Workin’ it Out

So maybe in the grand scheme of things, I’m at the very beginning of the journey that is known as ‘getting back into a healthier eating and workout routine’. Some people might even say that I haven’t even started yet. If this journey were a race, I’d still be tying my shoelaces.

But if that’s the case, then I tied my shoelaces like a superhero this week. 🙂

I ran 2 miles every single morning (except for Tuesday, because I had so much going on that day). Sure, my pace was a bit slower than I’d like, and there was a time that I could run 5 miles without too much trouble. But guess what, I worked out pretty much every…single…day! I didn’t let myself give into the excuses. I didn’t sleep in this morning, even though it’s apparently National Sleep Day. 😉 I woke up and immediately put on workout clothes and hit the treadmill!

And even if I’m at the very beginning of this journey, I already feel great!

workout 003

I also did a much better job this week of eating healthier foods! I splurged a few times (because we live once, after all); but for the majority of the time, I really did try to focus on incorporating veggies, fruits, and whole grains into my diet. And when I did splurge, I made sure that I stopped when I was satisfied, instead of eating too much of it.

Sure, I could do better in this category as well (especially when it comes to adding in the veggies), but for my first week, I’m very happy with my success.

The great thing about starting a healthy lifestyle diet – instead of dieting in the typical sense – is that you can have that dessert without feeling guilty. It doesn’t mean that you failed. It just means that you can follow it up with some healthier meals and options. It’s about balance… not about failing and having to start over again on Monday. 🙂
And I don’t know about you, but this type of living sounds best to me. I want my health…but I want my cake too.

16 thoughts on “Workin’ it Out

  1. It’s that time of year Nicole. I am making a commitment to exercise regulalrly and these last two weeks I have done a pretty good job of it. This week I have made three out of five days so far and last week I think I manged four out of seven. It’s not finished yet but at least its a work out in progress!

    • That’s awesome, Pastor J!! I always feel as though week #2 is one of the toughest to get through! Slow and steady wins the race; and I think that having a positive outlook – and celebrating the accomplishments – is half the battle right there!

      • Oh no!!!! That’s horrible! Has it gotten any better? I completely know how that is… Last year I started to work out on a regular basis and then I hurt my knee, so I could barely walk. So frustrating! I hope your foot heals quickly!!

  2. I’ve 4 weeks from Monday till my Easter holidays, so this is my blow out weekend. I’m so lucky it coincides with St Patrick’s Day!!!!!! 🙂

    • Ooh, nice! 🙂 Nate and I are having a we-don’t-care dinner tomorrow night, because he absolutely HAD to have his boiled dinner for St. Patrick’s Day weekend. Ha, ha. AND I made a chocolate dessert for after dinner tonight, since we’re eating with some friends. I love that a healthy diet is all about balance and that nothing is off-limits.

  3. You go girl!!! Does Nate ride the bike while you run?

    How do I get out of my chocolate-and-pretzels afternoon snack rut? No good. My only solution might be to just not buy the items. haha. So tricky.

    • ‘Sometimes’ we work out at the same time. I tend to wake up before he does though, so I run first thing and then eat breakfast. Normally, he’ll eat breakfast first, and then he bikerides… while I’m eating breakfast. Ha, ha. 🙂 I just know that I won’t do it if I have a leisurely breakfast first. And he insists that he can’t run until he’s had his signature yogurt and banana. 😉 But we do work out together on the weekends, usually.
      And I think there are a ton of worse things to eat than chocolate and pretzels! Don’t they say that chocolate is healthy? My sister is actually always telling me to buy dark chocolate to help with my sweet cravings. So let’s just keep those chocolate pretzels in the health-food category and call it a day! 🙂 They sure sound delish to me!!

    • I saw on Facebook that it was Pi Day, just about the same time that I saw on the news that it was National Sleep Day! Ha, ha. Too bad it wasn’t Eat Pie in Bed Day… (Eh, I guess that isn’t exactly a healthy thing to want to do. Hee, hee).

  4. Still tying your shoelaces?! Girl, if I ran two miles a day, that’d be like marathon training for me, haha! I’m a solid 3 days/week gym kinda girl and that’s about it. I mean, obviously I get plenty of extra exercise chasing the kids around and walking Oreo, but still! 2 miles a day is super impressive to me!

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement, Rachel!! 🙂 I wish I had kept up 3 days a week at the gym, because it’ all about balance. It’s amazing how just a few days a week can make a world of difference (especially since I had a desk job for so long). I’m kind of hitting it full-force right now, but after awhile, I’ll probably settle into a comfortable work-out routine. My goal is to run at least 5 days a week for the first few weeks, so that jogging becomes more of a routine for me. I’m hoping that I can stick it out!! 🙂

  5. I’ve been working my way up to a 5K for the past couple of months and I’m at 1.75 miles each time I jog. And you just hopped right in at 2 miles for multiple days in a week. I call you a rockstar. 🙂 Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

