Six Years!

I hope you don’t mind taking a little walk down memory lane with me today…  🙂  With tomorrow being my six-year wedding anniversary, I found myself looking through a few of my favorite wedding photo’s and reliving that beautiful day.  Time definitely does fly, and it’s hard for me to believe that it’s already been six years!  But on the other hand, I love Nate even more today than on the day that I said “I do”.  He has always been there for me, always made me laugh until my ribs hurt, always remained faithful and loyal, and always been my rock during the hard times.  And maybe my favorite thing is that he always cares about how I feel, even on the days when he doesn’t quite understand why I feel a certain way.

I’m SO blessed!!

So here’s to taking a little walk down memory lane…


I didn’t cry during our wedding ceremony, but I was a bundle of ecstatic and overwhelmed emotions.  Sometimes I thought I’d burst into tears (like when Nate sang to me) and other times I just wanted to laugh with excitement!


 

My dress was strapless with a sweetheart bodice, and the train was really long with shimmering sequins and accents.  My bouquet was all roses with a diamond (not real, obviously) in the center of each, and it weighed a ton!  It was worth it though.  🙂


 

In keeping with the autumn theme of our wedding (and because I honestly can’t stand champagne), the limo served sparkling apple cider to the wedding party.  All wedding guests received a glass at the ceremony as well.

Cheers!


Speaking of the limo, our limo driver is legendary, and my bridesmaids and I laugh about the experience to this day.  He was just so fatherly!  When he dropped me off at the church, he told me, “You’ve got this, Kid!”  He also proceeded to give me a bunch of marriage advise that he felt I should hear before I walked down the aisle.  THEN he came into the church with us and helped to make sure that my dress was flowing just perfectly and to make sure that the bridesmaids were lined up correctly.

The hilarious thing was that the photographers saw and overheard everything, so they were convinced that he was my real father!  They kept snapping pictures of us together until one of my bridesmaids told them that this was actually just the limo driver!

My real dad, on the other hand, was in the background for most of the day.  The poor guy looked dazed and confused as though saying ‘goodbye’ to his little girl was just too much.  It was really sweet and heartbreaking, all at the same time!

(That gorgeous girl behind me fixing my dress is my sister Sarah).  🙂


The father-daughter dance was every bit as difficult as I had thought it would be.  We danced to Cinderella by Stephen Curtis Chapman (which still makes me cry every time I hear it).  I started to tear up the minute I heard the lyrics, and I whispered to my dad, “I don’t think that I can do this!”  As always, he came to my rescue, and he started to tell a joke… which he didn’t know the answer to, because he was completely making it up on the spot!  🙂  That made us both laugh!

After that, we were both okay, and we laughed and spun around on the dance floor together, just having fun.


Nate and I had THE best wedding party that we could have ever asked for.  The groomsmen (two of which were Nate’s brothers) had me in hysterics so often, being their usual, silly selves!  And the bridesmaids were all excited for me – and about being a part of my special day.  At one point, the entire wedding party swayed back and forth to Sweet Caroline (which is a classic song here in the Boston area and sung at almost every Red Sox game), as well as did the wave.


Feeding Nate the cake was pretty fun too!  😉  We were both really nice to each other, but that didn’t keep me from getting all intense when it was my turn.  “Eat that cake, Mister!”  Ha, ha.

I can’t help it… I just like to see people eat!


 

My Memere was already sick when I got engaged, and a huge fear of mine was always that she wouldn’t be able to attend my wedding.  But she was there to celebrate with me, and she my Pepere made quite the handsome couple!  🙂

(Memere D was always feisty and wore a beautiful, cream-colored dress that fell just at her knees.  She said that it was to show off her amazing legs.  Ha, ha.  I have to admit that I hope I have legs like her when I’m in my 70’s!  She was always gorgeous)!


My family looked absolutely amazing as well, and it felt really good to officially say that Nate was a part of the family.


 

Since our reception was held at a golf club, Nate and I obviously had to commandeer a golf cart.  (For the record, neither of us like to play golf.  Also for the record, I would totally own a golf cart if I could).  😉

I really can’t believe that it’s been six years since that fun day!  I can’t believe that it’s been six years of learning more about each other and experience life together!!


 

Nate, I can’t believe that as of tomorrow, we’ll have been married 6 years! Time sure does fly when you’re having fun! I love you even more today than I did then… Thank you for being my best friend, my soulmate, my love, and my partner in crime. (Who else would put up with my silly photo-ops)?
Thank you for being faithful and loving these past six years. I treasure them more than you could possibly know… And I can’t wait for the next 60 we spend together.  🙂  You and me, forever!


 

11 thoughts on “Six Years!”

  1. Aww you guys! So sweet, Nicole. Nate’s writing his tribute-to-my-wife post for tomorrow, right?!? 😉 I wish!

    I hear you about the grandparents. I have always said that I wanted my Grandpa to officiate my wedding (he was a pastor well into his 80s), even if it meant getting married in a hospital room or nursing home room. I’ve realized that I will have to let that dream go.

    Sweet Caroline is sung at Penn State football games! It must just be popular in sports. So fun!

    Will you guys do something to celebrate? I hope there are cupcakes involved! Or maybe you’re baking something?

    1. I’m still ‘bugging’ Nate occasionally to write a blog post… about anything! I tell him that the people want more Nate, but I’m not sure that he’s convinced yet. 😉 But someday I’ll get him to write one!! I think it’d be fun!
      There’s something SO special about grandparents… When I first found out that I was pregnant, I felt a little pang of sadness, when I realized that my Memere will never hold Brady. But she will most definitely still be a part of Brady’s life, and I take comfort in that. Because she is a part of me…. I learned so much from her growing up, and Brady will definitely grow up knowing about her and about how amazing she was. 🙂

  2. My sister is going to have the same anniversary date as you two! Eek, excited/nervous for the big date tomorrow; I’m the MOH.
    Congratulations to you two 🙂

  3. I love this trip down memory lane!! Thanks for sharing some of your memories and the pictures. I love the idea of having apple cider (especially since it was fall!) because I don’t like champagne either. Also, the story about the limo driver cracked me up. And the father/daughter dance recollection brought little tear prickles to my eyes.

  4. Awwww you guys!! This just gets me all teary-eyed! What a beautiful bride you made! And all your sweet, happy moments all day long… I just love it. Right down to the limo-driver-turned-father, haha! And of course you know that your Cinderella story gets me. *tear* Happy 6 years, sweet friend!

Leave a Reply

