‘Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2’ inspired strawberries

Every winter, usually around March, I get hit with a major case of spring fever. As beautiful as winter snow may be, there comes a point when I crave (no, need) to feel warm sunshine on my skin. At this point in the season, we New Englanders are bringing a whole new meaning to the term ‘pale’, and we get maybe a little too excited about a trip to Walmart because it’s an excuse to get out and do something. And even if I do make a point to get outside whenever possible to go for a brisk walk, it’s just not the same.

strawberry 001

It’s COLD out there. Beautiful, yes. But COLD.

Even my cats are going a little stir-crazy, begging to be let out onto the back porch for a bit of sunshine. But when I finally open the sliding door, tired of their constant cries, they set one paw onto the fluffy snow and then dart back inside.

Which brings me to my main point… It’s only February. It’s scaring me a bit that cabin fever has set in a month early this year, because this could make for a very long winter!

strawberry 021

To combat the cabin-fever blues, I’ve been trying to come up with some fun things to do that get my mind off of how badly I want it to be spring. Sooooo, I rented a silly, colorful cartoon (a.k.a. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2) and headed to my parent’s house for a fun movie night with my mom and sister.

I even made some chocolate dipped strawberries for the occasion, in honor of upcoming Valentine’s Day… and because I love chocolate. (Because really, who needs an excuse for chocolate and strawberries)? To keep up with the friendly food theme, I added a few candy eyes that I had found at Michael’s craft store to the strawberries as well.

strawberry 034

They came out pretty cute, if I do say so myself, even though my mom said she was pretty sure that one of the strawberries was watching her. 😉

strawberry 044

It ended up being a great night, and we all thoroughly enjoyed the cartoon. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 was silly, as expected, but I still loved it. (After all, I am a foodie, and the entire movie was about… food)! Some of the characters were absolutely adorable; and my mom, sister, and I (all big kids at heart) laughed quite a bit. (That screaming Leak character gets me every time)!

Sometimes you need a silly cartoon to help you fight off those cold, winter blues! Now if only it had left me with a tan.

strawberry 036

7 thoughts on “‘Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2’ inspired strawberries

  1. We just saw that movie, too, and thought it was cute. The story line didn’t impress me, but the scenery and food-animals were AWESOME! And the leak, Earl, the policeman and Steve, the monkey. SO funny!

  2. Cute strawberries! Like your mom, I’m pretty sure that I would think the strawberries are staring at me too, haha!

    I hear you on being ready for spring to arrive. I’m ready for spring as soon as Christmas is over, haha! And it’s not near as cold here as it is up there!

  3. Oh goodness, these are SO cute! And I’m with you on waiting for spring. It’s the same thing here in Canada, except, sadly, spring doesn’t usually show up here until May!

  4. Uh I feel like 17 people will throw snowballs at me for saying this but… I love winter! And cold weather! Can’t stand the heat of summer.

    Your strawberries look great, especially for being February. And you decorated them cute too! I can appreciate a good chocolate drizzle as opposed to a dip because a chocolate covered strawberry always loses its chocolate on the first bite or else you have to shove the whole thing in your mouth at once! Also I’m not a fan of popcorn so your treat is the perfect movie snack!

Leave a Reply

