Baby Poll!

After weeks of 24/7 nausea and extreme fatigue, I’m pretty ecstatic that the ‘switch’ has finally been flipped and I’m experiencing that wave of energy and health that so many of my friends promised would come.  It did take a few more weeks than I had hoped; but at 18 weeks, I’m feeling absolutely great!  No more nausea…  No more persistent headaches…  I don’t even randomly fall asleep between 2pm and 3pm anymore.

Other than those stubborn food aversions, life is positively great!  (And, hey, I actually ate a chicken-salad sandwich for lunch yesterday and kind of enjoyed it, so there’s hope yet where that’s concerned too).

The only problem with this newfound energy is that it’s a little unpredictable.  Just this morning, for example, I woke up at 5:30am and felt like a bundle of energy just waiting to explode.  So I did what any normal housewife would do at such an early hour, and I got up to bake cookies.  I then crashed around dinner-time… and now it’s nearly midnight, and I feel as though I have so much energy again that I could scrub the house from top to bottom!  I think this might mean that I’ll sleep in late tomorrow, but – these days – one never knows.  😉

Baby! 001

I kind of love it though.  While the unfamiliar will usually freak out organized, ducks-in-a-row kind of people such as myself, there’s something about pregnancy that helps you get over that really fast.  Suddenly, there’s a whole lot that you can’t control, even if you really wanted to.  So there’s a choice of embracing the mystery… or facing a very long nine months.  Even Nate commented to me that, after he found out that I was pregnant, all of his fears kind of disappeared and all he could focus on was one thing:  we’re going to have a baby!

And really, that’s suddenly all that mattered to either of us.  It was as though in that one instant, we took a giant leap towards realizing that peace comes when you let go and let God.  When you start to take life one day at a time, instead of trying to plan out an entire future.

That ultrasound pic makes my heart leap with excitement and pure love.  🙂  (And apparently we either have a soccer player, football punter, or ballerina arriving soon, because look at that leg)!

In exactly ONE week, we find out if our precious Baby B is a boy or a girl!  (Well, that is, we’ll find out if baby decides to cooperate).   And so here’s the poll question.  Do you think we’re going to have a boy or a girl?  (Your guess is as good as mine at this point)!  🙂

6 thoughts on “Baby Poll!”

  1. Yayy!! I’m glad you’re feeling on the upswing! That is fantastic news. 😀

    AND, you already know this, but I’m feeling as if Baby “B” is a Girl. 😀

  2. I am so glad that you have the energy of two now! Be sure to get some good rest – you know, when you feel like resting!

    I am feeling like the babe is a boy. That’s my gut. (But I’m rarely right with my guesses, so that probably means it’s a girl.)

  3. I missed guessing but I probably wouldn’t have anyway. I never know.

    I’ve said for a few years now that I hope to chill out when I have kids (like a baby… so in this case I can’t count J-slice). I’m really hoping that’s the case although I wish I could make it happen sooner. How do I stop trying to plan for everything?!??? I’m happy to hear that you’re (mostly) able to focus on one thing at a time these days.

Leave a Reply

