Leaving Worry at the Gas Pump

The biggest concern for me, when I gave my notice at work, was realizing that my dependable, very-much-appreciated paycheck would no longer be deposited into my bank account every Friday. Now granted, we aren’t becoming the Wilderness Family by any means. Money will be much tighter and very strictly budgeted. But there will still be money set aside each week for the bank account in the hopes that we can save up for expenses in the future. And I’m fairly certain that anytime you have a little money left over to put in the bank, you aren’t exactly roughing it and foraging for wild mushrooms by the mountainside.

But still, my mind often likes to wander to the ever-terrifying land of ‘What If’. And in that land, we don’t even have the luxury of foraging for wild mushrooms. Because obviously, in the make-believe land of ‘What If’, the worst case scenario is alive and well. In fact, I’m fairly certain that in that land, wild mushrooms are foraging for me.

Great, another thing to worry about. Man-eating mushrooms.

I was filling up my car with gas just the other day, when my mind started to wander and I began to worry about things that could happen. Most of the worries began with ‘what if we have kids someday and…’ Fill in the blank.

The gas pump clicked to a stop, and I was brought back to reality. And then, for the first time in the many times I have filled up my car with gas, I was filled with an overwhelming sense of gratitude. Today I had gas money, and I didn’t give it a thought. I was too busy worrying about the future and when I might not have money for the next thing we need. But guess what? Right now, in this very moment, I had what I needed.

So I thanked God, right then and there, for the gas money. For my warm car in such cold weather. For the money to fix that door handle that Nate ripped off by accident. πŸ˜‰

(Sure, we were both a tad bit disgusted that we had to dish out about $300 to fix something as silly as a driver’s side door handle. But guess what? We had the money set aside! So instead of focusing on the money we would have much rather spent on something else, we could instead be thankful that we had the money to pay for the repair).

I felt as though I had a revelation right there at the gas pump. πŸ™‚ And it’s something that I really want to carry over into this new year. I want to spend SO much time focusing on what I have and what I can be thankful for that I find confidence in how many times I have been provided for. I’m talking thankfulness right down to the milk I pour into my cereal in the morning. I want to be thankful so often that I don’t find the time to worry about what MIGHT be. πŸ™‚

I want to be joyful because of the things that ARE.

worry

8 thoughts on “Leaving Worry at the Gas Pump

  1. Obviously you’re doing things right if you are setting aside money for unexpected emergencies (like the car door handle). Just from the way to speak about money on the blog, you guys seem to be really responsible with your spending. I’m sure that even in the worst of times you will be able to come up with a budget that works for you and that will let you get through financial challenges. You should be proud.

  2. I had a similar fit of panic the other day when I was thinking about when I leave my job. I thought, what if I put us into a really bad financial position just because I want to change my job? Then, of course, Mike pointed out that I won’t leave unless i have something else and we’ll be fine because we have savings anyway. I still don’t like the feeling of the unknown though!

    • Change is SO scary sometimes! But as long as you’re being smart about it, as it sounds like you are, I think that it can be a wonderful thing too!! πŸ™‚

  3. Strange, we also had issues with our door handle recently! Great words in this post! It is very important to keep an appreciative attitude, especially when worry and grumbling try to creep into the picture!

  4. Gosh Nicole. You are soooo irresponsible! I think you need an intervention! πŸ˜› Silly girl. I’m so proud of you πŸ™‚

    Also, if/when I ever peace out from my job and have an employment lull, I plan to continue paying myself. I guess you could think of it as giving myself an allowance.

    You’re my hero ❀

Leave a Reply

