Spring has Sprung

Here in New England, the first day of spring isn’t necessarily determined by the calendar. This year, for example, I woke up on the ‘first day of spring’ to snow, ice-covered trees, and fog as thick as pea soup. It’s not that the tiny letters on the calendar don’t serve their purpose, as they at least provide hope. There is warmer weather around the corner. But for us, it’s not officially spring until the fat robin sings.

On recent sunny mornings, I’ve been hearing the bravest of the birds singing. And despite the fact that it’s in the teens outside and that the temperatures in the house dropped to 60 degrees overnight once again, I feel a surge of that spring-time energy course through me. It’s coming… Springtime is coming…

And you don’t have to be from New England to know what springtime will mean! πŸ™‚ Warmer sunshine, flowers, singing birds, buds growing on trees, and organization materials. (What? I’m the only one who has a sudden urge to get organized in the spring? Nah, I doubt it)!

delete 003

I tried to even speed up the process a bit by wearing my robin sweater on the first official day of spring. (Here in New England, we know that spring is officially here once the robins begin to show up). Once those plump, orange-bellied birds begin to hop across the front lawns in search of the early worm, it means that the worst is over. It means that even if winter may have a trick or two left up its sleeve, the end is almost here.

Dt. Coke and chicken 003

But a sweater is hardly a substitute for the real thing. Friends who live in the city began to text me pictures of their robin sightings, and I was – unfortunately – unable to return the favor. Melt snow… Please, please melt!

Finally, this past Sunday, I noticed that my two fur-babies were pressed up against the front window and meowing softly. It could only mean one thing…

Cooking vlog! 053

Robins had finally come to my part of town! And you know what that means… Spring has officially sprung! πŸ™‚

Cooking vlog! 050

Now if only the weather could warm up too!

13 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung

  1. I always get all excited by the first robin sighting too!

    And can I just say, Highstreet’s head is just so gosh darn cute in that picture! Haha! Look how fuzzy he is. πŸ˜€

    • Ha ha. He kept bending down to hide from the birds, and I thought the same thing… His head just looked so fuzzy that I wanted to kiss it! That’s when I knew I had to snap a pic. πŸ™‚

    • I feel as though I wasn’t so brave this year. πŸ˜‰ By February, Nate and I were already talking about how wonderful it would to move down south a bit. Ha, ha. But we survived, thank goodness, and spring is here! πŸ™‚

  2. You’re gonna smack me… I don’t like bird chirping. It never stops!! (Plus the whole Spring-is-my-least-favorite-season thing). Sorry! In better news, your sweater is awesome, your kitties are adorable, and there’s no season I’m not into fun and cute organization! Love those notebooks! What kinda secrets are you hiding inside?? πŸ˜‰ No need to answer that but I do hope you’re brewing something fun!

    • Ha, ha! Not gonna lie, I totally giggled when I read your comment, because I thought, “Who doesn’t like birds chirping??” LOL! πŸ˜‰ Although I do completely understand, so no smacking is necessary. Hee, hee. They do keep going… and going… and going. So I get it. πŸ™‚ Oh, and I have some pretty fun secrets brewing in that organizer, I promise! πŸ™‚

      • Mystery! Suspense! Intrigue! I’m on the edge of my seat. You know I’m on board with anything coming out of your brain. So exciting!!

  3. Yes! I bet you were never so glad to see robins! I think spring is really coming in Pittsburgh. We had snow yesterday (only half an inch), and toady the high is 53. I think we’re on the upswing. I just know it’s coming! Plus, it’s almost April!!

Leave a Reply

