Looking Back with a Smile

When I left my full-time, Accounts Receivable position to teach piano lessons part-time from home, I was beyond terrified. Every single alarm in my mind (and trust me, there are many) went off at full volume, warning me of the foolishness that is giving up a secure, well-paying job in such an age of job insecurity. Even as I stepped out the front doors one last time into the dark chilliness of a January evening – juggling a cardboard box filled with my awards, photo’s, and personal office supplies – I contemplated changing my mind. My managers would take me back. They had promised me that I’d always have a home at the office, should I need to come back. I could blame everything on… something… and unpack before the weekend even began. No harm done.

flower

But somehow I forced my legs to keep moving. Left leg… right leg… left leg… My little yellow car came into view, as I rounded the bend in the walkway, and I left behind the three-story office building that had been a second home for the past 7 years.

Terrified or not, time for a new beginning.

Honestly, I’m quite certain that I wouldn’t have had the courage to make the change had it been only for myself, even if I knew in my heart that I was ready it. But I was making this leap of faith for someone else. For the family I wanted to start.

I grew up in a home where my mom was always readily available. And although I know perfectly well that being a stay-at-home isn’t for everyone (nor is it possible for everyone), it was something that I wanted for my future children more than anything. It was really important to me. So I set out to start my own little business of teaching piano. It seemed like a win-win situation really; as it would give me the ability to work part-time from home, on my own schedule, AND it would give me the opportunity to do something I loved. Music has always been a passion of mine, and piano has been a part of my life since I was 6 years old.

There was only one problem… I had to take a risk.

As I was going for a walk around the neighborhood this morning with my bestie Liz, she reminded me of where I had started… and of how – through hard work and a whole lot of trusting in God – things have been falling into place.

Liz 2

God blessed me with a positive pregnancy test a month after I quit my job at the office, and – as of today – I’m officially in my 2nd trimester. I’m now up to 14 piano students, and I am absolutely loving every minute of this adventure. Teaching was new to me (and therefore scary), but my students are doing so well! I must say that seeing them progress makes me positively giddy with happiness. 🙂

That’s not to say that those worry alarms don’t still occasionally go off. I am pregnant after all, and my husband’s work situation is still up in the air. Those things alone are pretty big (and don’t we ALL have those big things that hang over our heads, threatening to cause anxiety).

So I love looking back and being reminded of how things I once worried about really did work out. I would MUCH rather focus on the good and be reminded of all the times that God brought the perfect plan into action. Life isn’t perfect, but it sure is beautiful… And I am LOVING it!!

blog shell

12 thoughts on “Looking Back with a Smile

  1. Stepping out in faith like that takes total trust (even when we’re shaking in our boots!)

    If I could pick one theme phrase for my life, it would be “trust God.” I’ve found that the more I do, the more my faith grows. And the more my faith grows, the more I’m able to trust God. It’s a snowball effect, and a very good one at that!

  2. OH MY GOSH this post made me so happy and warm inside!! CONGRATULATIONS on the pregnancy AND on the success with your students! Faith is amazing.

    • Wow, that article is intense. It’s a little heart-breaking but also a challenge to just get out there and to live it! Thank you for sharing!!

  3. ahhh I just want to hug you! This is awesome!!!! I was just given advice this morning to try to let things happen and trust that they’ll fall into place. You know me… I try to make EVERYTHING happen overnite. Thank you for sharing your story and your perspective.

    I’m so happy you were willing to take a risk, it worked out, and that you’ve cleared the first trimester. HOORAY for Baby B!

    • Thank you SO much, my friend!! 🙂 I have a hard time to not plan everything out too, that’s for sure. I guess we’re both learning, aren’t we? 🙂

  4. I’m so glad how things have fallen into place for you. I know things are still up in the air with Nate’s job situation, but the fact that you got a positive pregnancy result a month after the job switch… well, I just love hearing that. I really am so unbelievably excited for you guys! Also, I love that last photo! 🙂

  5. liz sounds like a wonderful friend. i love how she helped you see that “through hard work and a whole lot of trusting in God – things have been falling into place” 🙂 congrats on the pregnancy — such a blessing!

Leave a Reply

