A Date Day

Since quitting my full-time job in January, I have been on a very strict budget. Every penny coming in is accounted for and added to a specific fund, whether it be to pay a bill, to go into the bank, or even to be added to the ‘fun fund’. Nate and I even have a spending report on which we subtract everything spent from the extra money we have to spend that week, letting us know how much ‘play money’ we have at all times. The list includes a range of extra expenditures, ranging from fun things like Redbox movie rentals to necessities like deodorant… or last-minute candy runs. 😉

Date Day! 011

It might sound a bit like over-kill, but we both love it. Knowing that we are being responsible with the money we have makes us both feel absolutely great (and it’s a huge weight off our back, because there’s nothing worse than realizing that you spent more than you have). So, yes, spending has definitely been cut back drastically from when I was working full-time, and – wow – I can’t even remember the last time I went on an actual shopping trip with my mom and sister. But it’s all good.

Nate and I have just been enjoying the simpler things in life, which – sometimes – are even better than the experiences you would have paid for!

AND it makes the special nights out feel even more… special!

Since last week was a slow piano-lesson week for me (due to a handful of poor students coming down with the flu), I decided to – just for this once – throw out the budget and to do something completely fun with the money! I mean, you DO have to splurge once in awhile and just have fun. 🙂

My Saturday morning started with a much-needed haircut. It doesn’t look much different, since I only had a trim and minor style done. But my last haircut had been in February (shudder), so I’m sure my hair looks a whole lot healthier now! And even if it was just a trim, the haircut made me feel great!

Date Day! 018

Next, I treated Nate to lunch at one of our favorite local restaurants. Actually, to be completely honest, I was craving BBQ’d ribs, so I was kind of treating myself and just inviting him along. 😉 I have absolutely no idea how this craving happened, because I have never eaten BBQ’d ribs in my entire life. But there I was, insisting that THIS is what I had to have.

Halfway through my plate, my face full of BBQ sauce, I muttered to Nate, “Wow, I guess I really just needed some red meat.”

He looked at me in a puzzled way and said, “You do know that ribs are pork, right?”

My eyes got a little wide, and I smiled. “Oops, I kind of didn’t realize that. So I guess I’m not over my beef and chicken aversion after all. But this pork sure tastes great!”

Oh, well! All that matters to me is that I got to eat a little bit of protein after having been avoiding it so much lately, thanks to my food aversions. BBQ sauce = YUM!

Me

The food was absolutely delicious, but because it had taken so long to get to us (by the way, Nate and I didn’t even notice the wait because we were so busy chatting) the manager gave us our meal for half off!!! Score!

We tipped the waitress extra well and STILL had money left over for one more treat!  Two movie tickets and dessert – twizzlers for me and m&m’s for Nate.

movie

We finished off the day with a walk around a nearby campground for a bit of exercise and then came home to relax for the rest of the evening. 🙂 It was SUCH a wonderful day!!!

6 thoughts on “A Date Day”

  1. ahhh! Nicole! I had already seen that photo of you with your meal and thought your hair looked different. You look great! Like, at least 30% more beautiful 😉 Also I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t gotten a haircut in a year. oooops.

    I’m intrigued by your budget method. It sounds similar to mine although different. I should definitely create a “fun fund” like you guys, especially for this summer because we have lots of camps to pay for for J-slice. Can I just be a kid again and go with him??

  2. When Christopher and I were paying off our student loans, we did the whole budget-every-penny thing. It was a lot of work, but it was great to know where every penny we brought in was going. And it helped us pay off those student loans way faster than if we hadn’t been paying so much attention to it! I remember the simple joys of actually going out to eat. Or going to see a movie. It’s so fun how that becomes such a treat when you are so careful with your money. 🙂 I’m so glad you are doing something you love and still making ends meet and still being so sweet with each other. Love this! Also, your hair looks great! And reminds me that I am well overdue for a trim, haha!

  3. It’s great that you’re both on board with the budget thing. It would be impossible to implement otherwise. I think one of the most important things for a couple is to agree on money (spending, saving, budgeting, etc.)

  4. I think it’s so nice that you and Nate tipped your waitress extra even though you have a tight budget. That just shows (to me) that you two are very amazing and so selfless! I love your hair cut and yay for eating some meat!!

Leave a Reply

