My Preggo Reality

I’ve never been a huge fan of kale.  I try to like it.  Really, I do.  In fact, I try so hard that I buy it almost on a weekly basis; although most times, it sits in my fridge until it’s withered and brownish.  At which point I toss it into the trash and buy another bunch to get me through the week.  Maybe someday I’ll come to the realization that kale just isn’t my thing, but – for now – I want to be ready, should I be overcome by a sudden, kale-craving attack.  Also, I’m pretty sure that buying kale at least gives me some sort of health points (minimal as they may be) that I can put towards a splurge item.

Like chocolate cake.

Chocolate Cake

The funny thing is that I always thought that once I became pregnant, I’d somehow find within myself the strength to give up everything but whole grains and veggies… and kale.  The precious bundle of joy inside of me would help me overcome my ever-stubborn sweet tooth, and I’d live off of carrot sticks and seven grain bread for nine months.  I’d also continue jogging until my belly became really huge, at which point I’d stick to daily yoga; and the neighbors would shake their heads in silent awe.

*Insert the sound of crickets chirping*

Pregnancy woke me up to reality like a slap to the face.  Food aversions and pregnancy nausea are no joke.  Like seriously, my peeps, they’re not funny at all.  They’re real, and powerful, and convinced me that carbs were the only thing that would make me happy.

Pie

Broccoli = bad.

Pizza = good.  (Make that a mushroom with extra cheese, please).

Then finally the nauseous phase is over, you’re starting to feel better and able to eat a wider range of foods… and all that sounds good are carbs still.  Hmmm, so when do the vegetable cravings begin?  Sometimes I even try to convince myself that I want carrot sticks for a snack, and I even go so far as to prepare them.  But then an invisible force-field implodes out of nowhere, blocking my hands from grabbing the veggie, followed by a powerful magnet that pulls me to the bin of muffins on the counter.

It’s really quite traumatic.

And delicious.

Sigh….

Eat all the food!

I fought it for awhile, but then I reasoned with myself that there are a lot of worse things out there than pizza.  And at least muffins aren’t fried, so – in a sense – they’re way healthier than donuts.  Besides, at the end of the day, as my friend Liz says, “A preggo has to do what a preggo has to do.”  Sometimes the munchies come calling, and you just have to give the baby what it wants.  And let me tell you, baby wants a bagel with cream cheese right about now!

So while it would be nice to experience cravings for broccoli, spinach, and kale (for once in my life), I’m just going to appreciate the fact that I’m feeling a ton better and that food is my friend again.  Nicole the foodie is back… mostly.  And, hey, I’ll take it!

Breakfast

As for bringing back the foods that I had an aversion to for so long, I’m taking baby steps. I could still take-or-leave chicken, but I’ve nibbled on the lean meat occasionally over the past couple of weeks. I’ve been adding broccoli to my pizza again.  Last night, I ate a stir-fry absolutely exploding with veggies, and I ate every bite before the force-field could deter me.  And – well – there’s kale sitting in my fridge, so I’ve still got those bonus points.  🙂

I purchased a notebook to begin my food and fitness journal, so I’ll keep you posted on whether or not that motivates me to reach for veggies a little more. I’m really going to try!

veggies

 

17 thoughts on “My Preggo Reality”

  1. ha. oh man. I have cravings all the time for very specific items (never healthy) so I’m sure I’m destined to be a horribly unhealthy pregnant lady. I’ll probably have nightmares about accidentally eating meat (I used to have these). Thanks for sharing your experience! The journal sounds like a good idea… what exactly are you writing? Perhaps I need one for weight loss. Food, workouts, how you feel…?

    Oh also, put kale in a smoothie! Or spaghetti sauce. I’ve done both and you don’t notice it.

    1. I officially started using the food journal yesterday, and I think it will be helpful. I’m not writing down calories or anything like that ( too much work). BUT I am writing down what I ate for breakfast, lunch, snacks, etc. I also record exercise, water intake, and how I felt. And at the end of the day, it helps me see what I’m eating too much of (if anything). For example, yesterday I realized that I really didn’t eat enough veggies, and that I reached for carbs a bit too much (as usual). 😉 I also didn’t need the icecream I ordered, but – eh – it was totally worth the calories!!! 🙂 At the end of this week, I’ll blog about how it’s going, but I think this is going to be helpful.
      I think I also might add weekly goals. This week, I kept it easy, and my goal is to just journal every day. 🙂 But I’d like to start focusing on adding more veggies, or upping my water intake, or things like that.
      Hmmm, and I’ll bet kale would be good in spaghetti sauce. I need to try that! I had it in soup once, and I really didn’t mind it too much that way. So maybe I need to start being more creative and actually putting it into things!! 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion!

      1. Thanks for explaining! I’m debating between just using a blank notebook or buying a journal that’s specifically for food and fitness. I actually don’t think it matters much except that if it’s official, maybe I’ll treat it like it’s official.

        Too many carbs… story of my life. Shall we attend a Carb Lovers Anonymous meeting together?

  2. Seriously this is PERFECT!!! I just had my baby 4 months ago and the way you describe pregnancy cravings is exactly how I felt. I actually eat things like dark leafy greens but it was the first food aversion to hit. I was eating my salad being like “I think I might puke”, I then switched to mac and cheese and all was well. I am pretty sure I LIVED on mac and cheese for the first trimester. Lol Later on I started to crave lots of meat! Not like lean chicken or turkey, it was like a big juicy burger! My poor baby! Ultimately, veggies and even fruit didn’t make it into my craving bucket at all. haha!

    1. YES! Same here… I couldn’t believe how badly spinach made me gag… while mac and cheese (or pizza) always seemed to hit the spot! 🙂 And I’m in the craving certain meats phase now too. I can’t stand chicken, but give me a rack of BBQ’d ribs, and I am in heaven! 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you are finally able to eat more foods! Is it bad that this post made me laugh? I mean, it’s far from funny that you haven’t felt well, but your little pictures that you posted cracked me up. Especially the “kitkat breakfast casserole”. 😉 I hope that kale craving kicks in soon! 😛

    1. Ha, ha! I’m glad this post gave you a chuckle!! Although it’s 100% accurate, I did write it a bit tongue-in-cheek. Whenever I’m writing about things like this, I’d rather wait to write a post until I’m either past it… or at least able to see the humor in the situation! I’d much rather people laugh about the experience with me, as apposed to feel bad after. (Although we both know that life happens, so not every post can be happy or funny). But I certainly prefer it that way!!
      So this post WAS meant to put a smile on people’s faces, and I’m glad it did for you! (Even if you felt a little bad for chuckling at my food aversions. Hee, hee).
      And I’m still hoping for that kale craving too!!! LOL! 🙂

    1. YUM! I can’t imagine anything tasting bad after it’s fried, so I’m sure that’s amazing! And my hubby adores everything bacon, so even he would probably like it!! Ha,ha. 🙂

  4. First of all, you made me want mushroom pizza… thanks a lot ;).

    I definitely have the same thoughts about pregnancy as you did before you got pregnant–I’m going to be so healthy la la la! I know it will probably be the opposite, and I’ll probably be way too tired to workout haha. It’s good that you’re okay with just taking it day by day and trying your best to beat those force fields LOL. I just hope I odn’t have any aversions to peanut butter if/when I get pregnant because it makes up like 50% of my diet :-p

    1. You know, I totally want mushroom pizza right now too! I wish you lived closer! I’d invite you over to split one with me!!! 🙂
      And if you’re anything like me, you won’t have any problem eating peanut butter. 🙂 I still absolutely ADORE the stuff (and it’s what got me through the worst of the meat aversions. I lived off of peanut butter and cheese for a few weeks straight).

    1. Hmmm, I think I will!! As usual, pizza sounds amazing, and I could really go for some… And I doubt the hubby will complain if I suggest having that for supper. 😉

  5. It’s super common for women to have aversion to greens during pregnancy, especially during the first trimester.
    I bet it has some sort of evolutionary reasoning behind it. Perhaps greens aren’t actually that great for baby for some reason that we haven’t yet discovered?

    1. You know, I was kind of thinking the same thing. We probably will find out one day that our bodies are telling us what foods to avoid during that first trimester!

Leave a Reply

