Snowshoeing!

The snow in our front yard is officially up to my waist! Granted, I’m not the tallest person out there, but I’d say that there’s definitely over 2 feet of snow outside. A small part of me wants to ‘run’ through the front yard to see how long it will take me to push my way to our front door. Another small part of me wants to sit on the curb and cry (although the curb is buried under a snow-pile of about 8 feet, so I guess that’s pretty much out of the question).

snow! 039

The thing about living in New England is that you really have to keep your attitude in check. The minute you decide you can’t bear one more snowflake is the minute you go slightly insane. Because there WILL be one more snowflake, followed by countless others.

snow! 010

And if you decide that you just can’t take one more day of the cold, winter will feel like an eternity of being locked up inside a padded room of white.

snow! 003

I think that maybe our motto here in New England should be “If you can’t melt it, you might as well play in it.” 😉 It’s the people who find ways to have fun in the snow that learn to embrace winter. Because really, if it’s not going to melt until spring, then you might as well find ways to enjoy it even a little.

snow! 028

My piano students were able to come earlier in the day to avoid the worst of the latest snowfall, which meant that I had the afternoon free to spend with Nate. It had honestly been too long since the last time we went snowshoeing! So we decided to stop complaining and to get outside and have fun!

Yes, I am fully aware that it looks as though I’m dancing (or maybe snowshoeing) to the song Cotton-eyed Joe in this picture.

snow! 004

At first, as I tightened the snowshoes and my fingers felt as though they were going to freeze off, I began to second-guess our decision.

snow! 017

But once we began our hike, warmed up thanks to the exertion, and lost ourselves in a winter wonderland, I found myself completely falling in love with… winter.

snow! 013

You don’t know quiet until you’ve walked through the forest during a snowfall. There is complete silence. Everything is still, except for the cottonball-sized flakes gently falling from the sky. It’s beautiful. Pristine.

It’s as though a whole new world appears… and it’s magical.

snow! 026

I had such an amazing time this afternoon playing in the snow. We made snow-angels (that sadly resembled Quasimodo a bit more than angelic beings). Threw snowballs at each other. Jumped off of snowpiles. Nate even gave me a white-wash for which I still need to get him back.

And even if I can’t say that I want spring any less, I can say that I appreciate winter a whole lot more.

snow! 008

So I guess that this was a positive step in the right direction! 🙂

snow! 031

13 thoughts on “Snowshoeing!”

    1. I’ve never gone winter-camping, but my dad and brother used to do it all the time! The secret to enjoying winter really is to get outside and to have fun!! 🙂

    1. A whitewash is when someone grabs a handful of snow and — well — washes your face in it (a.k.a. rubs the snow into your face). I realize, as I write this, that it sounds rather mean. Ha, ha! But it’s something that happens a lot up here in the snowy north and -don’t worry – the recipient usually retaliates quite quickly! 😉

  1. ahhhh Nicole I am so jealous!!!! I want that much snow! Clearly I need to move north 🙂 PA got about 16 inches WHILE I WAS AWAY. How rude is that?!? I missed the biggest snowfall in the last 10+ years. uggggggh. Next time there’s a big snow storm coming your way, please let me know so I can fly up there! I promise to bring extra snow pants for you guys haha. There will be snow angels, snowball fights, snowmen, snowshoeing, hot chocolate, kitty petting, and whatever else you can think of! let’s build a fort!!!

    1. That totally is rude!! And, hmmmm, that would be amazing fun if you could come up for the next snowstorm. 🙂 Ha, ha. We would have an absolute blast!

    1. It is the most snow we’ve had in awhile, although it reminds me of the winters we always used to have as kids. Most of the kids in the neighborhood are building incredible forts with tunnels… I, on the other hand, am eagerly waiting for a warmer day so that the snow gets sticky. I really want to build a snowman! Ha, ha. 🙂

  2. I kinda started to hyperventilate at the thought and sight of all that snow. It’s gorgeous though! Your attitude is top notch! And I’m glad Katy asked what a white wash was because I hadn’t a clue. Stay warm!

  3. I’m really enjoying all the snow this winter. I just bought my first pair of snowshoes but naturally I bought them right before the snow began to melt *sigh*.
    The weather is staying cold, so I’m holding out for another big snowfall so I can go snowshoeing again.

Leave a Reply

