Preggo Journal – Week 28 Recap

How far along:     Only 12 weeks to go!!  (Actually, as I write this, I’ve just started week 29, so technically I have 11 weeks to go).  😉

How big is baby:  Baby Brady is now the size of an acorn squash.  Sometimes though, it feels more like I have a dancing watermelon in my tummy.  He definitely enjoys bouncing on my bladder, which makes walking for any extended period of time quite fun.  Ha, ha.

Total weight gain:   28 pounds and counting.  Originally, I wanted to be one of ‘those’ pregnant ladies who only gained 30 pounds throughout the pregnancy, but it quickly became apparent that I’m probably going to be closer to 40.  That’s right around the healthy range however (as doctors recommend gaining 25-30 pounds if you’re starting at a healthy weight), so I really haven’t stressed about it.  I had to eat more that first trimester – thanks to the nauseousness – and I most certainly was not going to diet by the time I started to feel better.  It’s all about being healthy!!

 Maternity clothesYES!  🙂  Finally the cooler weather hit this week, so I was able to pull out my preggo yoga pants, skinny pants, quarter-length T’s, and bump-flattering blouses.  I’ll try to get some good pics of my favorite outfits going forward.

Labor signs:     Still too early, although my stomach is sure feeling tight these days.

Happy or moody most of the time:    At the beginning of the week, I hit a rough patch, thanks to the hot weather and the anemia.  But once the cooler weather arrived, I really started to feel like myself again.  I’ve been feeling very happy these last few days!  🙂  (I’m especially excited about my upcoming baby shower)!

 Sleep:   I didn’t sleep well this past week, partly due to waking up about four times a night to pee… and partly due to the sudden onset of pregnancy insomnia.  I’d wake up around 2am and lie there – unable to sleep – until about 5am.  On the bright side, I pinned a LOT of cute baby ideas and recipes on Pinterest, while I was lying there awake.  🙂

Best moment of this week:   I think that I really embraced my baby bump this week.  And even though my belly is growing by the day, I’m feeling absolutely confident, which is a nice place to be!!

Awkward moment this week:  While leading worship at church, I had to introduce a new song to the congregation.  Just as I began to play the first chords, I realized that I could not – for the life of me – remember how the melody went.  Hello, pregnancy moment!!  (And I only had a chord sheet, so I couldn’t read the notes to help figure out the melody line).  So I did the first thing that popped into my head, and I just made up a song that matched the words and chords.  Nate was watching from the back, and his jaw kind of dropped open in confusion.  And the guitarist’s eyes got really wide, but he just kept playing.  So, yes, I taught everyone my own version of the song… and good luck to Nate when he tries to sing it the right way next week.  😉

Miss anythingBeing able to bend down easily.  Ha, ha.  And honestly, the toughest thing for me has been the need to slow down.  I do miss my ability to walk quickly and to get things done efficiently.  I’m much slower these days, and sometimes I do get frustrated with myself.  But I’m learning that it’s okay to slow down sometimes!

MovementBrady was moving so much the other day that I could actually see my stomach bouncing around a bit!  🙂  He isn’t very consistent yet though, so it’s hard for Nate to catch it at the right time.  He has felt Brady move once or twice, but that’s about it.

 Food cravings:   Pizza… Always pizza.  Also, the fresh, fall apples are in season, and I am loving them!!  I’m not usually a huge apple fan, but I’ve been eating two a day of these McIntosh apples!

Anything making you queasy or sick:  I’m done with the morning sickness for now!  🙂  Woo hoo!!!

Symptoms:  Anemia symptoms are still hanging around.  And like most preggo ladies, I have pretty intense leg cramps at night, occasional cramping, and fatigue.  But I can’t complain, because – in the grand scheme of things – I’m actually feeling pretty good!  I went for a brisk walk the other day, and I thought to myself, “Wow, I’m in my third trimester yet I still easily just walked two miles.”  When I first became pregnant, I had thought that I’d be sitting on the couch watching TV all day by this point.  Ha, ha.  And really, even though I’m not always entirely comfortable or pain-free, I actually am doing pretty great!

Final thought:  A part of me realizes that there is still SO much to do before baby arrives.  But then another part of me can’t wait for baby to get here!!!  🙂

Oh my goodness, my peeps, I’m going to have a baby in less than three months!!!!

19 thoughts on “Preggo Journal – Week 28 Recap

  1. Yay for the 3rd trimester…and for embracing the bump! 🙂 Cant wait to see your adorable maternity outfits!

    One thing that really helped the leg cramps [and the insomnia just a bit] was a good magnesium supplement. Natural Calm is a magnesium powder you add to water. It doesn’t taste bad at all and is available at local health food stores or on Amazon. Definitely was a big help with the cramping! Just a warning…watch how much you take in the beginning. It, ahem, was a great way to combat the nasty side effect of my iron pill. 😛

    • Ooh, thank you for the supplement info, Krista!! As you know, those leg cramps are no joke. Last night, I had a severe one in each leg… at the same time. I found myself wishing that I had taken Lamaze already so that I could use the breathing methods to just get through those cramps! LOL!
      Good to know that it will also help with those iron pill side affects. Ha, ha. 😉 I’ll start off slowly, as recommended!

    • Ha, ha. I know! I wonder if people will think that Nate is doing it wrong, since they were introduced to an entirely different version of the song by me. LOL!!

  2. Haha! You are so quick and clever to come up with something when you forgot the melody. I probably would have froze and starred out at the crowd like a deer caught in headlights! You look so fantastic!! I’m glad you are feeling good and I’m looking forward to outfit posts showcasing that cute bump.

    • I guess it was a God-thing that I made it through that first song! Ha, ha. Normally, I probably would have fainted. 😉
      And thank you so much! I’ve felt really energized and healthy these past few days… so I’m feeling great. I hope this continues for awhile longer! Ha, ha. 🙂

  3. So happy for you, even though I’m sick the entire 9 months-I still love it. It’s just the most miraculous process and an unbelievably beautiful gift. Plus delivery day is my all time favorite day it’s so perfectly romantic, I guess I’m kinda weird but I do love it! You look great, glad your feeling better and hope you can get some sleep!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    • Hmmmm, I couldn’t have said it better! It is a miraculous process AND a beautiful gift, for sure!
      I hope I have that same positive attitude on my delivery day! 🙂 I’d love to see the beauty in it, as apposed to focusing on – well – everything else! So I don’t think you’re weird at all. I think it’s an amazing outlook to have on that day, and I hope to be the same way!!
      Thank you so much!!!

    • It was probably a one-time deal, but I was so relieved when the melody just kind of came!!! Oh, the crazy joys of pregnancy! 🙂
      And at 34 weeks, you don’t have far to go! (I can’t believe how fast the last two trimesters seem to fly). Do you feel as though you’re ready at this point, or do you still have a lot to do? I really need to finish up the nursery and read a few books… Ha, ha. 🙂

  4. Love this post! You are absolutely radiant!
    And for the leg cramps – it might be a good idea to try some yoga & maybe some squats just before bedtime. I don’t know if that’ll help you or not – everyone’s different – but I know it worked for me.

    By the way.
    I sadly still get the leg cramps -.-

    • Thank you so much, Shelby! And yoga is a GREAT idea and something that I really want to try. Sometimes I do feel as though all my legs need are some really good stretches. Someone let me borrow their pregnancy yoga DVD’s, so I’m hoping to give them a try this week.
      And ‘ugh’ to your still getting those leg cramps! That is NO fun at all!!

      • Nope! No fun at all!
        Seriously though – the yoga is worth a try! Like I said, it doesn’t work for everyone, but.. I know that’s been one of the only things to work with me & a few others I know.. so hey, it’s really worth a shot!

  5. You must be so excited to be in the final stretch.
    It sounds like your pregnancy is going really well (in spite of the leg cramps and the anemia). I’m sure that you’re creating a super healthy and loving environment for Baby Brady.

    • I really am SO excited now that the end is in sight. In the beginning, I worried about all of the things that I still had to do. But the closer I get to Brady’s arrival, the more calm I feel and the more I just settle in… and feel ready for our new adventure to begin. 🙂
      And YES my pregnancy really is going so well! I was a little nervous when I first got pregnant; but I quickly learned that my body does all of the work, as long as I treat it right, eat right, and get the rest I need. 🙂 It’s amazing!

    • Thank YOU for liking it! ha, ha. Seriously!! I sometimes worry if my preggo posts are going to annoy people, because not everyone is probably interested in this sort of thing. But at the same time, my blog has always been a life blog and follows whatever adventure I’m currently on. And right now, pregnancy isn’t just a huge part of my life… In many ways, it IS my life. So I can’t help but bring in the stories and the details, even if – at first – I was so sure that I wasn’t going to write a whole lot about being preggo. So thank you for being so supportive of it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

