A Hopeless Romantic…and proud of it!

I’ve always been a hopeless romantic…

I’m not sure if it’s due to my appreciation for literature that involves a good love story, if it’s from watching one too many chic flicks, if it stems from my own love of imagination and writing, or if it’s because I’m female. Or maybe it’s a combination of everything.

At any rate, I get choked up when I watch a music video that shows an old couple dancing together and reminiscing about the years they spent together. I cry when I read The Notebook. I’m teary-eyed at weddings during the father / daughter dance. And I sometimes get a little sniffly when I think about how much I love Nate.

The thing about romance and romantic moments is that it involves ordinary people and ordinary settings. A lit candle, a red rose, a nice dinner, a stroll through the park, a kiss. By themselves, they are just objects or movements. But add love, and everything is transformed. Suddenly the rain is sparkling like thousands of diamonds. Suddenly the kiss is… magical.

Nate and I were honored to be a part of a special, romantic moment over the weekend, when Nate’s brother Joel proposed to his girlfriend. Really, the setting couldn’t have been any more beautiful. The Boston Public Gardens is probably one of my favorite places in the city, and the unusually warm, sunny temperatures only complimented the afternoon.

blogger 5

While the bride-to-be was spending time with her girlfriends, completely unaware as to what was happening, Nate and I met up with Joel – the groom – and the remaining guys. Joel was unbelievably excited and nervous, so the guys did their best to keep him relaxed by having fun with the letters on their T-shirts.

blogger 3

When it was time for the proposal to happen, Joel’s girlfriend was blindfolded and led through the gardens to where my hubby Nate (soon to be the Best Man) and the remaining groomsmen were standing. They had matching red T’s, which spelled out “Will-You-Marry.” Joel, wearing the ‘Me’ T-shirt, walked up behind her, took off the blindfold, and asked her to marry him.
She said “Yes”! 🙂

blogger 7

I love how every proposal and wedding is different… and yet they are all beautiful, just the same. I don’t think I could ever get tired of such moments!

blogger 2

8 thoughts on “A Hopeless Romantic…and proud of it!”

  1. Yes, I admit that I have been caught watching hours of proposal or surprise homecoming videos several times in the past year. They are just so sweet! And I loved watching this one too!

    Also, the Yoda reference in the first picture with the guys made me laugh out loud this morning!

    1. The guys were totally having a blast putting together different sentences, and I think their Yoda sentence was a favorite! I’m not going to lie, it was pretty hysterical and fun!! 🙂

  2. I cry at Subaru and pet food commercials. So it’s safe to say that I’m a hopeless romantic right there with you. You are so right about proposals and weddings being different to reflect the personalities of the people involved – but at the end of the day, they’re all about love.

  3. Aww, I am so with you! I tear up at pretty much everything. I mean, I teared up watching Nate’s brother’s proposal video and I don’t even know Joel or his fiancee, haha! I am a hopeless romantic and I’m okay with that. 😀 Also, I love that you guys got to be part of this proposal. It’s just all so sweet!

    1. It really was sweet! It was different than any proposal I had personally heard of, but in the end, it was absolutely perfect! And it was special for us (especially for Nate) to be a part of Joel and Rachel’s engagement!! 🙂

  4. I agree with all of this! You basically described me. Have you read/seen The Lucky One? Also by Nicholas Sparks. Ah it’s my favorite! Doesn’t hurt that Zac Efron is hottttt.

    I too laughed at the Yoda reference. Those guys are fun and hilarious!

    1. YESsssssss!!! Ha, ha. To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of the book, and – at this point – I don’t even remember why. I think that maybe it just wasn’t my favorite, because some of Spark’s novels are just SO incredibly good… And I felt that ‘The Lucky One’ was just okay. BUT I totally went to see the movie, because Zac Efron was in it. 😉

Leave a Reply

