Thanks for the Blog Award!

Happy Friday, Everyone!!  🙂  Is it just me or did this week absolutely FLY by?  I honestly can’t believe that the weekend is already here.


 

Jeni from Sunny Day Sundays nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, which was so very kind of her!  🙂  Her blog always  brings a smile to my face, especially when she posts pictures of her adorable baby boy!  He’s just too cute!!

The nomination definitely brought a smile to my face, so thank you, Jeni!  Thank you soooo much!

Screen Shot 2014-08-16 at 10.00.57 AM

Here are the rules for this award:

1. Thank and link to the amazing person who nominated you.

2. List the rules and display the award.

3. Share seven facts about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

5. Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.


 

Here are seven facts about me:

1.  When I was super little, I told my parents that I was going to marry Michael Jordan someday.  I had seen his picture on the Wheaties box, and I figured that you couldn’t get much more famous than that.

2.  I had many guy friends growing up… but only one boyfriend.  And I married him.  (I guess you don’t need to date more than one, when you know – for sure – that you’ve found the one).  🙂

3.  I had been a Freshman in college for just two weeks when the September 11th terrorist attacks happened.  I was thousands of miles away from home (in Florida), and I was beyond terrified.  I don’t know what I would have done had it not been for three girls I met soon afterward on campus.  Mandy, the beautiful bride in this picture, asked me – after Speech class – to join her for lunch… and the rest is history.  The four of us became inseparable over the next two years, and I still think of them as sisters.  We stood together through some hard times, but also many beautiful times too.

(Hi, Mandy!!!)

4.  While I was a Junior in college, a girl who lived in my dorm used to tease me about how I’d one day marry a mountain man, have ten kids, and drive a mini-van.  I have no idea how this joke started, nor do I have any idea as to why it somehow managed to bother me so much.  At any rate, I still hate mini-vans to this day.  😉

5.  When I was a little girl, I almost drowned on a family vacation.  My parents were inside the cabin making dinner, thinking that I was playing on the beach with my brother and sister.  I had been, but then I decided I wanted to float around on a water-tube for a little while.  (I was too little to realize the dangers of going out into the water alone.  And my parents didn’t realize I had left the beach… It was one of those ‘ they closed their eyes for two minutes’ kind of things).  Anyway, as I bobbed along on the waves, the tide came in; and my dad stepped out of the cabin in time to see me floating away.  By that point, I was a little speck in the far distance, almost out of the small bay and into the endless ocean.  (I should add that I didn’t yet know how to swim).  My dad had to run – and then swim – out for a very long distance, and he saved my life that day.

6.  I’ve yet to write about it; but when I was 15 years old, I struggled with an eating disorder.  I keep wanting to write about it…  And I think I’m close to being able to share that experience.  I guess I’m just waiting for the right words.

7.  When Nate and I were just becoming friends, we attended a Christian, outdoor concert together, along with a large group of mutual friends…

Just as Jars of Clay began to sing Flood (Rain, Rain, on my face…), the clouds opened up and it began to downpour.  The crowd instantly scattered, and I lost sight of our entire group.  Nate had been beside me, so he grabbed onto my hand so that I didn’t get caught up in the stampede of running people.  I instantly stiffened, fearing that this guy – who I really didn’t know well – was being fresh and just looking for a reason to hold my hand.  So I let my hand hang limp… but I didn’t pull away, because I also didn’t want to get lost by myself in this darkness.  Nate really was just trying to protect me and still – to this day – tells people that holding my hand that first time was like holding a wet fish!  LOL!!

Don’t worry, we like holding each other’s hands now.  🙂


 

Last but not least, here are 15 blogs that I recommend checking out (and who I nominate for the Very Inspiring Blog Award).  I read so many amazing blogs (so really, I should be nominating every single one of them), but these are just a few that I’ve been reading for awhile now and on a regular basis.  🙂

They’re fun, so I thought you might want to check them out this weekend!

Yes, I Want Cake

The Fisk Files

A Desert Girl

Allie’s Life

Extending Grace

The Simple Dietitian

The 20 What

This Italian Family

Magnolias and Sweet Tea

Adventures with the Clawsons

 

SamanthaMenzies

Playing House

What You Make It

Perception is Everything

14 thoughts on “Thanks for the Blog Award!”

  1. Aww, thanks for the nom!
    That’s a crazy story about your near drowning experience! Your parents must have been very worried. Can you imagine?

    1. You’re so welcome!! 🙂

      And, yes, my parents were beyond terrified. (I think I might have to write an actual blog post about this experience now that I briefly told you all about it)! 🙂 It was definitely traumatic for my mom and dad, and I was crying so hard I couldn’t breathe. I thank God that my dad was a good swimmer and that adrenaline gave him a speed he wouldn’t normally have possessed! And I’m so thankful that it had a happy ending!!!

  2. Thanks for the nomination, lady!! You are so sweet! 🙂

    Also, WOW! So much here. You could’ve written an entire blog post about nearly all of these points! Most people are all like “oh I like fried pickles and my favorite color is Tiffany blue…” haha! I really enjoyed reading this!

    Aww, I had a bunch of guy friends growing up too. But only the one boyfriend who turned into the one husband. 😀 Also, that picture of you two from way back when is way too adorable!

    Those friends you make from college really can be life long! I was in high school still when 9/11 happened, but I actually didn’t find out about it until the next day (we were living in China so it happened in the middle of the night our time). I can’t imagine what it would be like to be far from home when something like that happens.

    I am SO glad your dad rescued you that day! What an amazing story! I cannot even begin to fathom the feelings your dad experienced from the moment he saw you floating out there until you were safe on dry ground again! Gives me chills just thinking about it!

    Kudos to you for opening up about your eating disorder. It can be a difficult thing to talk about and an even more difficult thing to write about. I battled anorexia when I was younger and I’m actually really pretty open about it because I want others to feel like I’m a safe person to talk to about it. But for some reason I haven’t blogged about it yet. It’s something I should write about, though. I look forward to hearing your story when you are ready to share.

    And finally, I am so glad that you and Nate still like holding hands even if the first experience of it wasn’t great. 😉

    1. You are SO welcome!! 🙂 Your blog is one that I truly look forward to reading every day. It’s like a fun, cozy chat with a friend; and it always puts a smile on my face! (It also makes me hungry sometimes. Ha, ha. I LOVE your restaurant reviews)!!

      And I feel the same way about the eating disorder experience… You’re right, sharing with others can bring hope, and it’s also an opportunity for someone to share what they’re going through. I’ve talked to a few girls who are going through it. I just don’t know why I’ve never been able to write about it. (Usually, it’s easier for me to write about something than to actually talk about it)!
      I think that maybe it’s because once I write it and hit publish, that’s what’s out there… And I want to make sure it’s right. It was a really painful thing to go through, but – at the same time – God healed me from it. So there definitely should be a balance of struggle and victory! I’m so glad that both of our stories have a happy ending!!!

      And I’m glad that Nate and I still like holding hands too. Hee, hee!! 🙂

      1. I’m with you on normally things being easier for me to write about than to talk about. I like being able to organize my thoughts in writing and then reorganize them so they make the most sense. Whereas when you’re talking, it pretty much comes out in the order you say it, haha! But yeah, I do look forward to hearing your story. I love hearing stories of how God redeems brokenness!

  3. You are so sweet, Nicole! Thank you! That story of you floating away into the ocean is TERRIFYING. I cannot imagine how your parents must have felt…gah, my stomach hurts thinking of that.

    1. You are SO welcome! I enjoy reading your blog so much and looking at the beautiful pictures that you take!
      And, yes, the near-drowning experience was TERRIFYING! My parents always tell new parents to make sure your kids are not left alone near the water – ever – because you never know when they might innocently wander into it. Thankfully my dad was a good swimmer, and adrenaline gave him a speed he probably wouldn’t have had otherwise. God was definitely watching over my family, that’s for sure!

  4. Nicole! You are so, so kind, thank you! I’m trying to figure out my stupid commenting system. Yours ALWAYS go to spam, and I forget about checking them. I’ve wanted to email you time and time again…to congratulate you on your baby boy!! (cannot wait!), to tell you how much your commenting means to me, to thank you for always making my day, etc. But, I don’t have your email – will you please send it to me?! britt.fisk@gmail.com Thanks 🙂

    1. I have a handful of commenters who end up in my spam box too. Not sure why that is! 🙂
      And you are VERY welcome!! Your blog always puts a smile on my face, and it makes me oh-so-excited to raise a little boy of my own someday soon. (Plus the pictures you take… They’re always so gorgeous or precious)!
      I ‘just’ emailed you!!! 🙂

    1. You are VERY welcome!

      AND that fish story isn’t your typical romantic story in the rain. I think when I tell it, people wait for the part where we kissed or something like that. Instead, all they get is a laugh from Nate while he tells him that holding my hand the first time was like grabbing a wet fish. LOL!!!!
      Then again, isn’t that story so us? Ha, ha!! We don’t like to follow the usual pattern and usually end up with a funny story to share. 😉

  5. I love that you married your one and only boyfriend!! I was in 7th grade when September 11th happened, I of course remember everything about that moment. Crazy how the memory works!

Leave a Reply

