Waving ‘Goodbye’ to One More Trimester

Today is the last day of my 2nd trimester….

I write that with a healthy mix of excitement and fear, as I honestly can’t believe that I’m facing the last trimester of my pregnancy.  I’m so excited to meet the baby boy who dances around in my belly and who seems to grow on a daily basis now.  Then, on the other hand, I feel as though time is speeding past at an alarming rate, and I realize that I still have so much to do and learn before he arrives.

Up to this point, I’ve only read What to Expect When You’re Expecting.  It’s a great book, but I’m pretty sure that reading a minimum of three books is a mother-to-be-requirement.  What if Brady is born before I’m finished with that third book?  What if I miss that one piece of information that would have made all the difference in the world?

Yes, I know, I know!!  My husband says the same thing.  We’ll survive.  And Brady will still probably be one of the happiest little boys in the world, because kids need love… not parents who have all the answers.

Still, I’m fairly certain that having most of the answers doesn’t hurt.  😉

That being said, I’ve decided to face this last trimester with the same attitude that I have all along:  I’m going to take it one day at a time.  AND I’m going to make these upcoming months count by focusing on the things that will keep me and baby healthy.  August was a busy month.  Maybe too busy.  So my goal for these last several months is to slow down a LOT and to make sure I have time to get the rest, exercise, and prepping done that I need to.  (I plan to recite that previous sentence verbatim to my doctor tomorrow at my checkup, as I’m slightly concerned that maybe I put on a bit more weight this past month than I needed to.  I definitely didn’t make time to exercise enough over the past few weeks, and there were a few too many splurges).  *sheepish grin*

I decided to start the month of September off strong by going for a small hike with my family yesterday afternoon.  Although I get out of breath faster than I normally would, I felt great!  The fresh air, forest scent, and light conversation left me feeling energized.

Although I do have to say that the conversation also left me hungry.  My family apparently talks about food… a LOT!  Within the course of three hours, my dad, mom, or sister managed to mentioned pizza, clams, macaroni and cheese, fried chicken, BBQ’d ribs, cheeseburgers, shrimp, and ice cream.  Pretty much all of my cravings thus far, except this was the first time that I craved all of them in one night.

Fifteen minutes after returning home from the hike, my parents called and asked if we were up for fried seafood.  Of COURSE we were!!!  So my parents, sister, husband, and I once again piled into my dad’s car, except this time we drove to our favorite fried seafood restaurant.  In my defense, my iron seems to be low, and clams are an excellent source of iron.  So, you know, I was just fighting anemia one fried clam at a time.  😉

(I split that plate of seafood with my hubby, by the way).  Ha, ha.

It will all come together.   I realize that.  🙂  And if I don’t get absolutely everything done that I planned to, that’s okay.  This last trimester is important to me, and I plan to make sure I do make time for rest, exercise, AND reading those two extra books.  😉  But just as summer is slowly melting into the colorful season of autumn, my third – and final – trimester will lead me to the beginning stages of motherhood.  And I’ll learn, and grow, and figure it out.

I still just can’t believe that it will be here so quickly!  🙂

 

21 thoughts on “Waving ‘Goodbye’ to One More Trimester

  1. home stretch!! woohoo! I’m a week and half away from being in that 3rd trimester and I’ve officially given myself permission to slow down. I get winded and tired so easily now and hate picking stuff up off the floor. Even had my husband tie my shoes the other day. As far as books go, my only recommendation is to watch the Happiest Baby on the Block DVD. You can buy it on Amazon pretty inexpensively and I recommend it to anyone having a baby. It saved us the first couple months!!!

    My fitness goals for myself are to make it to the gym 3x a week and I’ve scheduled my “treats” so I don’t just drink Almond chocolate milk all the time. haha

    • Isn’t picking things up off the floor just the worst?? I’m reaching that point myself. If I drop myself, I find myself sighing and then calling the hubby to come help. 😉
      I’ve never heard of that DVD, but I will most definitely be picking it up!! It sounds GREAT! Thank you so much for letting me know about it!
      And those are great fitness goals! Mine are similar… I want to go on a walk 3-4 days a week and just get that cardio in.
      Here’s to both of us giving ourselves permission to wind down!!! 🙂

  2. Good for you girlie!! You’re always so busy helping everyone out, so I’m glad to hear that you’re taking some time for YOU. Enjoy this last trimester! 🙂

  3. Definitely make time for yourself this trimester! It’s a gorgeous time of the year anyway!

    You should write a post about what books you’re reading in preparation. I have to admit, I kinda went overboard with what I read during the beginning of my pregnancy, to the point where I didn’t want to look at another pregnancy or birth book for most of the 2nd and 3rd trimesters. 😛

    • VERY good point! It will be nice to go on leisurely walks this fall amidst all the foliage. 🙂
      I’ll definitely do a ‘what I read’ post!! Do you have any suggestions or must-read books that I should check out?

  4. Sounds like you have the right idea! Plan and make lists- and know that if you don’t get some things done before the baby…they are things you really don’t need to do anyways 🙂 Get some “me” time in if you can!!! ENJOY!

  5. Yay for the third trimester! You are absolutely going to get those other two books read, but even if you didn’t – you know that you guys are going to be great parents. You are going to love Brady and nurture him and that’s what he really needs. 🙂 Also, I know you are saying that you’re putting on more weight than you feel like you need to, but you honestly still look great to me! You look totally healthy. I hope this third trimester gives you a little more space to rest, though. Don’t over do it, friend!

    • Best… clams… ever! And thank you so much for your kind words!! 🙂 (AND, yes, my family is so amazing it overwhelms me. They do so much that I wish I could do so-much-more to show them how much they mean to me). 🙂

  6. I can’t believe you’re in the third trimester now! I am so, so excited for you! I know I say that in like every comment…but I am!!

    Yay for fighting low iron with clams!

    Also, I think you have the best attitude about pregnancy in general!

Leave a Reply

