Lovin’ It

I love my new office! (Let’s ignore the fact that I teach piano from home; and so therefore, my office is really my living room).
I love that I get to play with glue sticks, piano keys, chord progressions, and stickers. I love that I can sit on the floor and brainstorm new ways to make learning piano easier…and more fun. I love that every child learns differently and so each lesson is new, exciting, and challenging. I love that my ‘customers’ color pictures and bake cookies for me. And I love that my colleagues are two fur-babies and a very encouraging husband.

home 017

As a personal challenge to myself, I’ve been digging through some advanced level piano books and sheet music. Although it will be awhile before my beginning students are there, I think it’s important for me to stay sharp and to continue refreshing what I know… as well as to always continue learning. And that’s not to say that I’m not having fun too.

home 019

I figured that if you can’t beat them, you might as well join them. 😉 Let it Go from the new Disney cartoon Frozen has taken the music world – and Facebook – by storm. It has now found its way into my living room, and I’ve been having fun playing it. (As much as I love performing a good classical piece, I make room for the showtunes too).
Sigh. I love that I’m writing about my job and that I’ve used the word ‘fun’ three times already.

home 016

Although this is all still very new, I’ve definitely already learned that it’s important to pursue something that you’re passionate about. The leap may be scary or uncertain. It may even require a financial sacrifice at first. But in the end, when you’re doing something that you love, you’ll be happy to put the time and effort into it that will result in success. It won’t feel like work. It will feel like a wonderful challenge that you will be excited to face… and to learn from every single day.

Going for your dreams and seeing them come true doesn’t usually happen overnight. But with hard work and patience, dreams can bloom into something beautiful. So I’m learning to never give up… and to see each new experience as an opportunity to learn and to grow.

home 007

Life isn’t perfect…But it sure is good! 🙂
-Nicole

10 thoughts on “Lovin’ It

  1. Oh Nicole, that is *so* great! I’m so happy to hear that you’ve found something you’re incredibly passionate about and that you had the courage & confidence to jump at the chance.

  2. Ah, I love reading this. I love that your laptop background is a reminder to “Be Still and Know” and I love that you love your job. And I love that you are in such a good place in life right now. And I love that you get to do something you are passionate about.

    And hey, I’d love to hear you play sometime! You should consider doing a piano vlog! 🙂

    • You’re the second person to say that, so I think maybe I shall do a piano vlog in the future! I think it would be fun!! 🙂
      AND thank you SO much for always being so encouraging and supportive!!

  3. Haha, my coworkers are fur-babies as well. (in fact, the law firm that I work for refers to them as my coworkers as well! Plus, in our two main offices, they have office dogs/cats there too!) So awesome that you are enjoying your new job!

Leave a Reply

