Resolutions – they’re all about the journey

New Year’s resolutions tend to get a bad rap. Let’s face it, we’ve all had that one stubborn resolution (and I’m being kind here, because most of us have more than one) that just doesn’t want to be resolved… ever. And so after years and years of disappointment, failure, and defeat, many of us are choosing the high road, jumping on our soap box, and screaming to the world (or at least our Facebook friends) that we are done with stupid resolutions.

Down to New Year’s Resolutions!! They are stupid!! Resolutions are bad!! Eat more chocolate!!”

I used to have a notebook page filled out with the various resolutions I expected to conquer during the upcoming year. Somehow I seemed to think that upon the magical strike of midnight, I would change and suddenly these struggles would all go away. And then I’d spend the rest of the year patting myself on the back and sharing my newfound wisdom with the rest of the world.

And then I woke up… “Hello, reality!”

January 1st is just another day. The same struggles I faced on December 31st will be with me when I wake up on New Year’s Day. And, here’s the kicker, that’s okay.

We’re human. We’re going to make mistakes and there will always be struggles. And no matter how many books we read, how many hours we spend watching Dr. Phil, or how many resolution goals we’ve made, we will never arrive at “there”. “There” doesn’t exist.

Life is a journey. It’s about taking one step at a time. It’s not about taking a nap while your boxcar pulls into the “there” train-station (as nice that might sound). πŸ˜‰ It’s about doing better and focusing on moving forward. And it’s also about — maybe most importantly — being proud of achievements made, even if the achievement is only that you’re doing better.

We’re all a little too hard on ourselves, aren’t we?

I had goals for last year that I didn’t meet, but I sure came a long way. On January 1, 2014, I am a better person. I am a stronger, happier, and wiser person. And even though some of last year’s resolutions will be carried over into 2014, I’m finding that I’m actually okay with that. Because I’m closer to my goals, and that is worth celebrating! And even if I don’t get “there” during the next 12 months, I know that I can work at these goals a little every day, and I will sure be a whole lot closer to where I want to be.

And that is all any of us can ever be expected to do! πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Resolutions – they’re all about the journey

    • Very true! We so often get frustrated with ourselves, because we want to be “there” right now. But it’s definitely one small step at a time!

  1. So I’m not a new year’s resolution kinda girl (though Christopher totally does them every year AND sticks to them so I’m not saying that they are bad!), but I agree with what you are saying here. While I don’t set goals or resolutions on January 1st, I definitely set them throughout the year. When I notice something that needs changing, I begin working on it then. I understand the mentality of a fresh start on January 1 (again, my husband does them so I am totally for it!), I know that if I wait until January, I’ll probably forget that I wanted to do it. πŸ˜‰ And when I look back at what my goal was and what I have actually accomplished, I don’t look at whether or not I conquered the goal (as my husband would say), but rather whether or not I’m a better person for it. Have I learned something? Did I grow? Am I closer to the goal than I was when I started? Then it’s a win. πŸ™‚

    • Some very good points here! Well said! Also, I’m randomly thinking that it would be interesting to find out how different personality types affect the way we view resolutions. LOL. We all do approach things differently, but — in the end — we’re all on a journey that requires one step at a time and growth! πŸ™‚

  2. So true!! Well said. I’m not a resolution girl myself. I do love the freshness of a new year – even if nothing has really changed from 12/31 to 1/1. It’s like a new clean slate – mentally – and I can get on board with that.

  3. Love this! I know what you mean, and I think it’s all about our attitudes surrounding resolutions. Someone may not achieve a resolution, and will then feel awful, while another person may not achieve theirs either, but looks at it in a positive way–a new year to keep trying. It’s all mental!

  4. ” had goals for last year that I didn’t meet, but I sure came a long way. On January 1, 2014, I am a better person. I am a stronger, happier, and wiser person.”

    What great insights you have! Yes, last year, I tried to make goals, not resolutions, but I also tried to be open to whatever presented itself, and in turn, it made the year much more exciting in ways I never expected. I hope 2014 is fantastic for you and Nate and that you find happiness all over the place!

  5. Ugh. It’s disgusting how right you are πŸ˜‰ So wise. I’m totally always looking for “there” but then when I get “there,” it has eluded me and moved elsewhere. Tricky little punk.

    I am shocked that you didn’t meet your goals from 2013. You’ve done so much!!! And you’re just so awesome! Whatever it was that you didn’t accomplish, I’m sure you did 3047958297 other things that more than make up for it πŸ™‚

    …and 2014 is gonna be stellar! It’s your year!

Leave a Reply

