It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

First of all, I apologize for getting that Christmas song stuck in your head…  Which reminds me, there are only 146 shopping days until Christmas, so – you know – you’d better get on that.

ha, ha!  Yeah…. Me neither.  😉

Secondly, football season has officially begun!  (Well, maybe not officially.  But the New England Patriots began their training camp on Thursday; and Nate and I made it to that training, as well as to the first padded training).  Nate has been counting down the days for weeks; and when we woke up early Thursday morning for the practice, he sat up in bed and exclaimed, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year!”

I was a little freaked out at first, but then I realized what day it was.  Nate is always like a little boy on Christmas morning, when training camp rolls around.  🙂

I’m not going to lie, football season makes me a little giddy as well.  I’ve always loved the fast-paced, physical sport; and – let’s face it – football comes with some of the best foods.  😉  (Chili, nacho’s, chicken wings, and potato skins anyone??).  But being married to Nate definitely took my love to a whole new level, and even I find myself listening to Sports Radio these days.

Gulp, what kind of monster has he turned me into?

DSC02460

Now granted, I’ll probably always be a fair-weather fan, when it comes to the Red Sox, Bruins, and Celtics.  I love to hear that they’re doing well, but I’ll probably never watch more than the playoff games.  But football?  That’s my thing!  And over the years, it’s become our thing.  🙂  I love that it’s something Nate and I can be so excited about together.

And I’m not going to lie, I also love that I know more about the sport than most of his guy friends.   I’m his first pick to go to a Patriot’s game or practice, because I actually know what’s going on.  (I kind of take special pride in the fact that he prefers to take me and that we can be crazy, New England fans together).  🙂

DSC02363

Both mornings of practice were definitely a blast, although the padded training was my favorite.  And it was fun to see the players up close (especially since some of them have a great sense of humor).

DSC02421

“Hi, Gronkowski!  Please don’t get injured this year!!”

Oh, yes, and we got to see our favorite – Tom Brady!  🙂  I love that he not only works so hard in practice (even though he’s obviously already proven himself as an amazing quarterback over the years), but that he also makes time to sign autographs for sick or disabled children who make it to the event.  And in an age when so many athletes are all about me-me-me, it’s refreshing to see a player that would take a pay-cut just to remain loyal to his team.

DSC02415

I was a little afraid that Nate was going to yell, “Hey, Brady, we’re naming our son after you!”  Ha, ha!  But he didn’t, so embarrassment averted.  😉

Yep, let the football season begin!  Nate and I are definitely ready!!  🙂

DSC02449

7 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

  1. It is sooooo cool that you get to go to watch a pro team’s training camp!! K and I both made it home for lunch the other day and we watched the Seahawks training camp on TV for awhile. I would love to go to one in person!!

  2. I’m so ready for Christmas and have already started my Christmas shopping! My hubby and I haven’t always been huge in to football, but he’s started doing Fantasy Football, so now we pay attention because we’ve gotta win!! Haha.

    1. Good for you!!! I ‘need’ to start Christmas shopping, because my goal is to be done by the end of October (since baby arrives at the end of November). 🙂 In the past, I’ve always been a last-minute Christmas shopper, so I hope to turn that around this year. Ha, ha.
      And good luck on your Fantasy Football!!! Keep me posted on how you’re doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

