Celebrating 31 Years

Somewhere along the journey of life that I have so far enjoyed, someone forgot to tell me that – at some point – birthdays aren’t to be celebrated with so much gusto. πŸ˜‰ But honestly, I’m okay with that.

edited 10

With each birthday I’ve celebrated into my late twenties and now early thirties, I have seen evidence of a ticking clock. The tiniest of crinkles near my eyes… A metabolism that doesn’t appreciate icecream the way my sweet tooth does… Skin that requires lotion in order to maintain a healthy glow…

And it’s so easy to focus on these changes – these early signs of the aging process – and to feel disgust. Frustration. Maybe even slight panic. It’s the main reason why women (and even men) quickly stop celebrating another year gone by and instead choose to pretend the anniversary of their birth never happened.

I give into these feelings sometimes too. I suppose it’s a part of being human, especially in this age of skin-deep beauty.

But I’ve yet to stop feeling a child-like sense of excitement whenever my birthday comes around, and I hope to never lose that. To me, birthdays are a celebration of life. And life is always to be celebrated.

Each age comes with its own set of challenges, but it also comes with its own advantages too. Each year, I feel as though I’m wiser. Stronger. More at peace with who I am and therefore more apt to embrace the beauty in each day, as apposed to sweating the small stuff.

Any wrinkles and love handles that may come with the process are merely a sign of the journey I have traveled. And I can fret about them until I’m worn. Or I can smile with all the joy within me until that is all anyone will notice. Happiness and true beauty.

Today I turn 31 years young; and as I’m currently expecting my first child, I’m just getting ready to begin my biggest adventure yet. Motherhood. There’s a grand, exciting adventure ahead of me.

And as usual, as my birthday came around the corner, I felt as giddy as a schoolgirl. To help me celebrate, my parents, sister Sarah, and hubby Nate took me to my favorite icecream place for large dishes of m&m icecream. (Fun fact, for the past five years – or longer -I’ve skipped cake and had icecream sundaes for my birthday instead). πŸ™‚

edited 8

Then once we got back to my house, they gave me some presents!

Honestly, presents aside, I have the best family a girl could ever hope for. They’re so incredibly supportive and always have my back, no matter what. But they kind of shocked me this year with how well they knew me. πŸ˜‰

Sarah bought me an adorable mustard-colored purse, and I’m pretty sure I had never mentioned to her that I really wanted one. It’s like she can read my mind, or something! (I’m not sure if that’s really cool… or incredibly freaky).

Birthday flower 014

She also bought me dark chocolate with caramel (YUM!), two adorable hand towels for my kitchen, and peanut butter!

edited 11

My parents bought me the Daisy perfume that I had once discovered on a shopping trip and subsequently fell in love with. Personally, I had forgotten about it, so I have no idea how my mom remembered! But the minute I opened the package, I was so excited to finally own my very own signature scent. (I’m kind of particular about perfumes, but I absolutely love this one).

Birthday flower 012

In addition to buying me a beautiful bracelet, they also bought me this adorable metal flower for the front yard. I love how whimsical it is, and it looks perfect in the front next to our shrubs! (In fact, it looks so adorable that I may have already ordered another one for the other side of the front door). πŸ˜‰

Birthday flower 002

The flower is also solar powered, so it glows cheerily at night. I LOVE it!!

Birthday flower 020

I think that birthdays – in general – are such special times. Everyone deserves to feel special on their day and to celebrate with the ones they love. But honestly, this year was even more than I could have hoped for. Even without the amazing gifts, I love that I got to already celebrate my special day with the special people that I call family.

So who cares about the wrinkles…the love handles… or the anticipation of a first strand of gray hair? Life is meant to be celebrated… and lived. I’ve got too much to smile about to worry about what some magazine tells me should be prevented at all costs. And just between you and me, I’m pretty sure that being 31 is going to rock! πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Celebrating 31 Years”

  1. A very happy birthday Nicole!!!! Here’s hoping that God continues to shower you with the choicest gifts in his bags!

      1. Awww… I love reading ur blog coz I can relate to so much. And ur faith in god and family inspires me! Stay blessed dear. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy birthday, birth month twin! I really like what you said about aging and beauty. I think youth beauty, especially on women, is overrated. It’s the reason I embrace the gray, the wrinkles, and everything. Not everyone gets to be this old, so I consider it a wonderful gift!

    Looks like you were surrounded in gifts and love! You deserve it, beautiful friend!

    1. Ooh, you’re a June birthday girl too?? πŸ™‚ And you’re so right. To grow old is a blessing that we really should celebrate, as not everyone gets to have that. Thank you so much!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Happy belated birthday!! (Sorry, I am soooo behind on reading and commenting.) I hope you had a fantastic day. Here’s to the little wrinkles and the need for moisturizer – it means you’re LIVING and LAUGHING and that makes life fabulous.

  4. Ditto to Amy! Sorry I’m behind on reading and commenting, haha! But I’m here! I can’t agree more with being more at peace with yourself as you age. I have definitely found that to be true in my case. I am so very excited for all the wonderful things that will happen for you in your 31st year! Especially the ones that have to do with a sweet little bouncing baby! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

