Cruise Destination #1 – Disney!

Although our cruise was labeled as a trip to the Bahama’s, one of the stops was actually in Florida, and Disney’s Magic Kingdom was offered as one of the excursions.

Bahamas!! 261

For me, it was obvious that we had to go. I had been once before (about 6 years ago now) with my friend Wendy, and I have nothing but amazing memories from the trip.

Bahamas!! 221

Stepping through those front gates and onto Main Street USA does feel magical, as clichรฉ as that may sound. It’s a bit like stepping back in time… To a moment when things were simpler and maybe even brighter.

Bahamas!! 227

And to be completely honest, it’s a lot like being a kid again. ๐Ÿ™‚

Bahamas!! 240

My concern that my macho-man hubby wouldn’t share my appreciation of the simple joys that come to life in the park was quickly short-lived. We were waiting in line for one of the rides, when I heard him on the phone behind me saying, “Hi, Mom! Guess where I am?? Disney!” Ha, ha!!

Bahamas!! 185

I would have made fun of him, but I was already skipping down the street and looking for Minnie.

Bahamas!! 263

The funny thing is I’m really not the biggest Disney fan in the world. Since I was a little girl, I’ve actually adored everything about the Peanuts and have always leaned towards everything Charlie Brown and Snoopy, as apposed to some of the Disney classics that are so popular. ๐Ÿ™‚ But still, like I said, going to Disney is like being a kid again. And since I most definitely am a kid at heart, it’s such a fun place to visit!

Thanks to the cooler weather that had settled over Florida (although much warmer than the temps Nate and I had left behind in New England), the park wasn’t overly busy, and most of the rides had a wait time of only 10 minutes!

Bahamas!! 271

Nate’s favorite ride of the entire day was Space Mountain, hands down! He loved it for the thrill it offered, and I loved it, because it’s a scary roller coaster that I can actually handle. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m terrified of heights, but Space Mountain is completely enclosed and most of the ride is in the dark, with only stars lighting the way. So it’s a fast-paced ride with drops and sharp curves, BUT I actually like it! So that one we may have rode twice.

Bahamas!! 254

My favorite ride was probably Big Thunder Mountain Railroad! It’s one of the longer rides and has some good drops and dips without being too scary. Plus it makes for a pretty good photo-shoot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bahamas!! 220

Of course, rides aside, the park is fun to explore too. I think that the Swiss Family Robinson house is so impressive, like a giant tree fort (only large enough for adults to have fun in too!).

Bahamas!! 213

And people watching can be pretty fun too, as there are so many characters in the park. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bahamas!! 228

It turned out to be an amazing day filled with fun memories and lots of laughter. Not gonna lie, I knew right then and there that the Bahamas had a lot to live up to. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bahamas!! 284

9 thoughts on “Cruise Destination #1 – Disney!”

  1. Even just looking at pictures of Disney makes me feel lighter and more cheerful this morning! It really is a happy place. It sounds like you guys had a blast – and I think you and I are on the exact same page when it comes to roller coasters!

  2. My dad took me on Space Mountain when I was 6 or 7. It freaked me out. I am not a roller coaster person, or a ride person anymore. But Disney is still fun! And despite getting upset by Space Mountain, it gave me a good story. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I was TOTALLY aware of what I was getting into – we had talked about it for MONTHS. So not like he dragged me kicking and screaming into it.

    Have fun!

    ~Allison

  3. You wore flip flops!! hahaha. I don’t know how you do flops with all that walking.

    Have you ever been to a Cedar Fair amusement park? That’s the parent company that runs Dorney Park, Carowinds, Cedar Points, etc. They have the rights to Snoopy!

    I will ride any rollercoaster on the planet. Sign me up!

    PS – I love your bag. Is it Fossil?

  4. Wow, it looks so much like Disneyland! I’ve heard there are quite a few differences, but it’s hard to tell from these pictures. Thunder Mountain was always my favorite too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. That’s so awesome you guys went to Magic Kingdom!
    I loved it when I was there for my marathon 2 years ago (but I was always a big fan of Disney stuff as a kid). Space Mountain wasn’t working when we went so I’ve never been on it.

    How is the New Fantasyland part?

    1. Splash Mountain was the ride not working, when we went. ๐Ÿ™‚ I LOVE that ride, but — on the other hand — it was a bit chilly for a water-ride… and I fully intend to go back someday anyway. Ha, ha.
      We didn’t have a ton of time to explore the new Fantasyland portion, BUT it was pretty incredible, especially for kids. There were castles and village replica’s from cartoons. There were a lot of story-times with princesses (so mostly for kids, but something that an adult could appreciate walking through). Also, they were working on a 7 dwarfs ride that looked amazing! It wasn’t open yet, but it seems to be a roller-coaster type ride that runs through and over the diamond mines. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Oooh that seven dwarfs ride sounds awesome! I’ll have to venture back to Disney World sometime soon too.

Leave a Reply

