Chocolate Cream Puff Dessert

Nate and I were invited to our pastor’s house last weekend; and I offered to make dessert, since my pastor’s wife was making dinner. This in itself already set us up for a wonderful evening. Even though the dinner was scheduled to discuss business (mainly a church website, which Nate and I are helping out with), we knew that there would also be a ton of laughter. What can I say, the four of us like to have a good time. πŸ™‚ And when you add delicious food to the equation, well, there’s really nothing else you can do to make things better.

Great friends and great food equals a great evening, and I don’t have to be an accountant to reach that conclusion. πŸ˜‰

So, let’s talk chocolate, shall we? Oh, and butter. We probably should talk about butter too. Because if the first ingredient of your recipe is a stick of butter, then you at least know you’re headed in a pretty good direction.

bakin' 035

This recipe is a spin-off of cream puffs and Γ©clairs. After making a thick dough of butter, water, and flour, you simply spread the dough into a baking dish instead of dropping onto a cooking sheet. The result is a lightly-browned, glorious pastry that reaches for the sky.

bakin' 055

The filling is a deliciously rich, chocolate cream made up of pudding… and cream cheese. You’ll wish you could dive in and go for a chocolate swim. Trust me. You’ll really want to.

bakin' 061

Whipped topping – followed by a light drizzle of chocolate, caramel, and mini chocolate chips – adds one final touch of decadence.

bakin' 066

It’s SO good! It is most definitely a perfect dessert for pot-lucks, holidays… or just a simple get-together between friends. πŸ™‚ Trust me, if you love chocolate, then you’ll love this one! Everyone at the dinner last weekend certainly enjoyed it! (Nate is already begging me to make it again sometime soon). πŸ˜‰

bakin' 064

Enjoy!

CHOCOLATE CREAM PUFF DESSERT (from Taste of Home)

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup butter
Cup water
1 cup all-purpose flour
4 eggs

FILLING
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
3 1/2 cups cold milk
2 packages (3.9 ounces each) instant chocolate pudding mix

TOPPING
1 carton (8 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed
1/4 cup chocolate icecream topping
1/4 cup caramel icecream topping
mini chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS
1. In a large saucepan bring the water and butter to a boil over medium heat. Add flour all at once; stir until a smooth ball forms. Remove from the heat; let stand for 5 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Continue beating until mixture is smooth and shiny.

2. Spread into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Bake at 400Β° for 30-35 minutes or until puffed and golden brown. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

3. For filling, beat the cream cheese, milk and pudding mix in a large bowl until smooth. Spread over puff; refrigerate for 20 minutes.

4. Spread with whipped topping; refrigerate until serving. Drizzle with the chocolate and caramel toppings; sprinkle with almonds. Refrigerate leftovers. Yield: 12 servings.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Cream Puff Dessert”

  1. CREAM PUFFFFFFF! Oh man. I could eat cream puffs like it’s my job. I had an amazing one in France that used mascarpone cheese in the filling… so rich and delicious!

    I’d love to make this recipe although with a few tweaks (ex: I don’t care for caramel, which I pronounce car-mel, btw. fun fact!) Did you change anything from the original recipe at all? Is there anything you’d change now that you’ve had it?

    1. I LOVE cream puffs too!!!! πŸ™‚ Soooo good…
      The caramel totally isn’t needed at all. To be completely honest, I only used it, because I had some already in the fridge. I probably wouldn’t have spent the extra money just to add a light drizzle of it onto the dessert. So totally skip the caramel if you’re not a fan!
      Also, the only thing I would change, if I could, would be to add a sprinkle of nuts on top. πŸ˜‰ Nate is allergic, so I couldn’t go there. But it would be so yummy with nuts on top. But other than that, I honestly think the dessert was perfect!
      The topping is really just to make it look pretty (and to maybe add a bit of texture, hence the chocolate chips), as apposed to add flavor. I’ll bet you could even use rainbow sprinkles on top of the whipped topping if you wanted to! πŸ™‚
      (Oh, and one thing I should mention… When you spread the dough into the pan, don’t worry about spreading it up the sides of the pan. I was worried that I only had enough dough to cover the bottom of the pan, but that is how it’s supposed to be. As it cooks, the dough rises and creeps up the sides, creating the shell that you can fill with the chocolate amazingness). πŸ™‚
      If you make it, let me know how you like it!!!

      1. umm yeah I think I would use that shell for about 1000 different things! Yum! Thanks for the tips!

        PS – 100% YES there would be sprinkles! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

