20 Before 20

On Thursday, I’ll have reached 20 weeks, which means that I’m halfway through this pregnancy.  Remember how I said that all of my doubts and fears dissolved once I became pregnant and realized that this is what I was meant to do?  Well, some of the doubt (maybe panic is a more accurate word?) returned, when I realized just how close I am to the halfway mark.  (Is there such a thing as a mid-pregnancy crisis?)

I still know, without a shadow of a doubt, that this is what I want more than anything!  But it feels as though I glided my way through the first few months, blinked, and somehow reached a stage in the game at which I’ve now crossed the top of the hill and am currently hurtling back down at breakneck speed.  Really, how can we already be halfway there?

I haven’t read enough books yet!  I don’t have a preggo exercise routine.  I still don’t like eating kale.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that 20 weeks is still plenty of time to get the necessary things done (in addition to completing some fun extra things that might be on my to-do list).  And at the end of the day, everything will come together; because I have a great support system, a woman’s intuition, and a great man for a husband.  So even if the upcoming arrival of the halfway mark might have been a bit of an awakening for me, I quickly realized that – for now – my body is naturally doing all of the work anyway.  (I mean, how much more work would it be if I actually had to think about growing those ten fingers and toes??  I’m so glad that I can just focus on eating lots of yummy food in order to support that growth)!

Yeah, it’s all going to be okay!  🙂

That being said, I thought it would be fun (and for a few items, helpful) to come up with a list of 20 things that I’d like to accomplish in the next 20 weeks.  So without further ado, here is my 20 Before 20 list!!  🙂

20 Before 20 List

1.  Buy Baby a special outfit from Mommy (me) and Daddy (Nate)
2.  Start a food journal to document my eating habits (and to encourage healthy eating in last trimester).  Hey, I at least get brownie points for trying!!  (Wait, brownies?  Wow, that sounds amazing right now…).
3.  Baby gender reveal photo-shoot
4.  Finish nursery
5.  Pick a baby name
6.  Register for baby things
7.  Enjoy some pampering!  Get a mommy-to-be manicure (and maybe a massage too?)
8.  Have fun at my baby shower
9.  After baby shower, write thank-you notes for all guests
10.  Complete Christmas shopping by end of October
11.  Starting in October, freeze chili’s, soups, and casseroles to make up at least 10 meals
12.  Take parenting and breast-feeding classes
13.  Tour maternity section of hospital
14.  Begin baby blog (I’d LOVE to start a blog on which I write letters to my child and also document milestones and precious memories).
15.  Go on a baby-moon with Nate (even if it’s just for one night)
16.  Read at least two more pregnancy books (I already read What to Expect When You’re Expecting)
17.  Pack hospital bag (and buy recovery room nightgown and robe)
18.  Find a pediatrician
19.  Get my hair cut shorter for easy care after delivery
20.  Browse birth announcements and narrow down favorites (also pin some baby photo-shoot ideas)
13 thoughts on “20 Before 20”

  1. I really recommend Mindful Motherhood by Cassandra Vieten.
    It offers some really practical advice for staying sane and not losing your cool during stressful situations that occur in pregnancy and early motherhood. It has solid advice on how to be mindful, has a few simple mindfulness exercises, and it’s really approachable (that is, it doesn’t require some crazy overhaul of your life to implement). Definitely worth a read! I found it helpful to me and I don’t even have experience with pregnancy or kids.

    1. I love lists too, so I thought it’d be fun to keep goals in mind… but also to have that sense of accomplishment as I completed things! 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 And I thought that a blog focused solely on baby’s special moments would be nice. That way, when our child is older, he can look back on the memories we all had together. 🙂

    1. Oh my goodness, those letters! That blog! I read the first one and will probably need tissues to get through the rest! (Oh, those pregnancy hormones)! Thank you for sharing the link with me, because I will enjoy reading those mother’s letters to her daughter. How precious!
      AND you are already helping a ton by just being an amazing support group, by always making me smile, and by letting me know that you have my back, even if we’re separated by miles! 🙂

Leave a Reply

