Just Loving It

I had a routine, annual physical yesterday morning and found myself sitting half-naked in a small, window-less room while my new doctor typed my information into her computer. I’m one of those seat-belt wearing, non-smoking, vitamin-taking patients that leaves health-care providers with an uncertainty of whether they should clap their hands in approval… or whether they should claim fraud instead. πŸ˜‰ By the time they get to the end of the list and I’ve nodded in consent for every ‘good’ thing or denied doing the really ‘bad’ things, they’re pretty sure that I’m hiding something.

(Although for the record, I’m not the epitome of doing things right. I could eat healthier sometimes. AND I haven’t been exercising as much as I should be, although hopefully that will be changing for the better! πŸ™‚ For some reason though, the doctor never asks me about that).

delete 003

One of these days, I’m going to say, “I totally didn’t wear my bike helmet the other day. Oh, yeah, and I had one gummy vitamin instead of the prescribed two.
Booyah! Living on the wild side here, People!”

Sigh, I guess that’s my rebellious side coming out. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, seeing as how this was only my second time at this particular doctor’s office, the doctor chatted with me casually in order to learn more about me. She asked how my year was going so far…

The funny thing is that it suddenly dawned on me that it’s only January. My typical response to a how-are-you question would probably be “Doing well, how are you?” or “Better than my car, which is having issues with handling the cold.”

I paused a moment…
Then I replied, “It’s been really great. I went to Disney. I visited the Bahamas. I left my job of 7 years. I started my own little side business of teaching piano. I finally started working out again.”

My doctor replied, “You’ve been busy these past couple of months, huh?”

“No,” I said, smiling. “That was just January. But I definitely can’t wait to find out what the next few months have in store.”

And I really can’t! No matter how simple or exciting these next few months may be, I can’t wait for it and can’t wait to share it with all of you. πŸ™‚ As fast-paced as January has been, I am happy with my simple, seatbelt-wearing life. πŸ˜‰ Because even if life isn’t perfect, it sure is good!!

delete 002

5 thoughts on “Just Loving It”

  1. We’re seat-belt wearing, vitamin popping, non-smoking kindred spirits. I even floss daily – that’s how much fun I am to be around. πŸ™‚

    I love that your January has included so much adventure and self-fulfillment! The last sentence you wrote is perfect. πŸ™‚

  2. Haha! That does sound like a couple of months’ worth of adventure. And to think, it has all happened just in the past few weeks! I love it! And I am loving how happy you are in life right now. It’s like you are looking at the world with fresh eyes. πŸ™‚

    Also, I am totally right there with you. I know the doctors never believe me. When I was sick a couple of weeks ago and ended up going to a health care clinic (because I don’t actually have a general doc here in Memphis, haha), the RN practically rolled her eyes as I answered each question with the “right/healthy” answer. She reasked me a couple of them, haha! What can I say? I like to keep this body healthy! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

