H2O or Bust

One of my new year’s resolutions was to give up Dt. Coke and Dt. Pepsi….

I’ve never been addicted to the point that I need to drink one every day. (Somehow that made me feel better, since I know people who need to drink several every day). And last year I cut down my intake to just twice a week, so I was already on the track to limiting the amount I consumed. But to me, a couple times a week is still a few times too many. You don’t have to be a scientist or a nutritionist to know that any kind of diet soda is bad for your overall health. Not only are you robbing your body of liquids that can hydrate you, but you’re also damaging your teeth’s enamel, robbing your bones of calcium, setting yourself up to crave sweets later, and ingesting chemicals that probably should come with a warning label.

Dt. Coke and chicken 013

I knew that I really wanted to stop including it in my weekly diet and to replace it with water.

But let’s face it, giving something up that you’re used to enjoying on a regular basis isn’t usually all that easy.
I wish I could say that it was easy-peasy for me to simply replace my favorite carbonated beverage with a tall glass of water, but it wasn’t. I craved it… really badly.

Really, really badly. I basically started seeing things. As in, diet soda just started to randomly appear out of nowhere like a persistent hallucination.

Dt. Coke and chicken 020

Everything reminded me of it… made me want it…

Dt. Coke and chicken 023

Whether I was eating a ham sandwich or finishing up a workout, I’d suddenly realize that all I wanted was a tall, bubbly glass of Dt. Coke.

Dt. Coke and chicken 027

For the most part, it took pure will-power to grab water instead of diet soda! But- on the other hand – it became easier every day, thank goodness. The secret I learned was to always make sure that water was accessible to me. I always had a cute water-bottle within reach, and I often would add lemon slices, creating my own refreshing, flavored-water. The more I sipped on the water, the less I thought about replacing my body’s actual hydration needs with an unhealthy filler.

Plus, let’s face it, even if we ignore all of the health benefits that come with drinking H2O (which we shouldn’t), water is one of the best beauty treatments you can begin. It’s like a natural botox, keeping your skin plump and fresh. 🙂 So on the really rough days, I tried to remind myself of that!

Dt. Coke and chicken 036

Now I’m not going to lie… I haven’t gone completely cold-turkey, because I’ve had about two diet cokes a month since the new year. In fact, I decided that I wanted to splurge this week, and so that’s where the soda bottle in all of these pics came from. 😉

Of course, the purchase didn’t come guilt free. The older woman at the cash register glared at me, shook the Pepsi in my face, and warned, “That stuff will kill you! Do you know what I want you to do? I want you to go home… dump this soda down the sink… and then I want you to fill the bottle with water for drinking!” (True story)!

I guess on one hand it kind of took the joy out of drinking a few sips. On the other hand, it sure made it easier for me to stick to my goal. 😉 Hmmm, I wonder if Nate paid her to say that?

In any case, I’m getting there! And I honestly already feel healthier because of it. My skin is loving the extra hydration. My stomach is so much happier already, because diet soda did leave me a little bloated. AND I honestly feel as though I have more energy! (Being hydrated is SO much better than drinking caffeine and then dealing with the crash afterward).

So there you have it. I’m close to completing one of my New Year’s resolutions!! And hopefully when I update you in the next month or so, I’ll be able to say that I’ve gone weeks without drinking even one sip. Woo hoo!

Dt. Coke and chicken 032

Are you trying to give up something that you know isn’t healthy for you? What are you doing to help yourself stay motivated and on track?

11 thoughts on “H2O or Bust”

  1. I love everything about this post (especially the soda sandwich…haha!)

    I’ve been trying to cut back on my sugar intake lately. It’s amazing how added sugars sneak into everything and I know I’m overdoing it, even when I don’t *realize* that I am!

  2. I definitely have a sugar problem but I haven’t had a soda problem since junior high when I chugged Mountain Dew like crazy (and yet, frustratingly, I was at my thinnest!) You’re already beautiful so I can only imagine what switching from diet soda to water will do for you 🙂

    LOVE that soda sammie. ha!

    And I must know what’s in Nate’s hands! Magic cards??

    1. Girl, you once again win ‘Bloggy Detective of the Year’ award. (And if that award doesn’t exist, then I shall create it)! 🙂 Those ARE magic cards in Nate’s hands! I’m honestly not a fan, but he is really into competitive games. I’m just happy that he has guy friends to play with every Monday night, because it gets him out and makes him happy. So I’m all for it… even if I really don’t get the game. Ha, ha. (I’m all about games that make me laugh, but I guess it’s not a bad thing to play challenging games too sometimes). 😉

  3. Oh my goodness, I love so much about this post. First of all, the photos of Diet Pepsi popping up in your random, everyday thoughts? Sooo clever you are, my friend!

    And I love that the Ghost of Diet Soda’s Past was the checkout clerk when you bought that bottle. That’s sweet that she was trying to save you from yourself. 🙂

    I gave up sweets (cakes, cookies, pie, ice cream, etc.), sodas (I only drink diet as well), and cheese for Lent. Sodas and sweets I do every year so I’m accustomed to the occasional cravings, but know that it is doable. Cheese is a challenge. But so far so good and only a month or so remaining!

  4. Your pictures are so funny! Last Thursday My ND told me that I should limit (i.e. not eat) pork, beef, or dairy for at least 1 month, preferably 3 months. So I have been working on that. Really missing cheese, and I’m sure bacon is going to start being an issue. (This is to deal with excess inflammation). I also need to kick the excessive sugar habit, too. You go!

    1. It’s not easy cutting back! I think that a food journal helps sometimes… Or it helps when someone in the grocery store yells at you for picking out something you shouldn’t be buying, as in my case. 😉 Ha, ha. So if you need some help, let me know, and I’ll find out if she will transfer to a grocery store near you. 😉

  5. HAHAHAHA! I about died laughing at that Diet Pepsi sandwich picture! Oh my goodness, too funny! Anyway, good for you for limited your diet soda intake so much more. That’s great! Also, I’m with you on lemon slices in my water. Mostly I just drink regular water at home, but when I’m feeling a little extra snazzy, I toss in a couple of lemon slices and feel like I am super cool. 😛

Leave a Reply

