Pregnancy Brain

Pregnancy brain is a very real thing, I have been discovering. I mean, it’s not that I wasn’t absentminded from time-to-time before I was pregnant. But suddenly, it’s a million times worse. I’ll go to the grocery store and completely forget as to why I’m there. (Which usually results in my buying whatever sounds good in the moment and bypassing whatever it was that sent me there in the first place). I’ll take my pre-natal vitamin and then two minutes later, I’ll wonder if I actually took it or not.

One time, while I was leading worship at church, I completely forgot how a song was supposed to go, so I had to kind of ‘wing it’ until the chorus came to me.

Sometimes, I even forget how to talk and words come out that shouldn’t…
Case in point, I was chatting with a girlfriend two days ago, and she commented, “You really aren’t showing yet, are you?”
In reply, I meant to say, “Not too much. I just have a little pooch of a belly.”
Instead, it came out, “I have a little poop in my belly.”

I’m not sure who looked more shocked. Me or her. Between a fit of laughter, I had to explain to her that although I am constipated, I didn’t mean to tell her this in such a way. Nor did I mean to tell her this at all. I just have pregnancy brain. So, please, laugh along with me and help me gather up what little pride I have left.

I do wish I could turn off my pregnancy brain just for today. Because of a Mother’s Day dinner for Nate’s mom tonight and a friend’s shower I’m attending tomorrow, I have to make two homemade breads, a batch of jam thumbprint cookies, a chocolate cream puff dessert, and also prep a salad for 30… all after I’ve gone grocery shopping this morning. I’m honestly not sure if my pregnancy brain can handle it… so please say a prayer that me and my kitchen are still standing by the end of the day. πŸ˜‰

Oh, and I apologize for the lack of pics in this post. I totally forgot to take some. *sheepish grin*

4 thoughts on “Pregnancy Brain

  1. I am rolling on the floor!! This is so funny! My pregnancy brain caused me to show up for a playdate at a friend’s house a week early! She looked so surprised to see me and I was CERTAIN it was that week, only to discover later I was wrong.

  2. Hahahaha! Oh friend, I love it! I’m so glad you share stories like these. πŸ™‚ I already have the wrong words come out of my mouth more often than I’d like to admit. Who knows what will happen when I’m pregnant someday, ha!

  3. I hope you had some helpers!

    I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again… I’m like this NOT pregnant so I can only imagine how things will go if/when I am. Oh boy. That’ll be interesting.

    Thanks for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

