A Musical Day

Today was a very FULL day of music, which has left me feeling positively giddy with happiness and complete satisfaction. Thanks to some blistery weather that’s supposed to dump a bunch of cold, white stuff on New England tomorrow (and, no, I’m not talking about vanilla icecream, as much as I wish that was in the forecast), I moved my Wednesday piano students to today. And then tonight I led music practice at church, as is my normal Tuesday-night routine.

So if I dream of Treble Cleffs and eighth notes, I won’t be the least bit surprised! 🙂

Anyway, because of the upcoming weather (and because my Wednesday students were able to come today), tomorrow is pretty much the first snow-day of my career, and so I need some suggestions as to how I should spend it! 😉 I’m thinking that a good workout in the basement, followed by an entire day spent wearing pajamas, may be in store. Not gonna lie, this snow-day is making me positively giddy with happiness and complete satisfaction too. Ha, ha!

However, I thought that’d I’d finish off this musical, busy day with five things I’ve already learned in my several weeks of taking on more piano students.

1. You are never too old for stickers! Students of all ages are thrilled to pass a song so that they can get one to put in their book. And I never get tired of looking for new ones to add to the collection. (My current favorites are shiny, jungle animals and were only $1 at Target!).

good camera 001

2. As bubbly, smiley, enthusiastic, and encouraging as I try to be, I will never be the main reason why students are thrilled to walk through my front door. It’s all about the fur-babies.

good camera 014

Highstreet and Stitchy are the main attraction, and they’re already demanding that I extend them contracts to become official piano-lesson mascots.

good camera 013

3. There’s no artwork like that done by a child with crayons. Sorry, Van Gogh.

good camera 017

4. Not one student is the same, and it’s really important to work with their personalities… not against them. Some students are fine with sitting at the piano for the full 30 minutes. Others need to move around a bit more, whether it’s to draw the notes they’ve learned… or to meander the room while shouting out answers to flash-cards. As far as I’m concerned, all that matters is that they’re learning.

good camera 016

5. There is absolutely nothing like doing a job that you are passionate about. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Musical Day”

  1. This POST made me giddy with excitement, and I’m not even the one giving (or receiving) the lessons! Haha! You are such a great teacher!!!

    And…I totally would have worked extra hard just to get a giraffe sticker on my passed song. Just sayin’… 😉

  2. I love how you are working within each child’s specific learning style. That’s part of what makes you such a good teacher! Also, those stickers are fabulous! I would work extra hard for one as well! 🙂 Also, for your snow day… you should make snow cream! It’s so yummy! 🙂

  3. I am so happy that you’re SO happy! This was the perfect career switch for you, and it’s so exciting to hear how much you’re enjoying yourself! Hope you had the perfect snow day!!

Leave a Reply

