The Foodie Life These Days

Although pregnant women are allowed a limited amount of caffeine each day, I decided to go cold-turkey and to give it up completely. Well, other than the minimal amount found in chocolate. If a girl has to give up coffee AND chocolate, that’s just asking for marital problems, no matter how patient your husband may be. And surprisingly, giving up coffee wasn’t a problem for me anyway. Turns out that when you feel like throwing up 24/7, the last thing you want is a cup of joe. So yay for me, because I didn’t crave coffee once! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hee, hee.

After my 5k run on Saturday, however, I knew that I’d have to break my no-caffeine rule for one afternoon. It was over an hour drive from York, Maine to the first bridesmaid’s home; and then after dropping her off, I still had an hour drive left to my house. Add in a three-mile workout, lots of time spent in the sun, and a wake-up time of 3:45 am, and you’re left with one very sleepy – slightly insane from exhaustion – pregnant woman.

Ashley's bridal shower 065

So I may have caved and stopped by Starbucks for a decaf latte. It’s fully within the caffeine limit of what I’m allowed to have, so no harm done. But still, I won’t make a habit of it. But still, it was absolutely amazing. Like ‘I haven’t had a coffee in 96 days’ amazing. (But it’s not like I’m counting or anything…).

Ashley's bridal shower 066

My current beverage obsession is actually coconut water. The funny thing about that is I used to hate the stuff. But my bestie Liz suggested that I give it a try (especially since my electrolytes tend to get out-of-wack during workouts or on really hot days).
The preggo version of me really enjoys drinking coconut water and appreciates how good I feel after drinking it. (Not to mention the fact that it naturally replenishes my electrolytes and helps me to fight off the headaches that were starting to hit rather frequently). Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

Oh, and speaking of chicken… (Ooh, how clever was that transition)? ๐Ÿ˜‰

If only I could like it again. I’ve been forcing myself to eat chicken in the tiniest of portions (sometimes even liking it very occasionally). But for the majority of the time, I gag at the thought of eating it and so have been sticking to vegetarian meals (and the occasional fish and red meat entrees).
So Nate may or may not have bought himself a rotisserie chicken and ate almost the entire thing in one sitting. Poor guy was chicken depraved. It was either let him buy his own rotisserie chicken (and therefore force myself to deal with the smell) or risk him chasing after one of the neighbor’s hens.

edited 14

On a positive note, I’m now loving icecream (after my short aversion to sweets in general). Or, well, I think that’s a positive note. In order to help me find balance, my sister Sarah is threatening to serve me icecream with chunks of chicken hidden in it. But sadly, I’m pretty sure I’d taste right through it.

I definitely didn’t buy it, when she served me an icecream cone made out of paper. It was cute and everything, but it tasted a little too bland for even my taste buds.

edited 15

So that’s my foodie life these days… It’s strange having so many food aversions, because I’m usually a foodie who loves everything. Right now, I struggle to eat the lean proteins, whole grains, and veggies I used to love. I mean, don’t even mention spinach or I will physically gag.

Oh, man, too late…

I’ve just been leaning towards bland foods. Except for pizza. Somehow I still love pizza. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I can feel myself slowly getting better, so here’s to hoping that I’ll be my usual foodie self before too much longer (minus the coffee addiction, of course)! ๐Ÿ™‚

9 thoughts on “The Foodie Life These Days”

  1. Did you used to drink coffee every day? My entire family on my Dad’s side drinks coffee (and alcohol, for that matter) and I don’t. Weird.

    There’s protein in ice cream! Especially if you can do frozen greek yogurt or something like that ๐Ÿ™‚ Not that I’m gonna argue with Sarah because she is The Authority and clearly her interest lies in making sure her niece or nephew is healthy ๐Ÿ™‚ and her darling sister, of course ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hugs!

    1. I did drink coffee every day. It was kind of a new thing for me though. I lived 27 years of my life without coffee and then – over the past few years – started drinking it once a week…. twice a week… until I was drinking it every day. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think the main reason was just to get me through the crazy work day. Once I quit my full-time job, I was suddenly only drinking coffee once or twice a week again. So when I’m not pregnant anymore, I hope to just keep it as a weekend splurge, as apposed to the every-day thing.
      I don’t drink alcohol either, actually. Fun fact there. Ha, ha. I don’t think I need it to have an amazing time. ๐Ÿ™‚ (And on a more serious note, I’ve seen what it can do to families, when it’s enjoyed in excess. So I’ve just decided to not drink it, since I’m not a fan of the taste anyway).
      And I totally love frozen yogurt, so that’s a really good idea! (And Sarah was totally joking about hiding chicken in my icecream. Hee, hee. She actually told me to not force myself to eat it while it makes me feel sick. It might make it harder for me to get back to eating it once I feel better, because I’ll associate it with not feeling well. Gee, how did she get so smart??) ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hugs right back at you!!!

  2. Oh girl, the chicken in ice cream made ME gag, haha! I’m sorry about all the food aversions. But hopefully you will be able to enjoy more foods again soon. Made me laugh about Nate with the chicken – Christopher would do the same thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you enjoyed your decaf coffee! I sure do love a good Starbucks drink (as you well know). ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Ha, ha. Yeahhh, chicken icecream does sound pretty gross, doesn’t it?? ๐Ÿ™‚
      And oh, I agree. Starbucks just has THE best coffee, especially when it comes to latte’s! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I gave up coffee when I found out I was prego too :-/ I miss it dearly, along with eating healthy, eating sushi .. and drinking beers haha. How far along are you? I have so many food aversions as well that its terrible, like I feel bad for the baby and I feel like I’m getting fat off crap food lol.

    1. I’m 15 weeks now… and still waiting for the 2nd wave of energy that’s supposed to arrive with the 2nd trimester. Ha, ha. BUT I do feel as though I’m headed in the right direction, as I am starting to feel a little better. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And I’ve definitely been eating SO many bland carbs lately, due to the food aversions, so I’ve packed on a few more pounds than I had wanted to so early on. But I decided that I’m going to give myself a few more weeks, and then I’ll try to slowly fall back into a diet that includes more veggies. ๐Ÿ˜‰ For now, I’m just focusing on foods that help me feel better… and thank goodness for prenatal vitamins so that baby can get the nutrients it needs. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Are you expecting your first as well?

  4. Yes my first baby as well ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be 10 weeks tmrw. If I keep eating choc. covered donuts, pb and choc. chip cookies etc. I’m going to be a little whale by the end of this pregnancy lol.. but like you I’m going to try and start forcing some veggies down.

    1. Up through 15 weeks were the worst for me when it came to 24/7 nausea and food aversions. All I could eat were bland carbs (bread, cereal, bread, pizza, bread, potatoes… did I mention bread)? But I decided, “hey, I’ve spent enough of my life focusing on staying in shape and all that. I’m pregnant. I’m not gonna stress about it, as long as my weight gain is within the healthy range.” ๐Ÿ™‚ When I went to the doctors, I was SO sure they’d tell me that I had gained too much, but they weren’t concerned at all! So I was happy with it. Ha, ha. Now that I’m at 15 weeks, I’m noticing that my weird food aversions are SLOWLY evening out. Like I can actually eat salads and broccoli now. Ha, ha. So I think it will start to get easier to eat healthier things. (At least I’m hoping!) ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

