The Countdown – Friday Celebrations

— written on the evening of 1/10/2014–

I’ve been writing all week long in anticipation of this very moment, and now that it’s here, I almost am at a loss for words. Today was an emotional roller coaster, for sure! I woke up at 4am, unable to sleep and positively giddy with excitement and relief that THE day had finally arrived. But as my last work-day began, I quickly realized that saying ‘goodbye’ to my closest of work colleagues (and friends) would be difficult. I was blown away by their kind words, their encouragement, and their sincere sadness at seeing me go.

When my manager of nearly 6 years gave me a hug and told me that they would miss my smiling face, the lump in my throat threatened to escape. Gosh, do I hate goodbye’s!

And as I packed up my cubicle, memories started to flood back. I thought back to that moment, 7 years ago, when I stepped into an elevator and was shown my way to the floor that would become my work home. I remembered how terrified I was when I realized that I had absolutely no background in the position that I had just been hired for. I thought for sure that I wouldn’t last. But flash forward to current day, and I have trained the majority of people in my group. I know how to file bonds and liens, how to properly fill out a lien waiver, how to fill out a fund-trapping notice, and I can fill out a collections-placement packet with my eyes closed.

cubicle 2

It wasn’t that I was brilliant and caught on without effort. I had to work my butt off and had to be willing to ask countless questions. 🙂 It’s just that hard work really does pay off in the end!

And this is how I know that I can be successful at teaching piano. I am passionate about music and beyond excited to have the opportunity to share that passion with children. And I know that if I put my mind to it and work hard, I will be successful at this as well.

So it will all be okay. Even BETTER than okay! And although change can be difficult, sometimes it is for the best. It is certainly worth trying, especially when you’re trying to do something that you love!

I know that I’m a little emotional right now at having left the friends I worked with for so long. But I also feel this bubble of pure excitement bubbling up inside of me. I feel free. And happy. And for the first time in a long time, I feel giddy with excitement when I think about the future. I cannot wait to do something I love. And I cannot wait to have time to focus on the things that really matter to me. I have been overly busy for too long, and it’s time for me enjoy the people in my life that truly matter! I am most definitely ready for a change of pace and an adjustment in priorities.

Bring it on! I’m ready for this next adventure!! 🙂

13 thoughts on “The Countdown – Friday Celebrations”

  1. So happy for you! I totally understand saying goodbye and dealing with change. It’s tough, but doing something you love over something you tolerated is definitely an awesome change to make!

  2. It is SO hard to make a change, but I am SO excited for you. You are going to be an awesome piano teacher, and you’re going to love working from home. I just know it! Big hugs from PA!!!

  3. Yeah girl!!! I love that you think of this as focusing on the things that really matter to you. If that’s the case, you really can’t go wrong.

    You’re going to win awards for Best Piano Teacher Ever! There’s some sort of statue award for that, right?!?

Leave a Reply

