Here Comes the Bachelorette

Oh, goodness, how long has it been since I’ve blogged now? 🙂 I’ve just been such a busy bee that blogging took a back seat, for sure. And this past weekend was no less filled-to-the-brim. (And even though I have time to blog right now, I’m pretty worn out. So this is going to be a recap… with lots and lots of pics)! 🙂

On Friday night, Nate and I attended a couple’s shower for two of our friends, and we didn’t get home until rather late. I slept for what seemed like a cat- nap (as apposed to a night’s worth of rest) and was up by 3:45am! Then it was off to kidnap my best friend Ashley for her bachelorette party!

Ashley's bridal shower 006

In order to make sure she was ready to run an early-morning 5k, I had told her that I wanted to run a 5k with her for our birthdays (which are both this week). Little did she know that I was also picking up the other bridesmaids and that we had an entire morning of fun planned!

Ashley's bridal shower 007

Ashley's bridal shower 010

The 5k course was absolutely beautiful, winding through quiet streets lined with gorgeous homes and inlets spotted with boats. For one section, we had to run over a strip of land that crossed over the bay, and then we had to cross a wobbly bridge into a wooded forest! And to make it even more enjoyable, the volunteers were beyond friendly, and all of the neighbors were out to cheer us on.

Ashley's bridal shower 025

Ashley's bridal shower 015

One woman was even out with her hose to cool all the runners off! (I know it looks as though my sister is running away from the spray of water, but she was really trying to run through it. Ha, ha).

Ashley's bridal shower 030

There were also some great snacks waiting for us at the end. I totally felt smarter after munching on some smart food. 😉

Ashley's bridal shower 033

After crossing the finish line, we drove to Kittery, Maine for some shopping…

Ashley's bridal shower 044

and lots of silly time! One of our favorite stops, funny enough, was the Kittery Trading Post, which is an outdoor supply store. Not your usual bachelorette stomping grounds, I know. 😉

Ashley's bridal shower 061

But the store is stocked with all kinds of interesting things; and it fit into the casual, outdoorsy feel of the day just fine. Besides, it has a fun mirror. Maria and I totally had a blast with the fun mirror.

Ashley's bridal shower 051

There were also snakes. The fake, stuffed kind of course. And they were pink. I guess I wouldn’t mind snakes if they were all fake, stuffed, and pink.

Ashley's bridal shower 054

AND obviously there was camo everywhere. We even found some camo lingerie, so – really – who needs Victoria Secrets? 😉

Ashley's bridal shower 057

After we finished shopping and lounging at Crate and Barrel…

Ashley's bridal shower 039

…we walked to Robert’s Maine Grill for lunch. I’m in love with this restaurant, because the food is so tasty and fresh. Honestly, my veggie burger (made with black and white beans) was probably the best veggie burger I’ve ever ordered from a restaurant! It was definitely homemade and had the perfect blend of spice and moistness. YUM! (Of course, it didn’t hurt that I was absolutely starving by this point)!

Ashley's bridal shower 064

We were all worn out by this point, so we decided to call it a day. Or, more accurately, a bachelorette party. 🙂 But it was definitely so much fun, and Ashley said that the day had been ‘so her’. THAT was what we were hoping for!!
I’m SO glad she had fun!!

I most definitely did! 🙂

Ashley's bridal shower 046

12 thoughts on “Here Comes the Bachelorette

    • The veggie burger was absolutely delicious!! And the socks were such a hit! Runners and volunteers would shout out, “Here comes the wedding party!” 🙂 It was a ton of fun!

  1. I MISSED YOU!

    Your running outfit was perfect… Dream Big shirt + bright sneaks. It’s like The Janelle Outfit if something were to exist as such. haha.

    What a fun day! It’s cool your friend was happy doing her thing instead of conforming to what’s normally a bachelorette party.

    • You’re right!! My running outfit was totally a Janelle Outfit, and I most definitely thought of you when I laced up my bright sneaks. No lie! 🙂 The ‘dress code’ for the run was a navy blue shirt, and the one I had originally bought was a teeny bit tight on my stomach. (The bump is still little, but it’s enough to make my normal T’s a little snug). 🙂 So I instantly reached for my Dream Big T, which is roomy and super comfy! I loved the outfit in the end. I’m totally with you in that bright sneakers are just the most fun!!
      And thank you for missing me, if that makes sense!! 🙂 You’re just the best!

      • Awww, thanks! (Although I’m sure we all stunk a little. Ha, ha. We kept the windows down, just in case). 😉
        You and I DEFINITELY have the same sporty style – fun and bright!! Love it!!!! 🙂

    • Thank you!! They were so much fun, and everyone in the crowd really enjoyed them. As we went by, the spectators would yell, “Here comes the wedding party!” Ha, ha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

