Living Life Spontaneous

It’s not a typical day for me, when I find myself at the grocery store before breakfast.  Then again, I’ve always said that I should be a little bit more spontaneous.  And when I woke up with an intense desire to bake, and realized that my morning and afternoon were free, I decided to just go with it.  Sometimes, that’s just the thing to do.

After all, if the cool weather that comes with fall isn’t enough reason to bake, I don’t know what is.

Also, I seem to have skipped the whole ‘pregnancy nesting phase’ and jumped head-first instead into a ‘baking phase’.  I can’t get enough of it.  I’ve been baking faster than my husband can restock our fridge with butter; and then I scurry around the neighborhood, dropping off baked goods so that my husband and I don’t eat it all ourselves.

Nate isn’t buying it completely, saying that my sudden urge to bake is probably less due to pregnancy urges and more due to the fact that I’m looking for any reason to avoid cleaning.  😉

I’m pleading the fifth on that one…

And, in my defense, before I came to the conclusion that I was going to spend my morning baking, I had cravings for bagels and cream cheese.  That, at least, was most-definitely a pregnancy craving, because I’m usually a cereal girl.  And normally, if I’m in the mood for food, I just shrug it off and wish that I had it.  In this case, since my husband had already left for the day, I found myself rolling out of bed, sliding a hat over my crazy hair, and rushing to the car for a quick trip to Dunkin Donuts.

It was one of those ‘if I don’t have a bagel with cream cheese soon, I’m going to die’ type of moments.

On my drive there, however, I decided that I should pick up a whole container of cream cheese and a bag of bagels.  You know, in case this craving should hit tomorrow as well.  And while I was at the store, I should also pick up a few supplies to make some cookies, since I really didn’t want to clean had that intense desire to bake again.

I suppose that, to most normal people, this type of morning may sound a little bit stressful and scatterbrained.  But it was actually quite nice to pick up breakfast things that I was craving and then to settle down at home to enjoy them.  A toasted pumpkin bagel, cream cheese, and a mug of apple cider.  I was pretty much in foodie heaven.

The cookies, unfortunately, didn’t have such a successful ending.  I’ve been wanting to try these Spiced Apple Drops for some time now, and I finally decided to just bake them already.  They tasted absolutely delicious, but they looked more like moon craters than the plump cookies they were supposed to resemble.  So while I decided not to bring them to Bible study, as originally planned, Nate and I did enjoy eating the few that hadn’t thinned out too much.  (I’m not sure what happened, as I followed the recipe to a T.  My only guess is that the apples were extra juicy and that the moisture caused the cookies to thin out too much.  That’s disappointing, because the apple pieces really did give the cookies a nice flavor.  Back to the drawing board, I suppose).  😉

I spent the rest of the day cleaning (see, I DO still clean) and getting ready for my two, upcoming days of teaching piano.  Around dinner, Nate took a bike-ride to a nearby lake for some exercise, called me once he got there, and suggested that I swing by with a pizza so that we could have a picnic.  Again, not a normal day for me.  But I’m not sure that I’d ever say ‘no’ to a picnic… or a pizza.

So we both sat at a picnic table by the lake and split a small pizza from our favorite Italian restaurant.  (I also stole a few sips of Nate’s rootbeer, because it’s a guilty pleasure of mine, not going to lie).

Shopping at the store for that morning’s breakfast…  Baking up cookies that taste delicious, even if they’re not so pretty to look at… And pizza-picnics by the lake…

Hmmm, maybe I should be spontaneous more often??  🙂

Are you spontaneous, or do you like to plan out your entire day?

6 thoughts on “Living Life Spontaneous”

  1. Looks like a lovely day! I never say no to pizza either. 😉 And I am totally a bagel and cream cheese kinda girl (blueberry is my favorite!). I tend to be a pretty structured person, but 10 years with Christopher (who is naturally more spontaneous) has taught me a lot about spur of the moment fun. 🙂 We have a good balance of it now, I think! 🙂

    1. Ooh, yes, blueberry bagels are my favorite too (followed by cinnamon raisin). Sooo good!!!
      And Nate is often more spontaneous than I am too! So it sounds like we’re balanced out the same way that you and Christopher are. Now that I’m pregnant though, I’m slowly learning to be more spontaneous, because I never know if I’m going to have a good, high-energy day… or an I’m-tired day. So I try not to plan too much these days, which opens the door to my being spontaneous. (Isn’t it funny how life’s experiences can change the way we do things)?? 🙂

  2. Pleeeeease teach me how to be spontaneous! It’s so funny that you were like “I woke up and realized I had the morning and afternoon free.” I was like “WHAAAAT?! I would’ve known that days in advance and planned something out!” I am such a weirdo. Your day sounds perfect though. Is it DD that has pumpkin cream cheese? SO good. Have you tried it??

    1. Ha, ha. Being pregnant is totally teaching me how to be spontaneous in ways I never had before. Normally, I’d have to write on the calendar “don’t make plans” so that I’d actually have a free morning or day once in awhile. LOL! (Please tell me that I’m not the only one who does that). 😉 But now that I’m pregnant, I’m slowly learning to be more spontaneous, because I never know if I’m going to have a good, high-energy day… or an I’m-tired day. So I try not to plan too much these days, which opens the door to my being spontaneous. And I have to say that it’s amazing. Like, why didn’t I live like this before?? 😉 It really is nice to wake up and realize that I can do with the day whatever I want to. (Because obviously, once the day hits, I have to DO things. But still, they’re spontaneous things, so it’s fun). I’m curious if this new, spontaneous side of me will stick around after pregnancy?

Leave a Reply

