Let’s Start at the Very Beginning…

I was a bundle of excited energy when I woke up yesterday morning, rolling out of bed well before I had to, simply because I couldn’t lie still another moment. The day had finally come! After having taught piano lessons to a handful of students for about a year now (on top of a full-time job), I was now going to take on new students and focus on this as my career. This was the moment of truth. It was the day that I began a job that I could be passionate about. It was the day that my job didn’t consume my life, giving me the opportunity to focus on family.
It was the moment I had dreamed about for SO long.

a

Throughout the morning hours, the energy bounced back and forth from full-on excitement to a bit of apprehension. It had been months since I taught a ‘first lesson’ to a student (since I’ve only taught a few children up to this point), so I was a little nervous about it. But the moment my first student walked into my home and sat at my piano, everything stilled. Suddenly everything made sense, and it was just about having fun. About clapping out rhythms, finding middle C, and wiggling correctly numbered fingers.

It was all about music.

Now that’s not to say that I was perfect. πŸ˜‰ For the first lesson, I was a little nervous so I dug right in, not really taking the time to chat with the student to find out some things about them, as I fully intended to do. I did make sure that I was encouraging, my usual smiley self, and that the lesson was a positive experience; but — still — I want to make sure that I take the time to form a relationship with my students too! So I’ll have to fix that next week! πŸ™‚

Piano! 002

Thanks to those same nerves, which were under control but apparently still mischievous, I forgot to discuss practice times with one of the parents! (And with the other parent, I really only briefly mentioned it). This is kind of a big deal, since students need to practice in order to pass songs. *sheepish grin* And you need to pass songs in order to receive fun stickers. And everyone knows that stickers are extremely important! So I promptly sent out an email after the lessons, advising the parents that their child did very well (which they did!) and letting them know what I expect out of practice time.

Oy vey. πŸ˜‰ Silly me! But other than the fact that I was a tad bit scatterbrained, I really feel as though things went well!! AND from what I could tell, the students had a fun time. (I couldn’t believe how well they listened for their entire lesson!).

Piano! 010

At the end of the day, it was a GREAT ‘first day’ for the first of my new students.

Piano! 007

I’m really excited for the second day to start!

11 thoughts on “Let’s Start at the Very Beginning…

  1. WOOHOO!!!!!! I’m so excited! Congratulations!! Those two little slip-ups were totally minor and easily correctable with a quick email. No biggie. You had a lot on your mind and a lot of things to cover in such a short period of time! You’re doing so great!

  2. YAY! Nicole, I am so excited for you! What fun you will have with these kids as you start to get to know them better! πŸ™‚ Also, I love your sweater and nail polish! We could shop each other’s closets if you loved closer! πŸ™‚

    • I would totally love that, not only because you pick out such cute clothes… but also because I have a feeling that we’d be pretty great friends. πŸ™‚ (The nail polish reminded me of a robin’s egg color, and I was so tired of the winter cold that I thought I’d go for something a little more inspired by spring!). πŸ™‚

  3. I love that you are doing this!! So happy for you, and I pray it goes extremely well! I have a question for you. What age would you start your kids with piano lessons? Mine are boys, if that makes a difference.

    • Thank you so much!!! πŸ™‚ I usually start my students around 6 or 7… I do find that with boys though, age 7 is usually a little easier. πŸ˜‰ The nice thing about piano (or any instrument lesson) is that there is constant movement. I’m actually teaching several boys right now (all age 7 or older), and they are doing great! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

