-shoot together to capture the memory of us being pregnant at the same time.  🙂

The chosen day turned out to be absolutely perfect with sunny skies and an autumn breeze.

Really, I can’t wait for all of the fun things that the future holds.  But for now, I’m also absolutely loving this very moment.  Being pregnant and sharing that experience with my best friend?

These times are pretty good too!!  🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “We’re Preggo and We Know It

  1. I have a coworker who is one and a half weeks behind me! Unfortunately, she is in another state, but we have definitely bonded over our nausea, and it’s great to have someone to talk to during the day! Preggo buddies are the best. And how cute are those pictures! (Can I also be a nerd and say that the fact you are both having different genders satisfies my need for symmetry 🙂 )

  2. I looooove the name Cora. Tell your friend I love that name. I suggested it to Kevin awhile back as a potential and he vetoed it. I was bummed. Maybe I can make him come around to the idea….

    I can imagine that it is so awesome to have a best friend pregnant the same times as you. I hope that happens for me someday!

  3. So cute!! That’s so lucky you have a friend who is close that is going through the same thing. It’s going to be even better with little ones I bet 🙂

  4. This must be such a nice experience to share! My friend(s) (ALL 4 OF US) were all expecting at the same time! I think the biggest gap was about 7 months apart from who was expecting first to who was expecting last! It calmed me SOO much sharing this experience with the people I was closest to, because let’s face it, nobody can understand what you’re going through more than the one next to you whose hurling in the sink and your hurling in the toilet!

  5. This is the cutest thing ever!! I’ve always wanted to be pregnant at the same time as a close friend. So glad you get to be!! 🙂 You guys’ little photo session is precious. And who knows… maybe someday Cora and Brady will grow up and fall in love and get married! You just never know. 😉

Leave a Reply

