The Countdown – Monday Stylin’

–Written 1/6/14–

Seeing as how I’ve worked at my current job for the past 7 years with many of the same people, you would think that I’d fully realize that they couldn’t care less about what I’m wearing on any given day. Obviously, there is a level of professionalism and neatness required. But no one is going to snap my picture and then hold it up to the latest edition of In-Style magazine. (Thank goodness!). Nor are they particularly interested in whether or not I decided to go blue, black, or brown with my eyeliner choice. Really, at the end of the day, they’re much more grateful for a smile or someone to laugh with.

But seeing as how it was my last Monday — ever — at the office, I felt this strange need to look my absolute best. To look polished and put-together, sophisticated and mature. I’m fairly certain that it was a combination of wanting to enhance their last memory of me in the most positive way possible, in addition to trying to make up for the many times that I walked into the office looking anything but polished and put-together. 😉

Needless to say, I spent a little extra time doing my makeup and picking out my clothes for the day. Okay, fine, I spent about five times the amount of time I normally would. It just seemed so important in the moment… And quite frankly, if I do say so myself, I looked quite smart in my kitten heels, fitted gray trousers, and red blouse.

I had a doctor’s appointment to go to first, so I pulled into the parking lot rather late in the morning…. just in time for the heavens to open and to literally rain on my I-want-to-look-good-today parade. Rain in the middle of winter is hardly impossible for New England’s ever-changing temps, and normally I would have been relieved for the unusually warm weather. BUT I soon realized that snow would have been better than the intense downpour.

The Mississippi River had somehow been relocated to the very front of the building, gushing and gurgling down the sidewalk and directly across the entrance. There was no going around or over. I tentatively began to tip-toe through the run-off in my kitten heels, but just a few steps forward and the flow ran directly over the tops of my shoes… and then up to my ankles.

I stood there in complete shock, looking down at my feet and watching the ‘river’ run over my nylons and into my pumps. My first reaction was to reach for my camera. Something this ridiculous should be documented via Facebook and blog, for sure. But just as I began to unzip my purse, a huge gust of wind took my umbrella and whipped it inside-out faster than you can say “Yikes.”

A few minutes of struggling in the rain later, I sloshed into work, my shoes oozing out water with every step and my soggy hair dripping down my back and all over my blouse. It was a fashionista fail, and I had quickly gone from smart to soaked. But you know what? My smile was still in tact. And when I walked down my row and did an exaggerated shuffle to squeeze out extra water and obnoxious noises from my soaked shoes, a few colleagues and I nearly fell on the floor because we were laughing so hard.

And they all told me they’d miss me so much.

So I guess I was stylin’ on my last Monday at the office just the same! 🙂 Lesson learned. Worrying about the wardrobe had been so unnecessary. All I needed was a bright smile, a good sense of humor, and a rainstorm in the middle of winter.

6 thoughts on “The Countdown – Monday Stylin’

    • Sort of!! 🙂 I’ll be blogging more about it this week, but Nate and I went away on vacay last week! SO my new adventure officially begins this week!! 🙂

  1. Oh Nicole, this is terrible and hilarious at the same time! I’m so sorry this happened, but I’m so glad that you’ve found the humor in the situation! And I love that you coworkers laughed with you. Those are good moments. 🙂

  2. So funny! This has happened to me many times. On just the mornings I want to look my best, something happens–just as it always rains on the day I get my hair done! I bet you still looked adorable, soggy feet and all!

  3. If that had been me, I would have taken it as a sign. A sign of what? I don’t know. But I’d be all kinds of grumpy. But since you’re so positive and awesome, you just laughed! Please tell me all your secrets immediately 🙂

Leave a Reply

