1…2…3… GO!

I almost feel as though it’s my first day of school! Or at least it feels as though I’m starting a new job (which actually is the case), so I suppose I have every right to be such a wound-up ball of eagerness and anxiety. I’m half-giddy with excitement… and the other half of me wants to take off running down the street at break-neck speed to escape.
*Insert image of curly haired girl running down the street, waving her hands in a frantic panic*

Today is the day that I begin teaching piano part-time (and lessons also start back up for the handful of students that I was already teaching)! I am thrilled, and terrified, and ecstatic, and anxious. Honestly, if it weren’t for the amazing support system behind me (my husband, parents, siblings, best friends, and YOU), I probably would have convinced myself long ago that I’m insane for even attempting this. Piano has always been my thing, but sharing my passion of music with children — and trying to earn a living off of it — is completely new. And, well, I don’t have to tell you that ‘new’ is usually scary.

I do think that maybe a small part of this ‘fear of the unknown’ is healthy, because it does keep me on my toes. 😉 It keeps me focused on doing my best and on finding even better ways to instruct my piano students.

So as with many things, it really does come down to balance! (I actually was recently introduced – via email – to a private piano teacher who left the SAME job that I did to teach piano from home! She said that she was scared to death, when she started. But she took it slow-and-steady, and now she is super confident in it… and she LOVES what she’s doing).

fear
(source)

Anyway, today is the day that the FUN starts! My goal was to add 10 new students in the beginning, and then I could slowly build my way up from that. (I’m thinking that I could fit 15-20 students into a Tuesday-through-Thursday schedule, which would still give me a part-time schedule perfect for raising a family someday). I’m already up 7 students, with 3 more potentially signing up in the next couple of weeks! 🙂 So it’s a great start!

In the end, it’s all about taking it one step at a time… facing each challenge at a time.

Which brings me to challenge #1.
What do I wear today?? 🙂

2 thoughts on “1…2…3… GO!”

  1. Ahh! Atta girl! You will have your 10 to start out with before you know it! I love how everything is just falling in place so perfectly for this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

