Preggo Journal – 23 Weeks

How far along:     23 weeks… and counting!!

How big is baby:  This week, according to websites that compare baby to the size of veggies and fruits, Brady is the size of a grapefruit.  I’ll bet he’s lots sweeter than a sour grapefruit though!

 

 Total weight gain:   I hadn’t gained any additional weight for my last doctor’s appointment, but I did put on an additional 10 pounds in time for today’s visit!  So now, the total weight gain is 24 pounds, which is about a pound a week total.  I could probably lay off the carbs a bit, but – eh – my doctor isn’t worried at all.  She said I’m looking healthy, as is my baby; so I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing!  (Except maybe I’ll try to focus a bit more on fruits and veggies, instead of always reaching for the comfort foods I’m craving).  😉

 Gender:  Team blue!!

Name:  Brady

 Maternity clothesI’ve still only purchased maternity shorts and that one sundress.  That being said, my jeans don’t button anymore, so I’ve been wearing them with long shirts and a belly band.  (Even that is feeling snug around my belly though, so I’ll be investing in a pair of maternity jeans soon)!  And I’m down to just a handful of shirts that still fit, so I will be going maternity shopping sooner, rather than later.  🙂

 Sleep:   I’ve been sleeping quite well up to this point…  BUT all that is about to change, I imagine.  😉 (Keep reading to find out why).

 Miss anythingSleeping on my back!!!  Sooo, I have been sleeping on my back, but my bestie Liz called me with very important information tonight: once your second trimester hits, you’re not supposed to sleep on your back anymore.  It cuts off blood flow to the baby.  I searched online, hoping we were wrong; but apparently all the major baby websites do highly recommend sleeping on your side, due to complications that can arise after sleeping on your back too long.  Let’s just say that I immediately ordered a body pillow from Amazon!!  🙂  Hopefully it helps!

MovementLots of flutters and a few real kicks.  (Brady is really low in my belly, so sometimes it feels as though he’s already trying to claw his way out).  Ha, ha.

 Food cravings:   No major food cravings this week, except for a 4am craving for pancakes.  (Yes, I woke up at an extremely early hour in order to whip up a batch.  I was tired… but it was totally worth it).  I also can’t get enough of Triscuits, cheddar cheese, and cherries!

Exercise:  I did a lot of walking while away on vacation with my family last week.  (Hey, walking is exercise, even if you’re just walking around a mini-golf course, right??).  But other than that, I haven’t been as faithful with the exercise as I should be.

Anything making you queasy or sick:     Not really, although I could have done without the heat today…  🙂

Symptoms:  Back pain.  AND I had my first case of swollen ankles / feet this week.  It so wasn’t sexy, but it definitely made me laugh!

 Have you started to show yetOh, yes, I have popped! 

preggo

Happy or moody most of the time:    Happy!  🙂

16 thoughts on “Preggo Journal – 23 Weeks

  1. You look absolutely radiant! So happy that you’ve been feeling well. And sounds like you’re right on track for the weight gain. One pound a week is usually what’s recommended during the 2nd and 3rd trimester. 😀

    Oh, and walking totally counts as a an exercise!! It’s amazing how many steps/miles you can rack up in a day just by hustling about, here and there. 😀

    • Thank you!!! 🙂 I have a feeling that I’ll probably go over the weight I had originally hoped to cap off at, just because I gained so fast at the beginning (due to the constant nausea). But at the end of the day, I really do feel healthy! And as long as my weight is considered healthy – and I feel healthy – then I plan to rock the preggo glow and to not worry about it!!! 🙂
      And that is so true about walking adding up. I had to clean my house this morning before piano lessons and the rushing around – on top of running up and down stairs – was definitely a full-fledged workout for sure!! 🙂

  2. I’ve been eating tons of cherries lately too! They are so good right now! 🙂

    Also, I’m a total tummy sleeper. So I’m not looking forward to trying to figure out how to sleep once there’s a giant belly between me and the bed, haha! But I’ve heard those pillows are magic! So hopefully it’ll work for you (and me later)! 🙂

    • Cherries are most definitely one of my favorite fruits!!! They’re usually so expensive (they can get up to $7.99 a pound up here), but – in the summer – they drop down to about $2.99 a pound. I have totally been taking advantage of the cheaper prices! 🙂
      And, yes, the not sleeping on my stomach has been rough. But it’ll be worth it!! And my body pillow comes in soon, so I imagine that will help a TON! I’ll definitely let you know!

    • Thank you!! 🙂 (And now that you say that, I’ve yet to have a stranger comment on my belly. I guess the countdown begins as to when that will happen, because it will most definitely be soon)!! 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness!! Your belly is precious. You are precious. Keep doing what you’re doing because you’re looking great. Fingers crossed that your pregnancy pillow keeps you in good zzzzz’s.

  4. Yay for the cute baby bump! I love it! I am so sorry about the sleeping on your back vs. side thing… that would be tough to adjust to! You’ll have to let us know how the pillow works out!

  5. Not being able to sleep on my back has been such a pain–and I never thought I slept on it that often! My doctor assured me it was OK if I woke up on my back sometimes, as long as I just rolled over to the side when I went back to sleep. My snoogle helps a lot. Hopefully your pillow works out.

    You look great. Such a cute bump! 🙂

Leave a Reply

