Me and My Girls

I didn’t always love clothes shopping. In fact, just a handful of years ago, I absolutely dreaded it and often let my mom and sister go on their shopping excursions without me. Clothes just didn’t seem to fit right, and I had a limited budget that always ran out all too soon. I’d be ready to crash after the first hour, while my mom and sister dragged me from store… to store… to endless store.

They’d cheer when they found a cute skirt or top. I’d cheer when there was a seat outside their dressing room, where I could sit down and rest a bit.

Shopping! 005

It took some time but I have finally learned that when a particular item of clothing doesn’t fit right, it’s not ME! It’s the clothes! Different cuts, fabrics, patterns, and sizes compliment different body types. (For me, I’ve found that shirts and dresses with empire waist-lines, wrap-style dresses, tops with wider necklines, knee-length dresses, low-rise pants, and boot-cut jeans fit me best).

As for the budget, I’ve learned to stretch my dollars by shopping great sales…AND for spending the majority of my time in the clearance racks! (Or…any rack that has a generous assortment of striped options). šŸ˜‰

Shopping! 018

I DO try to find tops without stripes, I promise! They just don’t call to me the way that stripes do…

Shopping! 023

Anyway, shopping trips with my mom and sister Sarah have become SUCH a special, amazingly fun part of our relationship. Sure, we shop for bargains and try to find some great, fashion deals. But it’s soooo much more than that. (After all, at the end of the day, the only accessory you need in order to create the perfect outfit is your smile)! šŸ™‚

So for me, shopping trips are…

…bowls of Fro Yo and deciding who ordered the best flavor.

Shopping! 026

It’s scoring a $90 dress for $12. (Oh, yes, my mom did that)!

Shopping! 027

It’s realizing that a dress can be adorable, even if it only has stripes on the belt.

Shopping! 009

It’s trying on new styles, just for fun, and then realizing that it looks great! (Isn’t my sister rocking these polka-dot pants and green top)?

Shopping! 020

It’s finding out that this pillow is too soft…

Shopping! 017

… but this pillow is JUST right!

Shopping! 013

It’s realizing that even though I’ve come a long way, I still crash before my mom and sister do. šŸ˜‰

Shopping! 028

It’s a coffee before the long ride home.

Shopping! 031

And most importantly, it’s a day spent with my favorite ladies!!!

us

14 thoughts on “Me and My Girls”

  1. You are too cute!! What a fun day with your family. I’m with you, shopping is tough for me. HA It happens once in a blue moon and I crash after a couple hours..if I even make it that long! Thank goodness for coffee. OH, and I am a stripes FREAK!!

  2. Your mom looks SO good in that dress! If your dad doesn’t take her out in that, he’s a fool!

    Did you get that gray tshirt with the heart? I own it!

    Also, this gives me hope that some day I might be able to tolerate shopping. I think what you said is key – knowing what styles work for your body. I don’t really know that because I avoid shopping so… vicious cycle šŸ™‚

    What does Nate do on shopping trip days? Do you come home to find him glued to video games? Does he do something manly with his friends or hangout with his family? I bet he snuggles up to the kitties… I would definitely do that.

    1. Yes, I DID buy that tshirt!!! šŸ™‚ We’ll be like fashion twins! I can’t wait to wear it this summer, but I may end up wearing it with a sweater a bit sooner! Ha, ha. I will totally think of you when I wear it, now that I know you own the same one! Too FUN!!
      Nate does usually do something with his guy friends on my shopping days, although he has been known to stay home and play a video game (with a cat or two snuggled up with him). šŸ™‚ I absolutely LOVE spending time with him, but I think it’s good for both of us to still have our own things to do once in awhile. So it works out really well! šŸ™‚

      1. Text me when you’re gonna wear it! I’ll wear it too and we can be TWINS! hahaha šŸ™‚

        I host a Love Actually party once or twice a year, and every single time, John asks when he gets to host a manly-movie party. Of course he’s too lazy to actually do that because hosting a party requires work. haha. So I’m glad Nate gets together with his friends!

    1. Thank you so much! I found the hat at DSW a year or two ago, and I instantly fell in love. šŸ™‚ And I did buy the T with the heart and arrow… It was on the clearance rack for only $4!!

  3. I just love the three of you together! Makes me wish I lived closer to my mom and sisters! And girl, one of my friends was commenting today on how often I wear stripes, haha! We all went to the zoo together and I was (and still am) wearing a pink and white striped tank top. So I definitely feel you on the stripes love! Though I have to tell you, I LOVE the dress you tried on! It’s so pretty on you even if it does only have stripes on the belt. šŸ˜‰

  4. I am the same way with shopping. You would have been so proud. I tend to stray away from stripes because I never think they look good on me, but I tried on this one shirt…and well, I am the proud owner of my first striped shirt! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

