Just a Girl and Her Friend

My pastor used to say that every married man and woman needs a dung friend. Yes, you did read that right. I did say ‘dung’, as in poop. And when I first heard this, I probably had the same reaction as you currently are having. As in, where in the world is this topic headed??

But what he meant was that there are too many couples blabbing to the entire world all about their marital problems (and with the invention of Facebook, that’s a lot easier to do these days). It turns into a battle of ‘he said’ and ‘she said’. And before you know it, you’ve both cooled off from whatever it was that you thought was so important to fight about. But your friends, on the other hand, have begun to chose sides. And they cannot so easily let go all of the horrible things you said about your partner and then suddenly, your marriage might as well be front page news. “Extra…Extra… Read all about it!”

Out with Liz 013

A dung friend, my pastor said, is someone that you trust so much that you know they will listen to you vent… but they will also know that you’re going through something and that it doesn’t necessarily mean that your partner is a bad person. (They know this, because they also trust you when they need to vent). Now granted, this friend shouldn’t be ONLY used for purposes of venting! But they’re someone that sees you through the good times, and also through those times that maybe you need to shake some dung off your shoulder. šŸ˜‰ And they’re the one or two people that you go to when you do need to vent, as apposed to airing all of your dirty laundry via Facebook, Twitter, and maybe even a blog!

I’ve found that this advice has been golden these past five married years, because sometimes I do need to vent. Sometimes I do need some girl talk (as I know that Nate needs to chat with a guy sometimes too), and I need to share with someone who understands. Let’s face it, being a wife is unbelievably rewarding…. but it can also be challenging and frustrating at times.
We are only human, after all!

Liz has always been one of those friends for me. We know that we can trust each other, should we need to have a serious girl talk. And it’s always SO refreshing to just chat about life and what we’re facing right now, since we’ve both gone through so many stages of life together. (We’ve been shopping-buddies, food-loving, movie-sharing, and workout-inspiration friends for years).

Out with Liz 004

But reason #9,378 as to why Liz and I are such close friends may just be that both of us have a never-ending love of Panera. šŸ˜‰ You all know how much I absolutely love that restaurant. So when she suggested that we hang out and begin our evening together there, I was all in!

Liz ordered one of their fresh iced teas, along with a bowl of the Vegetarian Creamy Tomato Soup.

Out with Liz 002

I had never tried that soup before, but it sounded good and Liz has never steered me wrong. So I decided to give that a try as well. šŸ™‚ And, well, can I just say that I have found a new favorite Panera soup??? It…was… AMAZING! I’m not even kidding, you guys, it was the best tomato soup I’ve ever had. It had a bit of spice to it, and was full of rich, Italian flavor. Soooo good!!!

Out with Liz 001

After dinner, as the day’s warm sunshine began to set, we walked over to JcPenney to dream of summer… and to try on dresses! šŸ™‚

Liz found this absolutely-adorable, floral dress and matching cardigan, which will be perfect for these upcoming spring and summer months! Too cute!!

Out with Liz 017

AND Liz, being the good friend that she is, helped me to steer away from the striped dress that I tried on. šŸ˜‰ (I guess that kind of falls into the trust-worthy friend category too). She reminded me that my wardrobe desperately needs color… and a pattern that doesn’t have stripes all over it. With her help, I found this adorable blue, polka-dotted peasant blouse, which I absolutely LOVE; and I also bought a red bracelet to go with it.
It leaves me wondering why I don’t buy more peasant tops, because they’re SO cute!!!

Out with Liz 014

To celebrate our bargain finds, we treated ourselves to Fro Yo from Orange Leaf… obviously! šŸ™‚

Out with Liz 018

I topped my coconut frozen yogurt with strawberries and waffle cone pieces. SO refreshing and delicious!

Out with Liz 019

SUCH a deliciously fun night with this girlfriend of mine, and I can’t wait for our next adventure!! See, having a dung friend really is absolutely amazing! I guess maybe the name could be sweetened up a bit though. šŸ˜‰

Out with Liz 021

8 thoughts on “Just a Girl and Her Friend

  1. Aw! I have a friend like that as well. I will have to share the dung friend quote with her! And really cute finds! I’m still looking for one more top for the spring. I wish I could reach through the screen and borrow yours! Haha!

    • Ha, ha! I wish I could reach back through the screen to LET you borrow it!!! šŸ™‚ I feel like a JcPenney advertisement right now (ha, ha), but the shirt IS on sale right now for $20. It’s the jcpā„¢ Print 3/4-Sleeve Peasant Shirt, if you go online. OR they probably still have it at the store. (And ‘no’, JCPenney did not compensate me for this advise. Hee, hee). šŸ™‚
      And I think we ALL need a dung friend, don’t we? It’s so important to have someone that you can trust and share with. šŸ™‚

  2. aww, what a happy post – i’d love to spend a day with the two of you – i wouldn’t even mind being the ‘dung’ friend – hehe, i’ll have to talk to my husband about that šŸ™‚

  3. Awww this post really blessed my heart! I had the best night shopping and being silly with you. I think we should have a 50’s theme cookout this summer and totally go back and buy those dresses! šŸ˜‰ Thank you for being such a great friend. I look forward to many more great times! šŸ™‚

  4. Interestingly enough I just read an article in Psychology Today about how there are additional innate response to stress beyond fight and flight. Tend and befriend.
    It most commonly happens among women who handle stress by becoming more nurturing with their loved ones (tend) or by making dates with their friends to talk through their stresses (befriend). http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200009/tend-and-befriend

Leave a Reply

