Why I love Valentine’s Day

I love Valentine’s Day.

There, I said it. I know it gets a bad rap sometimes, because it’s the one day of the year that guys are expected (if not forced) to do something romantic. Case in point, Nate was listening to sports radio the other day; and every other commercial reminded guys to buy flowers, diamonds, chocolate, teddy bears, and pajama-grams before it was too late. When he started to look quite stressed and nervous, I reminded him that I don’t need – or want – all of those things; and he was finally able to just focus on the sports.
It can easily become just another-one-of-those-holidays that are over-commercialized and lost in the endless adds and spending frenzies.

But it doesn’t have to be that way.

Nate usually does buy me flowers, and I absolutely adore them and couldn’t care less that he picked them up this time because there was a romantic holiday to celebrate. He still has that “I hope she loves these” look in his face, when he happily hands them over and waits for my excited squeals.
And we usually go out to dinner, but it’s never anything that will break the bank. It’s supposed to be a romantic day, and – quite frankly – Nate and I tend to choose a place that feels likes ‘us’. So we tend to forego the stuffier, fancier restaurant-atmosphere for a quirky restaurant with New England charm. Or in the past, we’ve even just gone to our favorite coffee shop before watching a movie we both wanted to see.

I think that it can be easy to get caught up in all of the hype; because movies, adds, commercials, and even books tend to portray romance a certain way. In reality, however, romance varies on the couple. It’s what makes you both feel loved, comfortable, and happy.
Sometimes, it’s going back to what brought you together in the first place, no matter how simple that place or action may seem to someone else.

I also see it as a day to let my family and friends know that I love them and couldn’t imagine life without them. (Because even if Nate is my romantic Valentine, you’d better believe that my sister Sarah is officially my valentine too. I mean, gosh, I love that girl!).

So, yeah, I love Valentine’s Day. 🙂 I love the pink and red colors, I love the chocolate flavors, I love the flowers my hubby puts in a vase for me, and I love finding the perfect card that has the right touch of corny humor and this-is-just-how-I-feel sentiment.

I guess at the end of the day, I just love one more excuse (even if I don’t need one) to say “I love you.”

Valentine Cards 044

5 thoughts on “Why I love Valentine’s Day

  1. Cute picture! I totally agree. For us, there has always been this stress to NOT make this day special, but in reality, this is when we started dating and when we got engaged! So, we embrace our own stereotypical choices. When it’s all boiled down, it’s not the calendar date that makes it special, but the motivation behind it all. Great post!

  2. I was so against all the stereotypical “romance” stuff when Christopher and I first started dating. Valentine’s Day when we were dating pretty much always consisted of us making homemade cards for each other aaaand that was about it, haha! We got engaged on February 7th so since then we’ve celebrated that instead of Valentine’s Day. Not that I’m against Valentine’s now. It’s actually nice that we celebrate the 7th instead, though, because that gives us the opportunity to babysit for our friends so they can go out on actual Valentine’s day. 🙂

  3. Oh! And yes! I totally agree with you that Valentine’s is a great day to let people in your life who you care about know just how much you love them! I just wrote a stack of letters to my teen girls that I am planning to deliver to them at school next Friday! 🙂

  4. I love Valentine’s Day too. I never expect anything for Valentine’s Day but I think a day to just say “hey, did you know that I love you?” is pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

