Thirty-One Weeks Recap

Sooooo, how is it possible that today is October 1st already?  I feel as though I was just sitting at my parent’s dining room table and announcing my New Year’s resolutions.  And now, I’m only weeks away from seeing one of those resolutions (to become a mom) come true.

Thirty-one weeks sure goes by quickly…

The first trimester dragged by slower than black-strap molasses oozing out of a jar, so I convinced myself that I had all the time in the world to get things done.  Then I blinked, and suddenly I was smack-dab in the middle of my 3rd trimester.  Yet the funny thing is that the closer I inch towards my due-date (the day before Thanksgiving), the calmer I feel about getting things done..  And I find myself being okay with what doesn’t get completed in time.  Either pregnancy has taught me to better take life in stride, or maybe I’m just a little too tired to stress out about organizing closets and wiping down all of the cabinets in my kitchen.  😉

I’d like to think that it’s a little bit of both.


 

I’ve yet to experience the much anticipated nesting stage, although I was stuck in the baking phase for weeks.  Breads, cupcakes, cookies, and pies… You name it, I baked it.  Fortunately, over the past few days, I’ve felt my sweet-tooth obsession slowly subside, and I wasn’t even tempted by these Pumpkin Oreo Cheesecakes that I made for my family the other night.  My love of red meat, seafood, and pizza is still alive and strong, however.  🙂

Thirty-one weeks isn’t enough to break that obsession, apparently.

I’m still hoping for the day that I crave kale, but – so far – no luck with that. 


 

My stomach has officially popped, and there is no denying the fact that I look pregnant.  My doctor’s appointments are now bi-weekly, and – since entering the 3rd trimester – I’ve been putting on one pound a week.  That brings me to a weight gain of 32 pounds so far, and I’ll probably land around a total of 40 pounds gained this pregnancy (as long as I can continue to keep the weight gain slow-and-consistent during this last trimester).  It wasn’t my original goal, but I’m honestly happy with it!

Other than the anemia exhaustion (which seems to hit in staggered waves), I feel absolutely healthy and strong!  No complaints here!

(Or very few complaints anyway…).  😉  I still only had swollen ankles that one time, so I’m pretty happy about that, not going to lie!

Baby Brady, on the other hand, is apparently now the size of a squash.

pumpkin


 

Since my due-date will be here before I know it, I’ve started to research pain-management techniques, including Lamaze breathing.  Yes, I’m signed up for a childbirth class at my hospital, but they keep pushing my class out.  It’s now scheduled for two weeks before my due date, so if Brady decides to come early… well… let’s just say that it will make for a humorous story someday.  I’m really hoping that I make it to the class though, because the calm-breathing techniques tend to confuse me.  I practiced one technique the other night – after watching a YouTube video- and then realized that I was feeling a bit light-headed from forcing myself to breathe so shallow and quick.

I’m no childbirth expert, but I’m pretty sure that means I was doing it wrong.


 

Since I wake up several times a night to pee, sleep isn’t deep and uninterrupted.  I also usually wake up early every morning (around 5:30am) and can’t fall back asleep, which leads me to believe that my body is preparing me for having to wake up several times a night to feed Brady.  😉  Still, every once in awhile, I’m so tired that I wake up and it’s past 7am.  I love those days!  That being said, even if sleep isn’t quite as good as it used to be, I adore my comfy, body pillow!   It makes sleeping on my side SO comfortable that I usually am content to just lie in bed and relax, even if I can’t exactly fall back to sleep.

Yeah, that body pillow was worth every single penny!


 

There were no embarrassing pregnancy moments this week… but the week isn’t over yet.  😉


 

One of my favorite moments was – after washing the clothes from my baby shower – I folded and put away the little onesies and footie pajamas.  The outfits are really adorable and just looking at them makes me smile.

DSC02861

DSC02849


 

In less than two months, I’ll have a little baby to snuggle into those adorable pajamas!  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Thirty-One Weeks Recap”

  1. Oh man, I hope you do get into a pain management class before Brady arrives! That would make for a humorous story SOMEDAY, but probably no time soon, haha! Glad you haven’t had any more awkward encounters (so far) this week! Hopefully that stretch continues. 🙂

    1. I really hope I get to attend the pain management class before Brady arrives too! I was able to get a few tips from a friend who just had a baby. But she only remembered one of the three recommended breathing methods… Still, at least I have an idea of how to get started out with the breathing, so it’s better than nothing! Ha, ha. 🙂
      And, yes, here’s to no awkward encounters in my near future!! 😉

  2. I don’t really recommend watching YouTube birth videos, like ever. However, there is this one family on YouTube who shared the birth of their fifth child (camera kept on her face the whole time, not graphic at all). She had the breathing down, and she used an epidural and everything. I’m not saying you are guaranteed her exact experience (because that is not how it works), but it really put a more realistic view of birth for me without scaring me completely. Anyway, the video link is this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEyfCz2CTH8 You will laugh and cry, and also have some expectation for what to expect (especially if you don’t make those birthing classes!).

    1. LOVED this video! (Her husband is a riot and absolutely hysterical. Ha, ha). 🙂 I agree, it wasn’t a video that would freak anyone out. It was funny, honest, and beautiful. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Nesting woohoo! I’ve been watching my weight very closely this pregnancy, so I’ve been avoiding treats for the most part. But the nesting…goodness…I’m still getting rid of stuff and obsessively organizing. I am also researching pain management techniques and I have to highly recommend a book to you. I don’t want to scare you about labor at all, but boy I was surprised by the sheer intensity of it. In retrospect, with my first pregnancy, I was completely unprepared and breathing did almost jack squat for me. The book I’m reading this time is called Juju Sundin’s Birth Skills: Proven Pain-Management Techniques for Your Labour and Birth. I bought mine used on Amazon for $9 (shipped). I am finding it a very empowering read and I would so encourage you to check it out. 🙂

    1. Good for you, avoiding too many treats! I could have definitely done better in that department. Ha, ha. 😉
      Thank you so much for the book recommendation! I’m totally going to check it out!! I’m trying to get my hands on anything that will help me through, although I still feel rather unprepared at this point. Maybe that’s normal the first time around? But information and prep will only help, for sure!! So I’m all about reading and learning as much as possible!! 🙂

      1. I’ve been through it once and I still feel very unprepared! 🙂 It’s in God’s hands and I have to trust that His plan is the best for me. I’m trying for a VBAC this time, so I’m apprehensive.

  4. When I arrive at the time to birth a child, I hope that I’m not as terrified of the experience as I am now. I want to learn hypnosis techniques – if it’s good enough for Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, it’s good enough for me.
    You’ll do great – I think your body and your breath will know exactly what to do to keep you and baby Brady safe.
    Those pajamas are adorable!

    1. Thank you, Amy! I think I’m going the other route and just not thinking about the birthing experience hardly at all. I’m just now looking into it and trying to research pain-management techniques. It’s crazy, because I usually freak out and worry about everything. Ha, ha. Maybe I’m trying to block it from my mind as long as possible. 😉
      Thank you for the encouragement though! I remind myself that thousands of women have gone through this before, and – if they can do it – I can too! 🙂

  5. You got this! I know Nate (and other loved ones supporting you) will do what is necessary to ensure you have the safest, best experience possible so that you can focus on the baby. You’re so zen lately and I’m loving that. High fives!

    1. Thank you, Janelle!!! 🙂 (My post set to publish tomorrow is maybe not so zen, so forgive me for sharing a little more serious post… Ha, ha!! 🙂 But I HAVE been feeling – for the most part – rather calm and collected. I had always though that I’d be a wreck when I was pregnant, especially once the 3rd trimester hit. But honestly, it has actually been great. It’s been a healthy pregnancy, and I’ve just been happy. 🙂 That’s probably because I’m surrounded by so many awesome people)!!! Couldn’t be happier! 🙂

Leave a Reply

