Preggo Journal – Week 20

How far along:     20 weeks!

How big is baby:  This week, according to websites that compare baby to the size of veggies and fruits, Baby B is the size of a banana.

DSC01868

 Total weight gain:   14 pounds, so far.  (Technically, you’re only supposed to gain about 5 pounds your first trimester, but my doctor isn’t worried about it… so neither am I.  As long as me and baby are healthy, I’m happy!!  Also I was eating a lot to help control the nausea for the first trimester, so hopefully – now that I’m in the second trimester – the weight gain will balance out).

 Gender:  Boy!!  🙂

Name:  We’ve picked a name and will be announcing it very soon.  YAY!!!

 Maternity clothes:My jean shorts are maternity from Target, and I also have a very comfy maternity sundress (the black one I’m wearing in the pic above).  Other than that, everything else isn’t maternity yet.  But I am taking advantage of belly bands and keeping the top button of my jeans unbuttoned, because they’re getting a little snug around the belly.  🙂   And my clothing options that still fit are definitely starting to become much more limited, so maternity clothes will soon be my best friend!

 Sleep:   I sleep really well during the night (other than waking up fifty-million times to pee), but I wake up super early every morning for some reason.   (This week was particularly hot and humid, so I also took two afternoon naps).

 Best moment of this week:   The gender reveal ultra-sound, for sure!  We were so excited to find out that our sweet little baby is a boy.  Receiving the crib that my parents ordered for us was a close second though.  🙂  I can’t wait until Nate puts it together!!

DSC01859

Awkward moment this week:  So I ran into a girl that I used to work with, and I told her that I’m pregnant.  She congratulated me and asked how far along I was.  I said “four weeks” with a smile, not realizing that I had replaced ‘months’ with ‘weeks’.  She looked a little puzzled, but then continued on with the conversation without missing a beat.  When she walked away, I realized what I had done, quickly found her, and laughingly said, “Oops, I’m actually four months!”

She laughed, pointed at my belly, and said, “That makes more sense!”

She walked away… and then I realized, “Wait, I’m actually five months!”

But I didn’t want to look like an idiot, so I didn’t chase her down with this corrected information.  😉

 

Miss anything:I really, really miss running.  My doctor gave me the go-ahead to run, but my body just doesn’t feel up to it.  So I’ve been walking instead.

Movement:Just tiny little flutters that feel like gas bubbles in my tummy.  🙂

 Food cravings:   Mashed potatoes… and pretty much any carb in general!  That being said, my favorite food of the week was a BLT.  My friend Liz introduced me to nitrate-free, turkey bacon, and it is amazing!

DSC01874

 

Anything making you queasy or sick:     Chicken.  I still can’t stand the taste or smell of it.

Symptoms:  My upper back aches ALL the time.  The backaches get worse at night, so my hubby has been giving me backrubs before bed.  I’m convinced that his knickname should be ‘Olga’; because when he feels a knot in my back, he really works it out.  It hurts SO much when he does it… but then my back feels a little better, so the pain is worth it!!!  Ha, ha.

 Have you started to show yet:Oh, yes, I have officially popped!  Just the other day, Nate looked at my belly and said, “Wow, you really look pregnant.”  Then he smiled and said, “It looks good on you.”  🙂  That made my heart happy.

 

bump

Labor signs:     Still way too early for that!

Happy or moody most of the time:    I’d say that I was happy for about 99% of the week!  😉  I did have a rough day of pregnancy hormones once this week (I wanted to cry all day), but I can honestly say that I’ve been so happy and positive most days.  So no complaints there!

Final thought:  I cannot believe that I’m halfway there!!!!

12 thoughts on “Preggo Journal – Week 20

  1. Awww, this post made me so happy! You look absolutely beautiful and radiant. I can’t believe you’re already 5 months along. Time flies by so fast!! I was just thinking the other day that next year at this time, Baby “B” will be around 8 months old!!! Isn’t that crazy?

    So glad you’re enjoying each day and each moment of your pregnancy. 😀

  2. Oh that Nathan! Thank God there’s going to be a mini-Nate in the world since you wouldn’t let me clone him. haha.

    Love these updates! Keep ’em comin! Hope you continue to feel great minus the backaches.

    • Ha, ha!!! 🙂 I know, Nate really is a good guy. I can’t wait to meet the mini version of him!
      AND thank you for your enthusiasm and support! I wasn’t sure if people would enjoy reading the preggo updates or not, but it’s such a big part of my life right now, that I don’t know how I could ‘not’ write about it! 🙂 So thank you for that encouragement!

  3. Pregnancy DOES look good on you! Nate is such a sweetie. 🙂 And the backrubs too – he’s a good one, that husband of yours!

    So I pretty much always crave carbs… there’s no telling what’s going to happen when I’m pregnant, haha!

Leave a Reply

