Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Pantsuits

My sister Sarah introduced me to the wonderful world of Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s a few years ago. Since neither store is located very close to where we live, whenever we feel the urge to walk through aisles of fresh produce, all-natural foods, and endless peanut butter choices, it requires almost an entire day. A wonderfully fun and delicious day of taste-testing and food browsing! 😉

Whole Foods 038

I don’t do a ton of actual shopping, when I’m there; but I absolutely love to browse all of the options. It’s pretty much a foodie’s paradise, and I have fun picking up something new to try every time. And there are a few staples that I have to stock up on. Like cheese sticks.

Trader Joe’s makes the best cheese sticks!

Whole Foods 039

And did I mention the taste-testing? I tried some absolutely delicious cheese, and Sarah fell in love with some freshly baked, crusty bread.

Whole Foods 046

On this trip, I picked up some all-natural poptarts, because Nate has been begging me to buy some. I’m hoping the healthier version will satisfy his sweet craving! I also picked up some Trader Joe taco shells and some canned salmon. (Salmon has been SO expensive at the grocery store lately, and these two cans were still cheaper than buying a pound of fresh fish. I’m hoping to turn these into salmon patties or a yummy pasta salad).

Whole Foods 048

YUM!

There’s a great TJMaxx in the same area; so after our food shopping, we usually stop there for some more browsing. I found an absolutely adorable pair of summer wedges that are brown with some leopard print accents. They were only $20, but I decided that I didn’t need them right now. But after I put them back, my mom picked them up and insisted on buying them for me! 🙂

shoes

Even if she hadn’t done that, I have to say that my mom rocks! She really, really does!!

I mean, what mom would jump on board, when her daughter spotted some jumpsuits and exclaimed, “Let’s try them on just for fun!”? Somehow I managed to pick out the loudest jumpsuit in the store, and Sarah and I both had an issue with the length.

Whole Foods 006

But my mom? She actually really pulled it off and looked quite amazing!

Whole Foods 005
(I think my socks totally add to the look, don’t you??). 😉

Girls just want to have funnnn… Oh, Girls, they just want to have fun!

AND that is just what we had. Lots and lots of fun!!

Whole Foods 015

Sometimes I feel as though I’m one of the richest girls on the face of the planet… and it’s definitely not because of the amount of money that I do (or don’t) have! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Pantsuits”

  1. I love those stores too! They’re both an hour away though so I feel your pain!

    Your socks crack me up. That’d totally be me. How do you shop all day in heels?!???

    Also, I gotta ask because I’ve been wondering since foreverrrrrr: what’s up with your family and peace signs? Were your parents hippies, are you trying to spread world peace, are you all awkward and it’s your way of doing something with your hands, or it’s just your family’s Signature? Either way, it makes me laugh (in a good way… I don’t mean AT you!)

    And with that… peace! 😉

    1. Ha! I couldn’t believe I hadn’t taken my socks off! They totally didn’t match the outfit. 😉 And as for the ‘heels’, they’re more like a small-heeled boot, and they’re one of the comfiest pair of shoes I own! (Well, other than my sneakers. Ha, ha). 🙂

      As for the peace sign… It’s ‘totally’ us being awkward and just doing something with our hands. 😉 The minute someone says, “Let’s do a funny photo” or “let’s do a sassy photo” I freeze… and up comes the peace sign! LOL! I guess we should come up with at least one more go-to pose, so that we don’t over-do the peace sign. Hee, hee.

      1. Aw, I miss you too!! I have been so crazy busy that I’ve pretty much kept putting off everything that I want to blog about! Although I *did* just restart “The Simple Dietitian” and hope to blog at least 2-3 times per week. 😀

      2. WordPress won’t let me respond to your other comment (probably too many in the thread) but I wanted to say… Dangit! I didn’t know you had started up on The Simple Dietitian again! For some reason I thought you were only at K&C. Thanks for letting me know!

  2. We have a Whole Foods close to our house that I go to regularly, but the closest Trader Joe’s is 3 hours away so I’ve actually never been. One of these days I will make it there! 🙂 But I do love WF! And those leopard wedges are super cute!

  3. I hope you bought that pantsuit. Rockin’ it, girrrrl. 🙂

    I love Whole Foods and I always forget about Trader Joe’s, even though there is one right on my way home from work. Kevin and I started shopping almost exclusively at Whole Foods for our groceries about a year ago and we really like it. I don’t think we spend THAT much more money and we both feel better about what we’re putting into our bodies. Of course, I grew up in a small town, so Whole Foods was not an option for most of my life. I like taking advantage of it now though!

  4. I don’t think we have a Trader Joe’s nearby, at least that I’ve seen, but there is this place called Central Market that is quite similar to Whole Foods (which we have). Love the shopping excursion!

Leave a Reply

