Gone Camping

I’m not sure if it was due to pregnancy brain or just exhaustion over having not slept very well the night before….

(For the record, it is possible for frequent bathroom trips throughout the night to become even more inconvenient. Just add a tent in the middle of the woods, the need to wear shoes, and a small hike to the closest bathroom, and – well – you’re suddenly not going to complain about having to walk from your bed to the bathroom ever again).

So whether it was just me being absentminded  (or me being exhausted from my constantly waking up and having to leave the tent throughout the night), I found myself stuck in a campground shower… without a towel. 

I’m going to lean towards the fact that I was just being absent-minded.  I get that way sometimes, especially when life is busy.  Or especially when I’m rushing to go away on a short camping trip with my hubby.  I kind of forget to be organized and on top of things in my hurry to just get the vacay started.  So while I like to blame things on being pregnant, I’m sure that sometimes I’m just being myself.  😉

1edited89

 *insert sheepish grin*

I grew up camping with my family, and it’s an outdoor activity that Nate and I have enjoyed together for years. Add pregnancy to the mix, however, and suddenly it does seem to be a whole new ballgame. It’s a little like fear-factor meets Survivor. You never know what you’ll end up with.

1edited 2

 The thing about camping is that you need to be organized. So if you decide to forget to pack the flashlights, you will be walking to the bathrooms in pitch-back darkness, stomping your feet as you go so that you will scare off any wildlife lurking in the surrounding woods. Granted, packing the flashlights is technically my job; but when you’re pregnant, how can you fully be held responsible?  😉 

One morning, I woke up around 5:30am and walked to the bathroom all by myself, not wanting to wake up Nate (since my preggo bladder had already woken us both up more than once).  I stomped my feet quite loudly on my trek to the restrooms, trying to scare off any animals larger than a squirrel.  The walk felt like eternity; and when I reached my point of destination, I slammed the heavy bathroom door behind me, just like a scene from Jurassic Park.  😉  Two minutes later, while I washed my hands and wondered if bears could open bathroom doors, a little old lady walked in behind me… and I’m not sure who came the closest to getting a heart attack. 

I think it might have been me, but I’m not completely sure.  I sure jumped the highest.  I mean, really, who says that white girls can’t jump?

Oh, and if you forget to pack graham crackers for the s’mores (suddenly at the top of your cravings list), your husband will suddenly find himself running to the camp store, just before it closes, in order to pay over $5 for a box.  Because you can’t put a price tag on a s’more when the preggo cravings have hit.

1edited24

 

Also, if you fail to grab all of your shower necessities from the car before taking a shower, you will be left shivering and wondering how in the world you could forget something as important as a towel.  And then, while giggling to yourself like a crazy person, you have to decide whether to wait an hour while you dry… or use your pajamas as a make-shift towel. 

I figured that Nate would get nervous if I waited the hour; so lucky for me, I had packed some pretty thick pajamas! 🙂 But still, they didn’t dry out during the day as much as I would have liked, so it did make for a damp evening the following night.  😉

1edited39

 Thank goodness for warm, thick blankets that help keep out the evening chill!! (Yes, a warm, snuggly blanket did make it onto the ‘must remember’ list apparently). 

1edited100

Silly me!!  It was all quite comical… even in the moment. Life (and vacation at that) is way too short to not see the humor in most situations. So camping while pregnant?   It was a brand new adventure, that’s for sure. But it was a fun adventure, just the same!

(Minus the bathroom treks in the wee hours of the day, of course).  🙂

10 thoughts on “Gone Camping

  1. How funny!!! What an adventure you had. It is the worst to be stuck after a shower without a towel!! And I’m glad that both you and the older lady survived the bathroom scare in the wee hours of the dark morning!

    • Ha, ha! I’m glad that me and the older lady survived as well. 😉 It was really too funny, but at the time, I was pretty embarrassed at how high I jumped. But she and I both laughed bout it, for sure! 🙂

    • I thought the same thing!! As I was standing there in the shower, trying to figure out what to do, I thought to myself, “This should be happening on television, not to me.” LOL!!!

    • Been there… done that… Don’t care to do it again anytime soon. 😉 (My dad tried to get my sister and I to fall in love with overnight hiking trips. And while we both did love it, and could survive just fine without makeup and showers, the absence of bathrooms made things a little too rough for my liking. Ha, ha. It’s so much easier if you’re a guy). 😉 But who knows, maybe I’ll decide to share the overnight hiking experience with my future children someday. You never know…

Leave a Reply

