My First Preggo Melt-Down (part 1)

Other than those nasty food aversions, pregnancy has been pretty easy up to this point.  Like not easy-as-pie kind of easy.  But definitely easier than I thought it would be.  I think that the coolest thing is that my body is doing all of the work.  Like blinking or breathing, growing a baby is one of those jobs that my body does on its own, and all I have to do is make sure I eat right and get the rest I need.

Now if only cleaning my house was so simple.  😉

Of course, even up to this point, there have been a few rough patches or moments of wow-I’m-glad-I’m-not-that-proud-of-a-person-because-this-really-could-have-been-embarrassing.  Like while up in the White Mountains with my family, I – without warning – let out the biggest belch in the history of belches.  I’m not even kidding.  I put my husband (and the entire male race) to shame with the magnitude of that burp, and I’m fairly certain I also pulled a muscle in my throat.

Before I could think of something to blame it on (like maybe a distant earthquake), my sister gasped at me with wide eyes and then exclaimed loudly to my parents, “That was Nicole!” 

Thanks, Sarah.  Thanks a lot.  😉

I’m told that the gas issues only get worse from here, so I can hardly wait.  By the time Brady is born, I’ll probably have won a world record or something.

Pregnancy brain has been pretty bad lately too.  I was baking chocolate chip cookies the other morning, and I suddenly panicked when I realized that I couldn’t remember how to set my oven timer.  Again, I’m not kidding.  I kept pushing buttons and somehow I was only adding seconds instead of minutes.  So I had to scream for Nate to come help me before my cookies burned.

He stared at me with his jaw dropped open as though he wasn’t sure whether to freak out or burst into laughter.  So I ended up grabbing his arm and pushing him towards the oven, exclaiming, “You can ask questions or laugh at me later.  But right now, put the buzzer on!”

Priorities after all!  There were baked goods at stake!

But for the most part, as I said, being preggo has been relatively easy.  And I’m able to laugh at the silly or slightly embarrassing moments, because I’m pregnant after all.  So I can blame it on that and therefore transfer the blame elsewhere.  It’s almost as good as claiming that you were somehow taken over by aliens.  People really do buy it as an excuse for almost everything!

Thank goodness! 

us

The other day, however, was just one of those everything-is-going-wrong kind of days…   And while I laughed at first, I started to get a little frustrated by the end.  😉

It started early in the day, when my feet and ankles started to swell (my first preggo experience with it, although I know it will not be my last).  I really did make a grand ol’ effort at laughing at my sausage toes and at the way the tops of my feet jiggled when I walked.

I even went so far as to proudly hike my cankles up on the dashboard of the car so that Nate could take a gander.  He kind of got the same look on his face as I do, when I’m being forced to watch a zombie movie.  I guess maybe next time I should warn him before I start waving my Elephant ankles in front of his face.

aww, love elephants.  They always look like they are smiling.

(photo source – Pinterest)

“Do they hurt?” Nate wanted to know.

“Just my pride,” I replied with a shrug.

“Well, you’re pregnant,” he said, reaching over and patting me on the knee.  “You have to remember that this isn’t forever, okay?  But remember, you’re still beautiful to me right now.”

Actually, he said sexy not beautiful.  But either way, I wasn’t feeling it.

We arrived home soon afterward, and I busied myself with organizing the bedroom.  At one point, I absentmindedly bent down to sit on the office chair – or where the office chair should have been – and ended up not-so-gracefully dropping to the floor because the office chair had been moved.  The crazy thing is that, at the time, I was leaving a voicemail for the parent of one of my piano students.  So in the voicemail, she hears an “oomph” as I hit the ground… and then me snorting because I’m laughing so hard.

I laughed so hard that I couldn’t even get up.  I just sat there giggling uncontrollably at how I had just fallen onto the floor.  I laughed; my feet jiggled.  And it was all good.

But then as the day went on and I ran around the house getting chores done (and piano lessons prepped), I started to feel a little over-tired…. And whole lot pregnant.  (to be continued…)

Pregnancy humor --

13 thoughts on “My First Preggo Melt-Down (part 1)

  1. Bahaha!! I could not stop laughing during this post. 😀

    And I feel as if I”m always saying this, but it’s true. You look absolutely RADIANT and beautiful. I love the pics of you and Nate from the weekend!! 😀

    • Thank you! And glad I could make you laugh! I was laughing to myself as I wrote it, because I couldn’t believe that it all happened in one day. Ha, ha!!

  2. Ahhh, what a nail biter!! I’m ready for part 2. So far I admire your ability to laugh at yourself and not take things too seriously. But I understand how THOSE days build and before you know it, the smallest thing is like the end of the world. I imagine that feeling is just multiplied when you’re pregnant!

    • It’s funny because – at first – I didn’t want to write too much about pregnancy, because I don’t necessarily want this to become a mommy blog. But at the same time, pregnancy is SUCH a huge part of my life right now. In some ways, it IS my life. 🙂 So there was just no way that I could keep it from my blog, and now I’m so glad I decided to document it. It will be fun to look back on someday as a memory!!

      • I know what you mean! I love that you are blogging about your pregnancy! I seriously look forward to reading those posts, haha! I feel like your blog is a “life” blog, and right now, like you said, pregnancy is your life! With that said, I also think you have great balance with pregnancy vs. non-pregnancy posts. Either way, I love all of your posts. They make me smile, tear up, and laugh out loud. 🙂

  3. Hahahaha! I literally laughed out loud at the part about you falling while leaving a voicemail. I can only imagine how humorous that was! I’m glad you weren’t injured! And that Nate can still set the timer for you. It’s good to have him around. 😉 I’m looking forward to hearing the rest of this story!

  4. Just think if you were pregnant with twins how many excuses you’d have!!!

    I wish someone had gotten that burp on video. Did anyone suffer hearing loss after the incident? 😉

    • HA! That’s true!! (Still kind of glad that I only have one in there though, despite the fact that I really could use the extra excuses. Hee, hee).
      And although no one suffered hearing loss from the great burping incident, I really did have a sore throat afterward! And my pride may have been bruised just a little. 😉 LOL!!

  5. Pingback: My First Preggo Melt-Down (part 2) | Just Live It!

Leave a Reply

