Preggo Journal – Week 32 Recap

How far along:     This recaps Week 32, but – as of today – I am officially 33 weeks… Which means only 7 weeks to go!  Which means that my due date is less than two months away.  Which means that I have a lot to get done in the very near future!  Ha, ha.  Time to get busy!

(Unless growing a baby counts as being busy, in which case, I have been busy; and I am going to take a nap now).  😉

 How Big is Baby:  Baby Brady is now the size of a squash.

Squash

Maternity clothesI am embracing my maternity clothes in all their comfort!  I think I own about two weeks worth of outfits, and it has totally been enough.  I just change up scarves, pants, and accessories to make different looks.

(And I totally write down what outfits I wear to which events, so that I wear different clothes for church, piano teaching, and such.  😉  That way, I’m not always wearing the same thing around the same people.  Yeahhhh, I’m such a nerd when it comes to lists. Ha, ha.  But it’s totally working)!!  🙂

AND, oh happy day, I found a pair of black flats at Payless for $15, and they are so unbelievably comfortable!!

 Best moment of this week:   I wore a more fitting shirt on one of my piano-teaching days, so one of my youngest students apparently noticed my preggo belly for the first time.  He stared at my belly for a moment before announcing, “Wait a minute!  Are you going to have a baby?”

I replied, “Yes, I am!  I’m expecting a little boy.”  🙂

He sighed in relief, smiled, and said, “I was going to say, you weren’t that fat last week!”

I know this probably sounds like an awkward moment, but it was actually hysterical!  (His mom, meanwhile, freaked out a little bit).  But I thought it was super cute, and I just started laughing!!  This boy used to be really shy around me, but he has come such a long way!  Once he found out that I’m expecting a little boy, he’d play a song specifically for baby Brady… and then pat my belly gently.  Again, I know it might sound awkward, but it was just really cute.  🙂

Awkward moment this week:  I actually survived another week without one.  Score!!

MovementBaby Brady is moving LOTS these days, and he also gets the hiccups quite a bit.  Thankfully, he’s a gentle kicker at this point, so it doesn’t hurt at all.  It’s just kind of funny sometimes to see my belly bouncing around.  🙂

 Food cravings:   Sweets!  (For the record, the worst time in the world to crave sweets is just before Halloween.  I refuse to walk down the candy aisle for fear that I won’t be able to resist). I did, however, splurge and get a hot chocolate the other day with the hubby.  It was just so chilly out, and I’m pretty certain that Brady wanted some.  😉

I’m also still craving carbs in general (especially bread) and cheese.  So pizza is still at the top of my all-time favorite foods right now… followed by red meat and seafood (which I obviously have to eat in moderation).

Anything making you queasy or sick:     I’m over all food aversions except for ground turkey.  Even just thinking about the smell makes me feel sick.

Symptoms:  First let’s be positive and talk about everything that I don’t have, because I had been so sure that I’d be struggling with these by this point.  But I still have very healthy blood-pressure.  I still don’t have swollen fingers or cankles.  And other than when I’m really tired, I don’t even waddle.  I’m pretty excited about this, I’m not going to lie!  🙂

As for symptoms that I do have, backaches have returned in full force, and sometimes it’s hard to sleep, because there is such a deep ache in my upper back.  Thanks to the anemia (low iron), my heart will randomly start to race sometimes, and then I’ll feel out of breath and weak… so I’m forced to sit down for awhile (sometimes up to 30 minutes) to get my heart rate and breathing back under control.  And I’m pretty tired all of the time.

But I’m in my third trimester, so – really – I can’t complain at all.  I’m doing pretty great!

Exercise – I have to be honest, I’ve failed at this…  Between busy or exhausted mornings, I haven’t been as dedicated to walking as I would have liked.  Let’s see if I can turn that around this week and for the remaining 7!

 Have you started to show yetIt officially looks as though I’m smuggling a watermelon.  🙂  The old wives tale must be true, because I’m the perfect example of how it’s ‘supposed’ to look if you’re carrying a boy.  Low and all in the front, like a basketball.

Labor signsOccasionally, I’ll feel sharp pains at the top of my stomach.  They don’t last long, aren’t consistent, and there’s no tightness with them… So I don’t think they’re even Braxton Hicks contractions yet.  But my tummy is definitely preparing itself for the BIG ones, which will be here before I know it.  (For now, whenever I feel those cramps or pains start, I usually just listen to my body and relax for awhile, and they go away).

Happy or moody most of the time:    Happy, happy, happy!  Thank goodness, I avoided crazy preggo hormones for the most part of this pregnancy.  I could probably count on one hand the really bad, emotional days I had.  I remind Nate often of how fortunate he is that he didn’t have to comfort a sobbing or angry wife very much these past months.  Ha, ha!

Now that’s not to say that I don’t have my moments.  Trust me, I have them!!  But as far as days-on-end of sobbing or throwing things, I – so far – have avoided it.  😉  And I’m quite happy about that (happy, happy, happy!), because I had thought that I’d be a mess once I became pregnant.  Now if only I could have avoided pregnancy brain too.  😉  Ha, ha!  That I have all the time, these days.

Final thought:  I REALLY need to get things done!  🙂  The nursery is just about complete… (So stay tuned for pics of that during the next couple of weeks).  I’ve washed all the baby clothes and now just need to wash the baby blankets, sheets, and towels.  I finished the Baby Shower thank-you cards yesterday…  So really, I just need to get a lot of stuff organized and also pick up a few more baby things that we still need.

It’s getting there!!  Woo hoo!!!!

7 thoughts on “Preggo Journal – Week 32 Recap”

  1. I totally do that same tracking-of-outfits thing so I don’t wear the same thing a million times around the same people! The little boy’s comment about how you weren’t that fat last week cracked me up!
    Ahh, you look so great!! I’m glad that you’re mostly feeling great to go along with it!

  2. Yayyyy! All good news!

    The photo of you with your hair pulled back in the red (orange? coral?) shirt… you look very similar to Sarah there. You’re both beautiful women!

  3. Growing a baby TOTALLY counts as being busy!! You deserve that nap! 🙂

    One funny thing about traveling so much in the summer is that I had one favorite dress (that purple maxi dress which you probably saw in a lot of my photos from this summer) and I could easily wear it several Sundays in a row because we were in a different city with different people every weekend, ha! I know what you mean about trying to not wear the exact same outfit around the same group of people every week. 😉

    Haha! I believe you that it was a sweet, funny moment! Kids are funny with what they’ll say! I love that he played a song just for Brady. That really is sweet!

    Aww those sweets are hard to avoid this time of year. Christopher has a hard time with it too. They are just so prevalent everywhere. I’m so glad you splurged with that hot chocolate! I’m pretty sure Brady needed it. 😉

    Oooh I’m so excited to see the nursery photos!!

Leave a Reply

