Crazy Cooking Vlog – Peanut Butter and Ketchup Cookies!

My sister Sarah (who you all know from this blog… or from her blog The Simple Dietitian) and I decided to begin a monthly foodie vlog! Although we’ve had some ideas for vlogs focusing on healthy eating, we also wanted to incorporate our passion of cooking as well! πŸ™‚ So to keep things interesting, and to add our own fun twist on the world of cooking vlogs, we decided to tackle some funky recipes that sound – well – a little too strange to be good.

Are these recipes actually edible? Is it possible that some of them are maybe even delicious? Or are the people giving these recipes good reviews simply trying to pull our apron strings?

This month’s recipe combined ketchup and peanut butter into a cookie! (I know, I know, it sounds quite strange! But the recipe actually received some good review online, so there are people out there who are saying that this combination is actually… tasty)!

The complete recipe can be found by clicking on this link: Peanut Butter Ketchup Cookies!

(I apologize that the film is unfocused for the first half. I’m just learning how to use the video on my good camera, and the focus was definitely off.  So I’m still learning, when it comes to that!).

And what is a cooking vlog without bloopers? πŸ™‚ Hey, you have to be able to laugh at yourself and just have fun sometimes! Life is too short not to!

10 thoughts on “Crazy Cooking Vlog – Peanut Butter and Ketchup Cookies!”

  1. I just cried laughing. haha. This is AWESOME!!! The masses demand more!! Also, what the heck, Nicole and Sarah? Why isn’t there a peanut butter & ketchup cookie GIVEAWAY to go with this post?! ha. kidding. I LOVE PB but maybe I’ll pass on the ketchup.

    Random note: Did you use regular Heinz? We use Simply Heinz at home because it uses real sugar, not high fructose corn syrup, and now whenever I have regular Heinz at a restaurant, it tastes like sugar ketchup. I’m sure the ketchup choice does affect the cookie taste.

    Also, you totally don’t need parchment paper but it does help. I LOVE baking cookies on a Silpat mat – HUGE difference. Helps the cookies bake evenly and it’s Earth-friendly because you don’t need spray or parchment paper. I always bake cookies at the minimum time because they continue baking on the sheet even after you take them out. But then, I love soft cookies πŸ™‚

    Seventeen million cheers for this vlog! Keep it up!!!! You guys crack me up!

    1. Ha, ha! Janelle, thank you SO much for your enthusiasm!!!!! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you liked it, because we had a blast making it!
      We did use regular Heinz, although I believe my sister usually uses the Simply Heinz at home. I haven’t gone to the healthier ketchup side yet, just because I never think about it. But now that I’m out, maybe I’ll jump on that bandwagon!!
      I like the idea of the Silpat mat, especially if it means no sprays. I may look into that as well!!!
      Thank you SO much for the seventeen million cheers!! πŸ™‚ Sarah and I appreciate you SO much!

  2. Haha! You bake like I do! I forget to sift like half the time, it’s fine. Also, I was like yelling NO when you were contemplating using wax paper. That is not the same, and I learned the hard way. Haha! You guys are a joy to watch! Made my day!

    1. Ha, ha. Good to know about the wax paper! And I’m SO glad we decided to go without, then! I think that maybe my bucket list should include the dream to someday do a vlog with you! You’re one of the people who inspired me to try adding vlogs to my blog!! πŸ™‚

  3. Nooo! Don’t stick to just blogging! Your videos were GREAT! The blooper video literally had me laughing out loud! You two remind me so much of my sisters and I! Also, it’s crazy how something like ketchup and peanut butter can come together to make a delicious cookie. This makes me want to try it out just to take to a party and confuse people, haha! Also, if you ever need any ridiculous vlog baking inspiration, you will love this video of Christopher and Tony baking together back when Tony still lived with us: http://thisitalianfamily.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/twitter-youtube-and-facebook-all-in-one-post/ πŸ™‚

    1. I’m checking out the video of Christopher and Tony next… I imagine it’s hilarious!!!! πŸ™‚ AND isn’t sister time the best??? πŸ™‚

    1. Ooh, now THAT is a good idea! I’ve never had fried icecream, but I have always been curious about it! This is totally being added to the list of recipes we’re going to try! Thank you so much for the suggestion!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

